We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just came back from the Riverside yesterday and once again had a great time. As stated before, the hotel is a bit dated but nice and clean. We were a little disappointed with the Prime Rib Room this time. We had reservations for 7 but that didn't seem to really matter, the sequence of the dinner is you go get your salad, when you are done, you get your potatoe and veggie and they bring the cutting station to your table and carve you a nice piece of meat. Well there was no cutting the meat at the table, the potatoes and veggies were stone cold by the time the meat was brought on a plate to the table. There was one poor guy trying to serve the one whole side of the restaurant by himself and he was just on the run. In all fairness he really did try to do a great job and the prime rib was remarkable as usual. We always enjoy the buffet but I think they need to pick their hostess with a little more care. Getting greeted and taken to your table by someone with a srunched up scowled face is not appealing. Good food though. The fourth floor was being renovated but we always enjoy a room with a balcony. The maid that cleaned our room was not the best we have had but it wouldn't make me change my mind about staying at the Riverside. The staff are very friendly and we had no problem getting our drinks refilled. In fact I was playing at a card table sipping on my drink and the cocktail waitress took the glass from my hand and replaced it with full one. Now that is service.
We enjoyed our trip so much that we came home and the next morning booked another trip there in 8 weeks. And yes the pillows (My Miracle Pillow) were nice - I came bought 4 of them.
We always have a great time at the Riverside and look forward to going each time.

Room Tip: North Tower roons have a balcony and the 4th floor of the South Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breezytease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    357
    209
    127
    113
See reviews for
208
419
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
McAllen Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Riverside many times and enjoy gambling there. There are many things to do within the Riverside complex and it is within walking distance of several different casinos. Harrah's is too far to walk, at least for us, so we take a water taxi when going there.
Our favorite spot at the Riverside is the bar at the Gourmet Room. They have drink specials in the afternoon and it affords a great view of the river and countryside. The Gourmet Room itself has early bird specials and the food there is wonderful. The Prime Rib Room also has very good food - the only downside is that sometimes it is hard to get a glass of wine since the cocktail servers are not part of the restaurant. They come in occasionally to take and deliver drink orders, but we have usually finished dinner by the time they come by.
We were happy that they replaced the mediocre Chinese food with hamburgers (Fatburger) and smoothies which are much better. In our opinion, the Riverside breakfast buffet is superior by far to the lunch and dinner buffets.
The rooms are not very updated, but really clean, quiet, and comfortable.The coffee maker is appreciated, since many casino hotels do not provide this service. The miracle pillows were so comfortable that we actually went home and ordered some.
The motto here is that the customer is King, and we have always found that to be true.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After staying at a variety of Laughlin hotels, this is one of the few I would consider staying at again. While it is an older hotel/casino, it's been maintained well. The rooms are decent size, not cramped feeling at all. The beds were suprisingly comfy, with really good pillows (those expensive My Pillows). They did have a coffee maker and hairdryer, which is more than I can say for some of the other hotels. But I will admit it's a little lackluster in decor. They do have a new key entry system where you don't have to swipe those stupid little cards, just tap them on the lock. That was pretty cool because when you've got a handful of luggage, it's way easier. It just needs a tad bit of upgrades to make it really great. There's lots of in-house entertainment besides the casino, including a movie theater, 2 classic car shows, concert venue and some shopping. And for goodness sake, get your players club card. I recieved 3 free nights stay for my play there, so its totally worth the effort.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. They also have non-smoking rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been coming to the Riverside for nine years. It has always been a bit old fashioned, which is part of the attraction but standards had been slipping quite badly. We both felt that an effort has been made to improve the experience and enjoyed a three night stay. We have always stayed in the North Tower before because of the balcony but booked a South Tower double balcony suite for a change. The first room was not as booked so I went back down to reception and a more helpful young lady rechecked the booking and put us in large room with a balcony looking down the river and another looking West. We like to watch the sunset before going down and losing our cash. I think the slots are a little looser this year. The buffet seems to have had a bit of a refresh foodwise and the staff are always good. We missed the Chinese carryout as it gives you a break from overeating. The room was very clean and had a fridge, which is really handy. The TV channel choice is very limited, the least ever in any hotel. I know you don't come to a casino to watch TV but sometimes it's pleasant just to put your feet up and relax. There is plenty, going on here, car collection, bowling, cinemas etc. so no need to get bored. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingsdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent two nights at this resort.It looks and feels that it needs a complete face lift. The rooms, whilst clean , were very lack lustre, small details but useful to the traveller, no notepad or pen, no instructions as to how electricity for coffee maker and tv is obtained especially as the rest of the lights, hairdrier came on at the switch. Having been given breakfast buffet vouchers very disappointed with the choice and quality of the food available, if I had been paying I would have complained.The lighting in ther casino is quite poor and the carpets sticky. In one area near the south tower drinks are brought in plastic tumblers!!!! The swimming pool on the third floor,which again was clean, the water was absolutely freezing. It was only at check out that I learnt that I had been charged for the two keys, this wasn't explained at registration. All in all I was very disapponted with my experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margsalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I are occasional travelers to Laughlin. We usually travel to Vegas and drive down in a rental car. In September we decided to give the Riverside Resort's Air Package a try. It was the best "weekend getaway". We upgraded our room to a mini suite for just a few dollars more and ended up with a wonderful riverview room with a beautiful view. Can't believe the trip was so quick. Not facing that long drive from Vegas was nice and we "lost" the money we saved ( for car rental ) in the casino, but it was well worth it.The river walk is a great place to spend an hour or two in the cool evenings. All but one of the other casino's are accesable from there. If you are looking for an inexpensive weekend getaway, you can't beat this deal. The only downside - Bullhead City Airport security takes hours! We will definately be taking this trip again.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms are refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliBlueHair12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We travel to Riverside several times a year, taking the charter from Mosinee. While the cost is very reasonable, we are becoming less enchanted by the trip. The hotel rooms are generally clean and updated. However, this last trip we accepted a "smokers room" so we could be in the North Tower, close to the pool. The room was gross. The light switches were so filthy you didn't want to touch them. We will never accept a "smokers room" again.
The food at the buffet is mediocre at best. Italian night offered overcooked pastas with generic choices. It's been the exact same for years. Lots of heat and serve foods. Fresh cooking by real chefs would be a great upgrade!
The Riverside Restaurant is always a good choice. You can get freshly prepared foods that are tasty and satisfying.
The entertainment was great! We attend concerts each time we are there, and always enjoy them. Big name entertainers that deliver great shows. Definitely worth the price.
The casino areas need upgrading! The non-smoking section offers very few machines and most of them are old or "game king" machines for the card players. We end up spending most of our time in the smoking sections because there is a bigger variety of machines, although quite a few are old. The smell of smoke is very prominent.
Because of the comps and rewards for playing, including huge discounts on the flight costs, we try to do most of our gambling at the Riverside. However, we decided to go next door to the Aquarius and found the machines much looser, and the variety of new machines gave us the fun experience that is missing from the Riverside Casino.
The atmosphere at some of the neighboring casinos is so much nicer than the Riverside. Upgrades and new machines really do make a difference.
It's clear to see that the Riverside Casino has not been professionally designed, and the multiple additions to the original buildings have not been planned out as well as they should have been, giving the whole floor plan a choppy feel, with lots of corners and out of the way places. We would really love to see what could be done to improve it.

Room Tip: The north tower gives you access to the 3rd floor pool. And every room has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 843lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
2,769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
8,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort

Property: Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort
Address: 1650 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1512
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#8 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with RV park across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Laughlin`s Riverside Hotel Laughlin
Don Laughlins Riverside Hotel
Don Laughlins Riverside Laughlin
Riverside Hotel Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing