We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Fancy but nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Fancy but nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for high end and modern I would say this is not necessarily the place for you. However, if you are looking for reasonable prices, friendly people and a place to relax then this hotel should work for you. Although the hotel could use somewhat of a facelift we did notice that they were working on several of the rooms and the room we stayed in had a new bathroom floor and paint job. The age of the rooms had nothing to do with the cleanliness as everything was spotless. We asked for extra towels and they were delivered within 10 minutes. On the first night the commode broke and they arrived almost immediately and had it repaired within a few minutes.

If you like to spend time in your room and you like a nice view with outdoor space I recommend you pay a little extra and ask for an Executive Suite with a double balcony. They cannot guarantee the double balcony but we lucked out and did get what we requested. The room was quite large and it is angled with three of the walls full of windows. Two of the walls are floor to ceiling both with sliding glass doors leading to separate balconies; one facing the river and the other facing the mountains.......very nice. The weather was a little cool but turning of the A/C and opening both balcony doors really was refreshing. Also, great black out drapes for those who like to play to the wee hours and sleep part of the day. The south tower is the newer of the two towers.

Food is reasonably priced but nothing high end. There is one restaurant that everyone we spoke to said was high end but we did not have a chance to dine there.

If you are a non smoker the main casino can get quite smokey but they have a good size non smoking section.

We were there for a three day weekend and we really did enjoy ourselves and met lots of very pleasant fun people. We also took in the Mickey Gilley show and he was great and you certainly can't beat a front row seat at only $36!

Please note that for the most part it was an older crowd, a lot of retirees and RV'ers many of them with interesting stories of their travels.

Staff in all areas were great and Don Laughlin's story which you an watch on the hotel channel was very interesting. It's nice to know a little history about the hotel you stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julessssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    347
    201
    126
    106
See reviews for
204
400
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is very old but very clean, with very good staff. They will try and do their best to help
you in any way you need help. You have 5 newer hotels to visit and a board walk the entire length
of the river. Dons has movies, bowling,race track and sports betting pool tables, bingo, and children`s area. The food is from cheese burger to lobster and steak, what ever. You can go to any number of food shops on the board walk. you do not need transportation, everything is
within walking distance. Rent a car and go to Hoover dam for the day,see the new bridge, and
see the frontier village and casino, or go down to the London bridge and go to needles. Or go to Kingman and see the old drive in, and drive the old route 66. I can not write about every thing

Room Tip: ask for the north river view for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardener0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Up front I'll say my wife and I don't gamble, which removes one of the big incentives to stay here. We spent a night in a riverfront room in the non-smoking south tower. It's tired but clean, with a sign in the room suggesting that renovations are underway. The layout of this hotel is complicated by the numerous additions made over the years; we got lost on our way back from the included bowling alley.

Several restaurants are attached. We had a great dinner as a party of six in the Mexican restaurant across the parking lot. The attached free classic car museum is worth a visit from those so inclned, perhhaps the best part of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob2885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful stay! We love Laughlin Nevada! Riverside Hotel and Casino is the only place to stay! We spent 4 nights and 5 days in lovely Nevada. The hotel is certainly dated and needs new TV's,
New carpets, paint and new furniture but it is absolutely clean. The staff is dedicated and very polite. They clean and change the bedding daily. Provided extra towels and worked around our schedule. We walked over to the outlet mall and purchased all of our supplies at the Bed and Body Outlet shop! Shampoo, body wash, sanitizer etc all for under 10 bucks! Great outlet stores include Reebock, Sass, Rockport, dress barn etc! Our 20th floor south tower room had a beautifful view of the river and mountains. The food at the Riverside is great especially the breakfast at the Riverview Cafe. 3 Aces includes: 3 eggs, 3 pancakes (huge) 3 bacon yum! The best part of the Riverside is since our first trip 5 years ago....we have never had to pay for a a single thing. Flights, rooms, food etc. we love Don Laughlin and the Riverside hotel and casino!

Room Tip: River View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beatle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I took a repeat trip to Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort. We traveled with my father and step-mother. I think this is going to be an annual trip, as it is a very comfortable trip.

We took advantage one of the charter packages available directly through the resort. We flew from Des Moines directly to the Bullhead City Int'l Airport, directly across the river from Laughlin and the casinos. There are several packages available from nearby airports, but most of them are 4-day/3-night packages. We fly out of Des Moines and our package is always 5-day/4-night for the same price. Also, we arrive in Laughlin in early morning and leave late afternoon, so it is almost like having an extra day at Laughlin.

One of the disadvantages of the early arrival is that the rooms are not ready when you arrive, so if you need anything from your checked bags I highly recommend you pack it in your carry-on bag. However, that also gives you an opportunity to gamble right away. ;-)

We had a non-smoking room, and the maid service was very good. We requested a refrigerator and the first one they brought up did not work. The second one worked very well.

One of the things we have done is rent a car when we arrive. We usually take a couple of side trips while we are in the area. We took one day and traveled to Las Vegas via Primm. My Dad wanted to see the Viva Vision light show, which was shown on the hour after dusk. This year's show was very patriotic and moving. I'm glad he wanted to see the show because I really enjoyed it as well. We also took a trip to Oatman. Look for a separate review of Oatman.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side of the hotel have great views and don't have as much light coming th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BD_IC_2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
268 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Riverside Hotel is the result of Don Laughlin's re-opening of a 8 room closed hotel in the middle of the desert, next to a river, back in the 60's. Since then, the town has been named after him and the hotel has grown to Vegas size with hundreds of rooms. The Riverside, as some have said in other reviews, is 'old & smokey'. The problem is....casinos in Nevada still let everyone smoke. You're not going to get away from the smoke, so get past it. Again, the casino is older and the rooms are not for the most part luxurious, but they are clean. However, when we go to Laughlin, it's normally not to sit in our room. The people working the table area, pit bosses included, are a fun group and most seem to enjoy their jobs. The slots are as loose as anywhere on the short strip of town, and the cocktail waitresses are fairly prompt in bring libations. If you're wanting to go to any of the other casinos, there is a riverwalk that will get you to most. If you want to shop, there are outlet stores a short walk away. Theaters are on premises and across the street. If you want to do watersports, there a numerous rental shops on the riverwalk as well as in Bullhead City across the river. In the casino itself is a classic car collection that is fantastic for old car buffs, and it's free! We go to Laughlin for gambling....and when we go, we stay at the Riveside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We did this trip last winter, a package from the resort that includes airfare from our Northern Minnesota community. The rooms were not great and I had a hard time with the tobacco smoke but it was a very good deal and the river walk was a nice respite from the snow and cold. We can fly anywhere from Minneapolis but the only reason we choose this trip is because we don't have to deal with that 5 hour trip and a major airport. This January, on a Saturday late afternoon we were standing in line at the airport to depart to Laughlin and heard other travelers talking about a bus ride to Minneapolis to catch a plane. We learned that due to ice on our runway the Sun Country plane could not land. Other travelers were told there would be a 4-5 hour delay on luggage so they were taking out their toothbrushes and pajamas. For our only winter vacation, we were not so desperate to get away that we would ride a bus for five hours, with no dinner, and arrive in Laughlin at 2AM our time and not have any toiletries or change of clothes until the next morning, when we had guests arriving at the hotel early the next morning. We had a confirmation letter from the Air Program Manager of the Riverside Resort and Casino stating we had a direct flight from Bemidji MN. I called the resort/casino from the airport and requested to talk to a supervisor to see what our options were. The supervisor did call back later but would not listen to my story and just kept interrupting, telling me to call Tour and Travel on Monday morning. On Monday I called Tour and Travel and a rude woman told me no refunds because our plane took off. (Again, our plane was to take off from Bemidji MN not Minneapolis). She told me to write a letter to the Air Program Manager. For the next few days I left messages with the Air Program Manager and Air Program Supervisor at Riverside, (the charge on our account was to Riverside, not Sun Country), but no one would return my call. When I would ask to hold to speak to the manager or supervisor I was repeatedly told that they were not available. When I finally reached a helpful employee a few days later who actually listened to our story and said she would get to the bottom of it and call me back, I got a return call from the rude woman in Tour and Travel who I had originally talked to. She did say we could be put on a list for a future trip for a $100 change fee. These trips are only scheduled 2-3 times per winter from our town so we'll see if it works with our full-time work schedules. . . .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivamartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort

Property: Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort
Address: 1650 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1512
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#8 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with RV park across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Laughlin`s Riverside Hotel Laughlin
Don Laughlins Riverside Hotel
Don Laughlins Riverside Laughlin
Riverside Hotel Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing