We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“viva las vegas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Casino
Ranked #108 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“viva las vegas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from a 17 night stay in USA. The first 5 nights we stayed at the Plaza on Fremont. The hotel was well worth the money. We had a room in the South tower. It overlooked trailway line side. It was clean, spacious and quiet. The only 'wardrobe' space was a rail in the bathroom area and not much else apart from a set of drawers. However it certainly did not spoil or cause us any problems despite reading 'picky' comments by some customers. The Plaza is in a great location and is buzzing. However Fremont is 'downtown' and there are lots of vagrants and beggars around. (some using mobiles despites claiming to be penniless, homeless etc). If you're a new visitor to Fremont it can be a bit scarey due to the volume of people there (some very strange ones) but we never felt intimidated there (safety in numbers). There are some excellent places to eat especially at the Golden Gate and Main Street (fab buffet). The reviews we read regarding the Plaza were harsh. Its great value for money, in a great location and would stay again no problem. We then moved down to Treasure Island on 'the strip'. We paid $25 for an early check-in and the lovely man on reception spent ages getting us a 'room with a view' and oh my goodness he certainly did that. We were on floor 32 with an unspoilt panoramic view right up the strip, it was fabulous as were the beds (the best ever) and the fittings, toiletries and cleanliness. What a joy to stay in such a fabulous hotel. The only downside was the pool area which was very cramped, loud and definitely catered for the young party set. It certainly wasn't relaxing for the more mature customer! However don't let this put you off staying here its great and we would return with no concerns. We then went off to San Diego for 3 days. What can I say apart from - fabulous. We stayed at the Handlery on the north circuit. It was ok. We asked to change rooms as our curtains were hanging off the rails and was dark and dingey. We eventually got moved to an end room which was much lighter with windows on 2 sides and quieter ( there was a youth soccer team in the original corridor ). The staff very very helpful and the bars ok even if they did close early. This hotel was offered at $150 per night which I would have been very disappointed with had we paid that price. It was about 10 mins walk to the train station. However the old town was nice with a great pizza place called Bella pizza - excellent. The train service is efficient and cheap ($5-8 for an all day pass). The highlight was the city bus tour which takes you to Coronado OMG loved it. It is beautiful, immaculate, pretty, historic and relaxing. Definitely recommend it if you ever go to San Diego. We ended our Las Vegas with a stay at Southpoint. We stayed there last year and our friends have stayed there several times. The only negative was the room we got on the sixth floor which looked onto a .......wall! Had this been our first stay would have been very disappointed but because we had been before we stayed where we were. However our friends complained and were given the 11th floor. Being return guests it would have been nice to have been given a nicer room (management take note). Here is a BIG word of warning if you play bingo or slots/tables. I was fortunate to win over $4000 on the bingo and was told that they took 30% tax off the winnings YES 30%. We were given conflicting advice about claiming this back/not being able to claim it back. I have e-mailed the IRS to see if I can claim the tax back. If anyone has any advice/tips regarding this issue please let me know. Southpoint is great. The pool area is roomy and relaxing. the casino was not smokey as was reported by previous guests and is a great base for exploring. We visited the Hoover Dam. If you get the chance to go please do, its fabulous. All in all we had a brilliant time again (fourth visit) and will be back in the future. I hope this review helps and have tried to give a 'speak as you find' balanced review.

Room Tip: Ask for South tower at the Plaza. A strip view at the TI and a floor above 10 at Southpoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Christine, thank you for your detailed review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Plaza. Sounds like you had a great time in Las Vegas. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    1,395
    886
    455
    414
See reviews for
900
1,459
387
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great location love freemont loved the new bier garten rooms are nice spacious and clean price was very reasonable i would definitely stay here again and will most likely be using getaroom services more often

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torrez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the spacious, clean rooms. The Bier Garten is a great place to hang out. Thank you for your review and hope you'll be back really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend are locals and we stayed here for a night to avoid driving after partying at Fremont Street. We had a great stay, clean rooms and attentive people. Plus we only spent 20 bucks for the night! Super cheap! I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceIshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Grace, Thank you for your review! We love locals and are happy you got to spend a night with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I am on the road over 150 days per year. I have been traveling to Las Vegas on a regular basis for business for over 20 years. I have always stayed at one of the major properties on the strip. I have heard and read much about "downtown Vegas" - Freemont Street area. I gave it a try at the Plaza Hotel.

The rooms are large like most older hotels. They renovated the property within the last few years. I read where they purchased the interiors and furnishings from the defunct/bankrupt Foutainbleu resort on the strip. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the furnishings are first class. Free internet and a very courteous staff. Stacy at the front desk and Curtiss in the Royal Rewards program are excellent employees and care about the guests. I hear the General Manager Mr. Pergolini is very active in the operation and it shows.

This is an excellent location to combine business with pleasure. The price is very reasonable and a fraction of what the main strip properties charge. You can have breakfast at McDonalds, a late night sandwich at Subway and one of best steaks in Las Vegas at Oscar's - all located within the property. There are other food and bar options as well. The casino is large and has it all. The money saved on the room and food makes for an additional business trip perk - the casino.

There is a large redevelopment initiative underway in the area. Many interesting things such as Container Park, The Smith Center, a large Outlet center, and new restaurants are minutes away via walking. The area is a sleeper.

One last enjoyable feature is that you are not spending each day feeling like everyone is out to tap your wallet - like the strip hotels. This hotel has an excelent price/value relationship. Harder to find these days.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to explain south vs north tower Use the coupon book they give you at check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Tom, thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We are glad you enjoyed the spacious, renovated rooms. Curtiss and Stacy are great! And Mr. Pergolini is indeed very involved in the operation. We are happy this was apparent to you and that you had a pleasant experience with the employees. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

While the location was good (right across the street from Freemont Street), we got a room facing Freemont. Not good since they have a live band Friday and Saturday night and play till 1AM. It's ok if your not in the room. Once the noise let up sleeping was good. We had to walk clean across the casino to get to the parking garage. While not a big deal, we had 2 hassles. Hassle #1 was the guys trying to sign you up for crap to get a free nights stay and whatever else they had for "free" comps. I mean every time we walked by them we got hounded. What part of no don't they understand? We just kept walking. Hassle #2 was the elevator to the parking garage. Slow is the understatement of the year,2 elevators and only 1 worked. It took housekeeping till 4:30 on Sunday afternoon to clean our room. It was cleaned well before 12:00 on Saturday. If the housekeeping staff would quit talking so much and clean they would it get done faster. This will be our one and only stay here. A good deal led to a lousy time....and it was our 30th anniversary weekend...soooooooo dissapointed!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at The Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19rsm61 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Sometimes hotels are like tenements...the owners never put any money into them for upkeep or updating, but keep collecting the rent nonetheless. When I stayed at The Plaza, I stayed for a couple nights out of four nights booked, but canceled the remainder of my reservation and stayed at The Paris instead, which is "light years" better than The Plaza, despite the increased cost. Unless you're on a budget and plan on staying in downtown Vegas on Fremont, I would skip The Plaza. If ownership remodeled the rooms, I would take a second look. But the only hotel in Vegas that was worse than my stay at The Plaza was the old Sands before they shut it down. Our room was next to the parking garage and it was a nightmare! The pool area of the Plaza is pitiful.

Room Tip: Unless you get a suite that's been updated, there are no "good" rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here because the hotels were way to much on the strip and we are very glad we did. The last time we stayed at the Plaza was about 10 years ago. It was dated and needed an update. Well, they did updated it. The room we stayed in was very nice. But the one day there was no hot water, but, we survived. It was NASCAR weekend, and Fremont street was buzzing. Lots of great entertainment. The Hotel has a few places to eat. We ate at McDonalds every morning. The prices for the week, on average, was around 50 dollars a night. Pretty darn good for Vegas. I highly recommend the Plaza, the prices are great, location is wonderful (its right across the street from Fremont street and all the lights) and theres food in the hotel. If you want to go to the strip, take the bus, its a great deal for a 24 hr pass.

Room Tip: just call them up and be NICE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nodakfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#126 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Property: Plaza Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 S Main St, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101-6370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing