We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laughlin was desperate for a venue”
Review of E Center

E Center
Ranked #30 of 39 things to do in Laughlin
Attraction details
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Laughlin was desperate for a venue”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Waited for months to meet up with oldies friends to see an oldies favorite , Neal Sedaka at E-Center 2-9-13. The performance was wonderful and did not disappoint, however, the new E Center, was terrible! All seating was floor level and only top dollar seats afforded a view of the stage. Good thing we splurged for our seats & sat up front. Those in middle or back sections weren't so fortunate. I can't imagine how they'd see the entertainer. Climate control was awful as well. At points, air conditioning and fans went off making the air warm and uncomfortable. Side seating consisted of small banquet style chairs fastened together with minimal padding. Everyone sat slightly sideways with arms over the backs of chairs next to them to make room. Another option was sitting with arms outstretched in your lap in front of you to allow room for your neighbor's arms. You and the person next to you practically shared seats, which by the way were hard and thinly padded. Chairs in the center had more padding, but who knew? There was no mention of that when we purchased tickets. The stage appeared institutional and sparcely covered with black side curtains, making an unattractive background for the performer. Good thing the artist captured the eye. We get that Laughlin was desperate for another venue for performances, but this place is terrible. We will never go to another event there again regardless of who has billing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JWArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    9
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great concert venue”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A smaller arena that holds about 2600 fans. The sound was good and all the seats were good, though a little close together.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good concerts - check out the talent”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This time we saw Gretchen Wilson. Have seen Huey Lewis and the News. Reba is on the slate for this weekend. Strongly urge you to reserve a table at the Hickory Pit and check out E Center!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davisgtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great concert, crowded seating”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The E Center is owned by the Edgewater Hotel in Laughlin and on their property. It is a free standing venue, outside in what was once, it appears, a parking lot. It isn't an actual brick and mortar building, it is a permanent structure that is actually in the shape of a "Quonset" hut. Long on 2 sides, shorter on the other 2 sides with a half doomed roof. It is climate controlled and is so big it helds 2500 people.....I asked....the evening we were there for a concert. It is only a short distance to walk outside from the casino to the entrance of the E Center. I was concerned that it would be cold and drafty inside and it was very cold that night in Laughlin.....38 degrees. That didn't turn out to be a problem. At one point I was actually hot, probably because of all the people. There were 2 large screens hanging on either side of the stage for video clips and real time images of the show.

The only problem at this venue is the seating. It was all on one level. We didn't have a problem, being in the 4th row, but I hate to think of the people way in the back. The stage was elevated, maybe 8 feet or so above the floor, so that probably helps. The seats were banquet type chairs. Not folding chairs, but metal framed, lightly upholstered chairs like you see at a banquet hall or in an old style showrooom in Las Vegas. They weren't very wide and they were set up touching each other. This means that everyone was sitting "cheek to cheek" and it felt like we were all the middle seat in an airplane. No arm rests and people squishing you on either side. Everyone understood the problem we were going to have when you found your seat and the best thing we did was talk to people on either side of us since it was better than ignoring the situation. Everyone made jokes about it and it worked out ok. They need to take out about 500 of those seats to make it more comfortable, but they would lose too much money that way, so it is what it is.

The concert we saw was excellent and we'd go back again to the E Center, but just want everyone to know if it's set up for a concert, without table and chairs like I've seen in photos, you will be sitting very close to each other.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Liz92509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E Center also viewed

 

Been to E Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing