We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice looking pool but it is a "no-fun" zone!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avi Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avi Resort & Casino
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Lakewood, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice looking pool but it is a "no-fun" zone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Avi for the first time. We usually stop in on our way home from Laughlin for breakfast. Liked the looks of the pool and the fact that they have a beach on the river so we thought we'd give it a try. At check-in we sadly realized we did not get a room in the "pool tower" as we requested. We wanted to be there so we could be close to pool and my 86 year old mom could be close to bingo. We had to tromp through the casino to go to the pool and my mom had to hoof it a long way with her walker to get to the bingo. The room was ok, seemed to be clean, but we had a nice view of nothing and the old fashioned air conditioner was noisy. The pool was nice except for a couple of rude staff members and rules about no float rafts that is not posted anywhere near the pool, in the hotel or on their website. There is a sign near check in that actually says "Our guests float for free!" Hmmmmm There are security constantly roaming the pool keeping the kids out of the adult side and telling people they cannot have their drinks in the pool. Some people were told they couldn't bring in their own drinks or food and others were openly drinking and eating stuff that they did bring in. We eventually ignored the rude girl at pool check in and quietly floated on our rafts for at least 6 hours. When the new shift arrived, they told us they were not allowed and we were told to remove them from the pool. Really? The casino is fairly small and they have a food court and a nice movie theater showing current movies. The buffet is a buffet. Liked the beach area and being able to put our feet in the river, but the mosquito's were abundant and there were red ants in the sand, so our time spent there was short. People coming in from their boats were complaining of the mosquito infestation on the river. Their promotions are not very exciting and they don't give new card members anything special. I have a feeling their comps are very slim also. We go to Laughlin a few times each year and we never pay for rooms, always getting free rooms at Tropicana and Riverside. I asked the front desk about Thanksgiving time asking if they do anything special for the guests and they said no, they are not very busy that time of year. A fellow guest who stays there quite a bit said they have a really fun party for Superbowl. I might stay there again, just because the pool is nice and I like having the movies there and the golf course looks nice. It was too hot to play this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for pool tower, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    534
    343
    155
    132
See reviews for
683
435
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my first time to this hotel in Laughlin and I learned a valuable lesson, to make sure your reservations are confirmed for EACH night you are staying. I had made my reservation over the phone for 2 nights and had my confirmation number. To my pleasant surprise when we checked in we were given an upgraded room because we arrived to the hotel late and the "normal" rooms were already booked and this was the only one available. The room was great, 4th floor, beach tower with views of the river below. The next morning I went to the front desk to ask a couple questions and was told that I would need to check-out of my current room and move to a new one, but I was also told, the new room would be ready in about an hour. No problem I though, I'll just go eat breakfast. I came back after breakfast and the room was still not ready and I was then told it would be a couple hours. So I had to go pack all our stuff and put it into the hot car. It was not until 4:30p that my room was ready and it was not even the correct room I reserved. The front desk apologized but could not do anything as the hotel was completely booked. So for the first night it was wonderful, but the second night failed.

Room Tip: Beach Tower in the middle of the hotel has the best views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stay at the Avi resort this past lon weekend for one night and decided to go gamble , will i played for over an hour in the tables and I never got the drink that I order , the cocktail waitress would come around almost every 2 hours , the next day i woke up with bug bites all over my body and found bed bugs in the mattress..... I would never recommned or stay at the Avi resort again!!!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moreno46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first time at the KOA RV Park at the Avi Resort & Casino in Laughlin. We made two stops here on the way to the Grand Canyon and on the way home from the GC. The RV park was clean, spacious, and the best part was the staff. Linda, at the front desk, was wonderfully inviting and personable! The security guards were also very friendly and actually did their jobs by patrolling the grounds. Since it was 110 outside, we took advantage of the amenities the Avi has to offer: movie theaters, pool, beach, and food! It was very relaxing and great for the kids. They really enjoyed the private beach! The only con I can think of was the Wi-Fi connection. It was intermittent throughout the RV park and casino, but it didn't bother us since it wasn't necessary for us to be connected. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the RV spaces have full hook-ups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrncyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently stayed at AVI resort in Laughlin for 3 days, HUGE disappointment !!! I booked this hotel due to some friends recommendations thinking this was a Family oriented hotel, well, NOT !!! We have 3 small children and thought this was a great place for a getaway. They obviously are a Seniors or gamblers oriented resort, for sure. The service was awful, I think because we are not gamblers, from check in to the pool the staff is all the time asking if you have a room, they don't respect their own promotions, like food vouchers, gas vouchers, etc. But the worse thing was the attitude of the staff, they are at the defensive all the time, like if we the guest are the enemy and not their GUESTS. When I asked a Manager about all this, he told me that they had a problem with the locals trying to get in the installations for free, well that's not my problem, they should have better security controls before entering the resort, but when you are inside, wearing a wrist band and with a room key, that should not be a problem. Really sad, and even thought my kids loved the place, the room was big and clean and the pool was very nice, I'm never returning. So sad.

Room Tip: Beach tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraSandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortagne-sur-Sevre, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a great time here where there is plenty to do - relax by the pool, go down to the Colorado river, have fun at the casino... We were also very satisfied with the huge room which was amazing value for the pittance we paid.
The buffet was varied, good and again, extremely good value for money.
Any regrets?Only one - we wished we had booked more nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanforlife32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We decided to go to stop by the Avi Resort and have breakfast at the Feathers Cafe. The meal was very good and very reasonably priced. The service as very good and I would recommended this restaurant if you are staying at the Avi or in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mntcat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
11.0 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
10.6 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
10.5 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
8.1 mi away
Lodge on the River
Lodge on the River
#4 of 14 in Bullhead City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
9.6 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avi Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avi Resort & Casino

Property: Avi Resort & Casino
Address: 10000 Aha Macav Pkwy, Laughlin, NV 89029-1522
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laughlin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#6 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avi Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the mountains on the Colorado River you will find an oasis escape. . .The Avi Resort & Casino. A perfect retreat for your next conference, meeting or incentive program. Or a perfect escape for a weekend or a vacation getaway. The Avi staff will strive to surpass all your expectations. The Resort has 452 rooms, 29 spa suites, an action-packed 35,000 square foot casino, the largest beach lagoon on the Colorado river and its own championship golf course! RVers enjoy our 260 space full service RV park as well as our large FREE RV dry parking area. The casino is the main attraction of the Resort with over 1,100 state-of-the-art slot machines, including the latest penny slots and ticket in-ticket out machines. The casino also has over twenty table games, including Let It Ride, Three Card Poker and Hold 'em Fold 'em. plus a sports and race book, Live Keno and daily Bingo sessions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Avi Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avi Resort And Casino
Avi Resort Casino
Avi Hotel & Casino
Avi Hotel Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing