We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a Pig”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Nugget Laughlin
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We decided to spend a couple nights in Laughlin and were familiar with the Golden Nugget, although never have stayed there. After reading reviews, we thought it might be a good choice. In making our reservations, we were told we could only "request" a king bed and/or non-smoking. When you checked it, you would be told if any of those "requests" were available. I have never made a reservation like that - either they have your requested room or they don't. I can't imagine being a non-smoker and getting a smoking room! When we got to our room, it looked very nicely appointed. However, on further review, it was just lipstick on a pig. The chairs were very broken down, the bed very soft, the pillows like little rocks, one leg on the desk was broken, and we never could get the room cool enough for comfortable sleeping. When we asked about the AC, they did send up a tech, but he said that this time of year they turn down their chillers so, although the system was working correctly, it couldn't put out enough cool air to cool the room. The one good thing is that he helped us open our window which helped temendously. We were also suprised how unhappy the employees seemed to be and not very friendly - not many of them had a smile on their face nor a welcome in their voices. The price was right, however, at $30/night, but I guess they are right in that you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the "action", try to get in the east tower. You can cut acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gemjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have always been a Golden Nugget Laughlin loyalist, but they are getting a little sloppy in taking care of their customers.

They still have really nice rooms at really good prices but what happened to the real friendly employees with great smiles that used to greet customers? (they do not look happy working there). Why did they get rid of free internet access in their Tarzan room (you will now pay $10 for access). Why did they remove a whole bunch of slots from their non-smoking room leaving quite a few less there. Why did their in-hotel Starbucks hike their prices to $3 for a small cup and now charge you $2 if you want a refill? What happened to the in-room free coffee? (And after all these years the hotel still doesn't have a fitness center.)

And...during dinner, I ordered a Cadillac Margarita that was so obviously made with the cheapest ingredients!

After ALWAYS spending my hotel time at this place, I think it's time for me to rethink my loyalty and try another place along the river.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room in the west building that faces directly into the parking garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Laughlin was a delight. We stayed at the golden nugget and were surprised at how spacious and clean our room was. Have been in many hotels in Laughlin and this was by far one of the cleanest and the most spacious yet. Would very highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank floggymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hands down, the nicest hotel/casino in Laughlin. Harlow's is a great little restaurant on the main floor, wait staff are pleasant, place is nice and clean, great portions. Joe's Crab Shack is right on the River side, and the steak house also, Rooms are clean and nice size. We look forward to going to the Nugget again. Don't bother with the Pioneer...old. The Belle is pleasant enough, but for the money and to stay at a more upscale place, the Nugget is the best in Laughlin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 1LisaP925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed many times at this hotel. The rooms are fairly quiet and clean. The rooms are not upscale but Laughlin is not that type of town. Maid staff is very helpful if any additional items are needed. Big plus is the Salt Grass Steakhouse which is located within the hotel. Food is always hot and delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank p2mille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay on Saturday.

The room was very nice. We enjoyed playing at the casino and had breakfast at the Saltgrass Steak House. We will stay at the Golden Nugget on our next trip to Lauglin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Wilber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice stay. Stayed two nights on long road trip from California. Clean room, very reasonable rate. Very easy check-in, Saltgrass and Joe's Crab Shack on premisis. Free parking, $10wi-fi charge. Easy walking distance to other casino's. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PT h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
2.3 mi away
Lodge on the River
Lodge on the River
#5 of 14 in Bullhead City
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
9,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Laughlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Laughlin

Address: 2300 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#4 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range: $36 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Nugget Laughlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Casino Hotel Laughlin offers guests 300 luxury guest rooms and suites located on the banks of the Colorado River. The high-energy casino features nearly 900 of the most popular slot and video poker machines, over 22 table games, Race and Sports Book and Keno. Additionally, the casino also offers live entertainment, bars and lounges and stylish retail offerings. Enjoy Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Saltgrass Steak House and Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. as well as the Gold Diggers Night Club and poolside lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget Laughlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Laughlin Hotel Laughlin
Golden Nugget Resort Laughlin
Golden Nugget Hotel Laughlin Nv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing