We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little out of the way adventure”
Review of Grapevine Canyon

Grapevine Canyon
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Laughlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors come to this canyon in the Nevada desert to view its Indian petroglyphs, some of the first known to man. Truly an amazing site, many of the etchings go 40 to 50 feet below the sand level and are hundreds of years old. A few of the more common ones have been translated but the rest remain a mystery.
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good little out of the way adventure”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It is a great adventure especially for those who like to travel and see unique things and History. Makes you wonder what the plateau was like over 1000 years ago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    31
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent piece of ancient history”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is an amazing piece of cultural native american history. This is an ancestral area for them so be respectful.

The area is maintained by the National Park Service and while the road says 4x4 recommended, ANY car can drive the gravel road from the highway (163).

The restrooms are in the parking lot maintained constantly but they are single "pit vaults".

The walk from the parking lot to the petroglyphs is about 1/3 of a mile through the desert. While there is no "official" trail it is well worn. Most people will walk the left trail above the wash to get there and take the wash back to the parking lot. Be aware that if you walk off the "beaten" path, you are VERY likely to step on a Teddy Bear Cholla cactus skeleton. These will go right though many shoe types and the spines HURT!

Since the walk is through the desert, wheelchairs are NOT advised and NOT practice. Regardless of which way you take to get to the glyphs, you will have to walk down a hill about 30 feet tall. You don't have to be in great shape as the walk is level (save the 30 foot part) but you need to be able to walk on gravel and walk down-up that little hill.

There are hundreds of Native American Petroglyphs in the immediate area. If you choose to continue hiking into the mountains from the main area be aware that there is NO trails. It is all at your own risk and you will have to do a fair amount of bouldering.

SUMMER Travel NOT advised. It gets HOT here. 125 degrees in the summer is NOT out of the ordinary. Your flip flops and 1 20oz bottle of water is not going to cut it. You need to plan ahead. While its only a short walk, if you have medical conditions you may want to put this off until the winter when you can spend some time sitting down on the rocks wondering what the glyphs mean.

Don't walk on the petroglyphs and certainly don't try to chip any of them off as a souvenir. Remember, you are on Federally protected land and the Park Service will prosecute if you attempt to vandalize or steal the artifacts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ewestpfahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The highlight of our visit to Laughlin”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Grapevine Canyon lies a couple of miles down a dirt road to Christmas Tree Pass. The sign says 4x4 recommended, but we and the other people there that day did fine in regular 2-wheel-drive passenger cars. The road gets a bit rough and washboard-y at times, so you may have to take it slow or endure a bumpy ride.

There is parking for 20 or so cars; we did not see the sand-stranded Jeep mentioned in another review, so someone has retrieved it. There are also handicap-accessible restrooms available there.

The path is not well marked, and you can take multiple routes to reach the canyon; I advise wandering a bit to see the area. We saw several lizards, a hare or two, and many hawks or other birds-of-prey circling in search of a meal. There are also a fair number of flies and gnats, which encourage you not to loiter in one spot too long.

The petroglyphs densely populate the entrance to the canyon, and cover many rocks. The path winds up, into the canyon, and becomes narrow and difficult at times. We followed it for about 1/4 of a mile before we were forced to choose between climbing up over some rocks (with no equipment), forcing our way through a densely-grown area with a swarm of wasps or flies (we couldn't tell which) or turning back. (We turned back.)

It was a great outing, we got some exercise and saw some cool stuff, and I would recommend it highly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon13798465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomer, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Laughlin several times and never knew this was here until I looked at Trip Advisor! So glad we had the opportunity to get there. We only had a couple of hours and would have liked to spend more time. Very peaceful and serene place, easy hike to get to the petroglyphs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaughnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Short distance from Laughlin and well worth it”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I drove up to Grapevine in the late afternoon. It was an easy hike to the petroglyphs and well worth the time. I was amazed how quiet the desert is in the early evening. The sun began setting and turned the desert gold and pink. There are more petroglyphs there than I had ever seen. It was amazing to think how old they must be. This is a very easy quarter mile hike into the desert to see the amazing art.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank sdgalMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing