We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Nugget Laughlin
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Nugget a year ago and she has not aged well this last year. But, the adage that you get what you pay for was very true. We took advantage of low room rates to visit family in the area, and the inexpensive rooms were a decent value although in bad need of refurburshing. The hotel was clean and quiet and once we got past check-in, the hotel and casino staff were delightful.

The main portion of the casino area is still smoking and for us California folk that are used to smoke-free, even the non-smoking area had the stale tobacco smell that clings to everything. I normally enjoy losing my money at the slots if I win a little, lose a little, but it is no fun to do nothing but lose. Same for the craps tables, everything seemed to be dialed down really tight.

However, the highlight was dinner at the Salt Grass Steak House, which was every bit as good as our last trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donalda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    396
    203
    85
    54
See reviews for
184
493
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Nugget in Laughlin from May 21 to the 24th. This was our second time to stay at the hotel. The first time was great and we were unsure if they could top it. They did. The whole facility is the best one in Laughlin, from the staff to the room, casino, restaurant etc. The hotel is clean, quiet and the staff is always there to help. There is covered parking and access to the hotel and casisno is easy. Our room was great, clean and with a comfortable bed. This hotel will be our destination from now on.

Room Tip: The room in the east tower and on the 3rd and 4th floor were the best as far as we were concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ldywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights as part of a Laughlin/Las Vegas vacation. The room was large and clean but the decor looks dated. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and comforter felt luxurious. We liked the people, they were very friendly and helpful. The pool is somewhat small but got the job done. I really liked the River Walk. We both enjoyed our meal at the Saltgrass Steak house. The room prices are excellent but next time I think I would forgo the river view upgrade ($20) as the windows are not panoramic nor well situated for river gazing. All in all i would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, don't pay extra for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowheelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Nugget for our anniversary and had a great time. We stayed in their river view room which is an upgrade. The room was very nice and the hotel grounds were very pretty. The poker room did not have a lot of action so we played at the Colorado Belle. There is a happen night club at the Golden Nugge and of course Joes Crab Shack is always great. We went on a boat tour that took us to the London Bridge. It is highly recommended. The captain was great. The only draw back to me is the price of the rooms--$100-120 per night. That is way above other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stay here two to three times per year. We discovered this jewel while visiting the River Run. We had always stayed at the Belle, a hotel I refer to as a Flop Flop Hotel. It's filthy. We just happened to walk up the road a bit and went in. We been here ever since, for 5 years. The exterior is very nice, well maintained. The Bell Staff, AMAZING and very Handsome! They always greet you with a smile and are willing to help. The Front Desk staff will not disappoint either. Patty O. Has become a friend who we look forward to seeing each visit. We enjoy dining at Harlow's every morning. The rooms are great. Beds soooo comfy, you could stay there all day. I would suggest a room with a River View. Flat Screen TV's, coffee service, blow dryers, iron and ironing boards. The bathrooms have been updated but we have always had issues with the draining in the bath. We will always stay with Patty O and the gang. They make you feel so welcomed and at home.

Room Tip: River View can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thegasgod_slcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Golden Nugget in Laughlin yet again. We've been there 3 or 4 times now. The staff there is excellent. The room rates are enticing. The rooms themselves are a bit dated but they are very clean.
The gaming in the casino is as good as any of the spots in Laughlin. As always, you have to be at the right spot at the right time to be a big winner but if you are careful, you can have fun winning small amounts here and there. My wife and I have found several machines that pay out a little more than some of the others so we manage to win enough to keep playing, sometimes losing, sometimes breaking even and sometimes coming out ahead. That all equals having a good time in a pleasant atmosphere. As always, we set a budget and stay within those limits but at the GN we win enough to keep us interested and awaiting the big payoff.
We will return again for future getaways!
Keep up the good work, folks.

Room Tip: Request a room in the middle of the hall or at least away from the ends. On one end you have the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gymsan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Laughlin and we will be back. The Golden Nugget was quite the find. Didn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were spacios and clean. We overlooked the pool and river, which was nice. Very comfortable beds and pillows.
Ate dinner in the steakhouse restaurant downstairs which was quite good. Took advantage of the Starbucks in the morning and had breakfast in the coffee shop.
Average casino, mostly penny slots. Received a coupon book upon check in which was a nice touch. Great gift shop.

Room Tip: Book a room in the East building which overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenguinLuver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
2,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
8,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Laughlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Laughlin

Property: Golden Nugget Laughlin
Address: 2300 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#5 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Nugget Laughlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Casino Hotel Laughlin offers guests 300 luxury guest rooms and suites and includes a high-energy casino featuring nearly 900 of the most popular slot and video poker machines, over 22 table games, Race and Sports Book and Keno; live entertainment, bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Saltgrass Steak House and Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.; Gold Diggers Night Club and poolside lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget Laughlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Laughlin Hotel Laughlin
Golden Nugget Resort Laughlin
Golden Nugget Hotel Laughlin Nv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing