We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Casino
Ranked #108 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Renovated rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel is located in downtown Las Vegas, which is the shady part of the city. However, the hotel seems to have undergone significant renovation and the rooms looked well renovated. Just many downtown hotels, rates are low on the weekdays. Lucky for me, i'm only in town during the weekdays. Unlike many other hotels, this hotel doesn't charge you the surprising "fees" which can be quite exorbitant. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olivia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    1,394
    886
    455
    414
See reviews for
900
1,458
387
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I booked a room on hotwire, but got a $50 charge on my card that has not been refunded after 3 weeks and 3 voicemail messages to the accounting dept. I used express checkout due to the long line to check out. No bill was under the door and I did not charge anything to the room, so I'm assuming this was a deposit they held on the room. Not likely to stay again if I have to keep on top of my credit card billing. Desk service was great during check in.

Room Tip: We were near the pool on the 7th floor, but it was closed for the season. That row of rooms may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinadoll418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We decided to plan to stay at the Plaza instead of driving home to Henderson last weekend. The updated lobby gave my wife and I a good feeling, unlike the last time I was down here for lunch. The rooms are very sparse but the items in the room are new and are apparently from the un-finished Fontainebleau Casino Hotel.
The drains in the bathroom must be clogged because when taking a quick shower you end up standing in 3 inches of water. There was also a gurgling noise coming form the sink, now I know why the plunger was down when I checked in.
The only saving grace and why I gave it three stars was Oscars Steak House downstairs. Worth the trip but stay on the strip or at the Golden Nugget.
Oh, the 6am trains just behind the hotel arrive on time too so good luck with that!

Room Tip: If you are out late stay in the rooms facing the Fremont Street Experience, the train wont wake you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdotchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the renovated Plaza and were very pleased with the improvements made since our last visit. We arrived around 7:00 PM on a Wednesday night and there were two people working the check in counter. There were two people ahead of us in line. We waited for over 20 minutes while they waited on those ahead of us. We were unfortunate enough to get the rude check in clerk. However, we did receive the rooms choices we requested (North Tower facing away from Fremont). We were on the 16th floor and did not experience any noise from Fremont, elevators, neighbors or trains as others had complained about. The beds were very comfortable, the room clean, clean towels and linens each day. We did call housekeeping for flatter bed pillows and an extra blanket and they were brought up immediately. The bathroom lighting is my only complaint about the room. You have to take a mirror with you in order to put on your make up each day. The only mirror is in the bathroom and the lighting is very bad. Also the soap supplied is a flat, round piece about the size of a silver dollar. We knew from our first visit to take our own bar of soap so this was not a problem. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and rested very well. When we visit Vegas again we will stay at the Plaza. Any negatives are offset by the price. Great value, great price and an ideal location if you like staying downtown. Hash House a Go Go is really good. They have a McDonalds and Subway convenient for the the quick lunch or snack. Fremont Street has become a nightmare at night with bands, dancing girls, characters in costume, teenagers, children in strollers and revelers. For those of us who go to gamble and have been staying downtown for years to avoid the crowds and tourists with small children on the Strip this is becoming an area we will avoid. The Plaza is away from that but in order to visit the other casinos you have to navigate through all that mess. So if you don't like the crowds, noise and party atmosphere you may consider a casino away from downtown or the Strip.

Room Tip: South Tower or North Tower rooms facing away from Fremont St. are quieter. Take a make up mirror an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Check in was quick & harmless. Asked for room on floor with ice machine, Done Deal ! Room overlooked Freemont street. Room was clean & with new interior furnishings. First night had a little trouble falling asleep, by the second night was getting into the sounds coming from the street and hit the rack with no trouble. You need to watch what you're doing around the hotel if you know what I mean, there is security on the street by the hotel so that does help. Leave the jewelry home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoHop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I checked in on a thursday (28.00 after taxes) for one night and I enjoyed myself. You definately get more than what you pay for. The room was very nice. (North Tower) Bed was comfy and there was little to no noise in hallways and rooms next to me. There was a small traash bag in the hallway in fornt of the door to the room adjacent to me. The bathroom was on the smaller side but who checks in to a hotel for the bathroom. The most important features were more than acceptable to me price, size, free parking, comfortableness and bed.
There was 24 hour security.. after a certain time (9pm i think) u cant get past security to get to the room elevators w/o a room key.
Decor was just like the pictures.. elegant and madorn. I liked it.
I am a resident of las vegas and i work in reservations for a timeshare compan here.. So not having resort fees and free parking downtown is a major bonus! i will stay here again and I am in the process of plannoing my next visit there.

Room Tip: North Tower (less noise) Higher floor (less traffic) Get drink comps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

In January we decided to elope inLas Vegas and looked online for a great deal, flight and hotel, and found the Plaza Hotel & Casino. We decided to try it even though we did no know anyone who had stayed there. We were delighted with it! The checkin when smoothly, very friendly clerk, and then our room was an unexpected treat. They have just redone the hotel and it was beautiful and very clean. The maids did an excellent job each day and the we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. And, the location and view from our room were awesome, we looked out over the Fremont Experience.

Room Tip: Allegiiant Air has great hotel & flight deals with this hotel/casino if they service your area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#127 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Property: Plaza Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 S Main St, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101-6370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing