We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot to be pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed @ the Trop For my husbands "60th" surprise Bday..We arrived on Sunday and the family (7 peo) arrived on Monday...The Trov. met them @ the airport w/limo and had
them all checked in w/the players card and rooms all ready. This was soo helpful as we were trying to keep it a secret from the Bday boy...they were professional and wonderful to all of my family, the rooms were amazing w/strip views and adjoining rooms,
Dinner @ the Legands was the best of any strip we have eaten at..The service was above and beyond, the waiter(Mike) even sang in itilian HAPPY BIRTHDAY..how special..
I will never stay anywhere else. They treat you like family and the good side of the family....
The remodel is also top quality..We have stayed there all through the remodel and were never put out by noise or construction...
They can only go up from my point of view. Just wanted to share my happy thoughts.

Patti Patoka
Wisconsin

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattipmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,424 - 10,430 of 12,124 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

This trip, I did not stay at the Tropicana, but I visited the casino, sports book, & a restaurant there. I had been there prior to this trip & felt like the casino was dark and dirty...hardly what is known as the current Vegas experience. This trip, we walked through the bright casino, remodeled with beautiful attention to detail. It looked like classic Las Vegas met sunny paradise! The service at most areas we visited was friendly & outgoing. And, the perks for signing on for a players card were super...$10 free dollars in my case. Overall, an outstanding turn around from what I had just seen last October! If you haven't been to the Tropicana since the remodel, you haven't been to the Tropicana! Give it another chance!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We just returned from a three night stay at the Tropicana. The Tropicana is currently promoting itself with the tag line, "We're changing everything." Well, they might be changing everything, but the job isn't done yet. It will be a while before they truly can claim to be "best in class." Right now, the Trop has good points, so-so points, and a few downright down points. That doesn't mean you should rule it out, but you should go in with an open mind to the idea that this is a hotel in transition, and there are still some warts around the edges.

We stayed in the newly remodeled Paradise Tower. It is important for anyone staying at the Trop to understand that they are undergoing a remodelling that began with their Paradise Tower, and is moving through to the Island Tower now. The "garden rooms" have NOT been renovated at all as of this time. We had time to explore all areas of the hotel, and there are still vast differences between the newly remodelled tower and the other parts of the hotel. The overall effect is sort of schizophrenic as a result, which likely accounts for the wild disparity between reviews.

First, the positive: The Trop is a very convenient place to stay if you want to be near all of the action on the strip. It is an easy walk across the walkways over Las Vegas Blvd. to MGM Grand, Luxor, NY-NY, and the tram to the Mandalay Bay. We liked the fact that the Tropicana is not as "hustle and bustle" as the other hotels and casinos nearby. A plus is that you do not have to walk through miles of casino space to get to the elevator to the Paradise Tower. Parking was ample and free. Our deal, booked through the hotel, was three nights for the price of two, $69 a night plus resort fee of $8.99. The deal included two free drinks in the bar (well only) for each night of our stay, as well as a free apetizer in Legends, the Trop's best restaurant.

Check in was speedy (our deal included VIP check in).

Our room in the Paradise Tower was nice. Everything was new, down to the wallpaper. Comfortable bed, spacious room and bath. A nice touch was the hand makeup mirror in the bathroom. Although our room was right by the elevator, we weren't bothered by any noise. Overall, it was very comparable to our room at the Bellagio where we stayed several years ago.

Now, for so-so parts of the Trop. Construction is definitely occurring here. I am putting this in the "so so" part, because, honestly, it really wasn't all that obtrusive in most parts of the hotel. (See the section on the Garden View rooms below however). Yes, there are some large white screens in the lobby/casino, and, from time to time you might hear a bit of noise while walking through the public areas, but, overall, it was easy to ignore.

The Trop's restaurants should also be classified as "so so" It does have several places to eat --- two of them are more coffee shop, order at the counter types of places. We had dinner at Legends, the Trop's "upscale" option our first night.

NOTE: The Trop is currently advertising a $34 "four course" dinner with wine pairings at Legends. Sounds like a good deal, and that is why we decided to eat at Legends. However, our waiter immediately warned us that this is really to be considered a "tasting menu" not a DINNER. When we looked at the actual menu for what was being served, we both had a good laugh. The four courses were as follows:

First course: One scallop
Second course: One shrimp and two mussels
Third course: One short rib
Fourth course: cup of sorbet

We couldn't help wondering if the wine would be served in a thimble.

We felt that this was something of a "bait and switch" -- get you in the door for the "price fixe" then tell you that you will starve to death if you don't order something else. Still, our regular dinners were fine (nothing out of this world), although we would have probably given the experience a higher rating if the view had been a bit better (our window table overlooked a flat empty roof).

There were also some aspects of the new rooms that we found lacking. For instance, the shutters in the rooms look nice - until you turn off the lights to go to bed and realize that all the lights of the Strip are shining directly between those shutter slats. They really need to have some sort of black out curtains! Also, the "daybed" that they show in all of the pictures looks great, until you realize that it is impossible to sit on because there is no back to it, and there is only ONE "real" chair in the room, a very hard desk chair. If you have more than one person in the room, the other person will end up having to sit on the bed. Finally, we couldn't remember the last time we'd stayed in a hotel where there was no coffee maker! These are the little things that really make you feel comfortable and at home, and they were just not quite up to snuff. I wonder whether the interior decorators actually spent a night or two in the rooms they designed. :)

We also felt it was somewhat off-putting that there was a sign on the desk warning us not to damage or remove any of the furnishings. Made us wonder just what type of people the Trop thinks their customers are. Again, a small thing, but left a strange taste in our mouth.

Internet access is $12.99 a day. When you're paying a "resort fee" one would expect free internet.

Now, the Trop's real downsides. The Tropicana is one of the oldest hotels on the strip. While the renovations in the Paradise Tower have brought it up to modern standards, there are still many areas of the hotel where it is obvious upgrading still needs to be done. For instance, the hallway to the restroom in the casino is lined with mirrors. Several of the mirrors were broken and had been taped over with duct tape. Rather odd to see something like this in a hotel that is claiming to be "best in class."

The worst area of the hotel are the "garden rooms" which are the original parts of the hotel. We walked through here several times on our way to the parking area, and we had the opportunity to look into several of the rooms. At best, this area resembles a Motel 6 - dark hallways, doors with worn numbers on them. Furniture in the rooms resembles a Motel 6 as well. While we saw housecleaning in this part of the hotel, they don't appear to be really taking care of the public areas of this part of the hotel. The floor of one of the elevators was covered in big clods of dirt for our entire stay. I'm talking BIG hunks of dirt. While it is likely that this was dragged in by the construction workers, there really is no excuse for something like this not to be cleaned up immediately (how about putting some plastic down if the workers are going in and out of this elevator?). Also, we noticed that a lot of the construction equipment and supplies were stored directly outside many of the garden rooms, so it seems likely that there will be more noise there than we experienced in the Paradise Tower. DO NOT stay in the Garden rooms, unless you are on a severe budget! However, if you're staying in the Paradise Tower, you probably won't

Other public areas of the hotel also aren't living up to the standard of "best in class" that Trop is advertising for its Paradise Towe rooms. For instance, the walkway from the parking garage to the front is literally a hot alley between a cement wall and the airconditioning unit. The lobby itself has not been renovated yet, and feels dark. Worse, you have to go up two flights of stairs to get to registration and there is no ramp for your bags. We found this an odd set up, and somewhat unwelcoming.

So, should you stay at the Tropicana? If you can get a great deal like we did for the Paradise Tower, the answer is "yes." While there are some warts around the edges, we enjoyed our stay overall. However, be sure you know exactly what you are signing up for - ask questions about whether you'll be staying in the Paradise Tower, and do consider whether you'd prefer to stay at a more "happening" place while in Vegas. In spite of the downsides, overall, we enjoyed our stay, and, if the price was right, would stay here again. But, by the same token, we could see how the Trop might not be right for others. If you're looking for "best in class," it probably would be best to wait awhile to stay at the Trop. If you're OK with a few warts around the edges, and can book a good deal in the Paradise Tower, I would say you shouldn't have any worries about the Trop.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CZLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Thank you for your review. I agree that we are still in transition mode but I am happy to let you know that come 8/1, all rooms sold will be the new (voted) best in class, room! The Garden Rooms will no longer be available for sale or even to “tour” through. I do apologize that the special offering at Legends was less than expected. This dinner is considered more of a sampling menu and the portions seem small, but they do fill you up. (And do not forget the wine and bread!) The other offerings are very generous portions, but you only get the one item. I recommend that you run you hand over the shutters to ensure they are closed completely. If they are not, light does tend to travel in. The day bed is actually a chaise lounge and I apologize you thought it was a bed or couch. I can also let you know that all public areas will be completed by the end of the year. While we do understand that the rest of the property does have a few more months to go before we can boast it as “Best in Class”, we are very proud that our transformed rooms were voted as such! When you are ready to visit again, I would love to personally take care of you. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This hotel is VILE. The photos on here are completely inaccurate - search further to find pictures of what you'll REALLY be seeing.

I made a reservation online, having seen on this site (and another) that it was a newly-upgraded establishment and yet still offering good nightly rates. I figured it wasn't going to be Bellagio rate but WOW, were we shocked when we got there.

We parked in the back and entered the hotel through a back door (no security at all whatsoever, considering that we walked right into a hallway with hotel rooms). Finding the lobby was confusing. Luckily, an employee happened by and told us to get on the elevator and go up. The elevator was tagged up with graffitti and the paint was peeling. As we walked through the casino, it was smoky (I know, they're all smoky, but the Trop was especially so - They need a ventilation upgrade BADLY). As we walked through the hallways, a few rooms were opened for housekeeping. They were dark, dank... Reeked of "old casino"... Not good. And DEFINITELY not upgraded.

There was a LOT of construction going on, which is good (they need it), except... The sound of jackhammers pounding the ground was echoing through the place, yes, even over all the bells and whatnot. It was deafening up at the check-in desk.

I would not recommend this place anyone, except possibly my worst enemy. it's about as disgusting as Circus Circus, only in a better location. Pay $10 more and stay at the Excalibur or $20 more for the Luxor, which are both right across the street. The Excalibur isn't Bellagio quality either, but it's a 100% upgrade from the Tropicana. Heed my words: Do NOT waste your vacation at this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

I apologize your stay did not meet your expectations. I also apologize for any confusion over the pictures and your room. When booking your reservation on a third party website, or even our website, we do showcase the new rooms but often times a guest will choose a lower priced room, which at the current time are not transformed. Come 8/1, every room sold will be a new, best in class room. I am also happy to let you know that we have just completed the work in the front Valet area, making it very visible as it is right off Las Vegas Blvd. We do offer parking in the back of the property as well coming through our older Garden Wings, and we will be closing those entrances off come 8/1 as all the older Garden Room areas will be closed for transformation! I hope you will visit us again in a few months to see that all of your issues are 110% resolved! I would love to personally take care of you. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

it was the most beautiful and special place in Las Vegas. Obviously, it was convenience place and easy access to every where you go.
The rooms are so nice and clean, bed is so comfortable the rooms are newly renovated.
The front desk staff are so nice and professional professional service. they all so kind enough to assigned our family to a connecting rooms.
especially Kennon who were there to greeting us when we check in. and Jasmin front desk agent.

The swining pool was so nice and water was nice and cold. it was hot in Vegas but we enjoy our vacation there!!! my kids are enjoy it.

I will visit Vegas next time again and will defiantly recommend to friend and family.

Thanks so much to Tropicana team!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yunibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Thank you very much for your review! I am thrilled your stay seemed to exceed your expectations and that Kennon and Jasmin made your check in process memorable. I can not wait to hear from you on your next visit! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We just got home from our 3rd stay at the Tropicana, and each time it has gotten better. Even though there is construction at the hotel, it isn't a bother, and seems to be making great improvements. Our room was clean and spacious, with a great TV, and the bed and linens were very comfortable. Our casino host, Joe Phillips, went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed. Actually, everyone we encountered was very pleasant and helpful. The dealers in the casino were friendly and personable, and we really had fun with them! The shows were funny and the comedy club is a good addition. The pool was great. You might give up some of the flash and glitz of the huge mega hotels, but the personal attention and welcoming attitude of all of the staff more than makes up for the difference. We consider this our only place to stay in Las Vegas!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krd133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Thank you for your review. I am glad that Joe exceeded your expectations and assisted you in having a great trip! We pride our selves on our ability to deliver the best possible service and I am thrilled you were able to experience that! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Waited in line for 30 mins to check in, even though only 5 people ahead of us. Lots of construction at the hotel, which we knew about, but didn't realize the full extent of it. It didn't have the same feel as the other hotels on the strip due to this. There was a special event starting at 5 pm at the pool so couldn't use it unless you paid $25 per person. The room was very comfortable though with a great view of the strip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty3ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the delay at check in and for any inconvenience that the special event at the pool caused. We did close the pool two hours early for a pool party event for our guests. I am happy to let you know that in a few days the constructions walls near the Front Desk are coming down! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,108 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $61 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. The hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants; including Robert Irvine's Public House which opened in 2017, Oakville Steakhouse a Napa Inspired Steakhouse, and Bacio Italian Cuisine. Other amenities include an award winning pool surrounded by palm trees, lush landscaping and flowing waterfalls, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes David Goldrake Imaginarium, Rich Little, our Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing