We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jimmy Buffett weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #97 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jimmy Buffett weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms were nice and clean. The hotel staff was excelen. WE had an issue with a food server in the main restaraunt. The manager was quick to solve our issue and surpassed our expectations resolving this problem. the front desk staff was also very good.

ALL IN ALL A GREAT TIME

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coquitlamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Coquitlamron,

We are thrilled to know you had a great weekend while staying with us! Please accept our apologies that your entire stay was not seamless, although we are glad to hear our management was efficient in resolving the matter. Next time you are in town please feel free to reach out to us!
Myexperience@troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,985
    4,030
    2,037
    775
    481
See reviews for
1,876
4,534
586
1,603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great location for the strip. The pool is lovely and a real break away from the noise of Vegas. The rooms are a little musty smelling but if you are like us a head on a clean pillow was all we were concerned about. It suited us for that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
stepmac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback. Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and we are pleased we were able to make you feel at home.We like to know where we have room for improvements and we thank you for making us aware of any disatisfaction. Next time you are in town please feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staff were very helpful when all plans changed because of government shutdown. Even reserved two nights in case we came back early without taking our credit card details - no show no cost!
Clean tidy hotel with a great singer called Skye every night - fabulous R and B backed by a really good band.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awcsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Awcsome,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted to hear that we were accommodating on such short notice, and that you had an enjoyable stay. We would love to have you visit us again! Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently stayed at Tropicana from 10/17 - 10/22. When a group of 8 of us booked back in June we were not aware that they would shut down the pool for the season by this time. So when we arrived and headed to the pool we were bummed to find it closed. So instead of spending our money at Tropicana we booked a pool cabana at NYNY and was treated great by that hotel even though we were not their guests. We did this for three straight days and spent a lot of money on food and drinks there. Now on to gambling: The year before we stopped at Tropicana on a Friday/Saturday night and found many $5 tables all over the place so we gambled and decided we would stay at the Tropicana the following year. Had a great party/gambling atmosphere with dancers behind many of the tables. This year when we stayed at Tropicana there were hardly any $5 tables and the atmosphere was not great. We are not high rollers by any means but will gamble a decent amount if the price is right. The craps tables were $10 minimum and never looked busy every time I walked by. Was disappointed so we gambled our money elsewhere. Basically we just slept at Tropicana.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
M S,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us, Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. We would love the chance to have you visit again. If you would like to further discuss the details we would love to hear from you. Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very hard bad beds, poor temperature of rooms couldn't hold a temperature, bad keys to rooms had to get them re keyed 2x for 2 rooms. and staff said it was our fault . Really? 2 days in a row 4 different keys all different ? Seriously? and only half a pool to use very loud music at pool when we wanted to relax and bad business center said $ but turned out to not need it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Jeffrey A,

Thank you for reaching out to us in regards to your recent visit. I hope you'll accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve and provide the best possible experience. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail we invite you to contact us. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hearing from you soon!
Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

On a holiday to Canada and the US in August, not being a betting person I was dragged almost kicking and screaming by my wife to Las Vegas. The place was not as bad as I had feared and was in some ways enjoyable.
The hotel, however, the Tropicana, was excellent. Super, large room, impeccably clean and a casino area with decidedly more taste than most of the others we visited. Terrific swimming pool(s) and no problem getting (free) sun loungers. Staff throughout were excellent, particularly a lovely waitress, Yolanda, who kept me well supplied with free drinks whilst said wife gambled away. Restaurants were expensive so did not try them – not a problem given the thousands of alternatives close by.

Room Tip: Book late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordeauxbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Bordeauxbleu,

Thank you staying with us and leaving us a review. We strive to delight our Guests with our service and I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us.It is wonderful to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable! Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! Myexperience@troplv.com – Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pros- Moderately priced, near MGM,NYNY and Excalibur/Luxor, clean, remodeled

Cons - small casino, some of front desk staff quite indifferent, heating/cooling issues in certain rooms, pool closed as of last week (just when we arrived!),

When I travel I typically like to keep my room cool as it makes sleeping at night easier! If you are like me do not book a pool view bungalow with balconey if you stay here in the fall or winter. They did not remodel the heating system from the 50's when they re-decorated the rooms (which were nice). So the heating/cooling works like builidngs that are old work. Once they turn on the A/C for the summer you cannot get heat, and once they turn off the A/C in the fall (which is what happened to us last week!) you cannot cool your room (except to leave the balconey door open!). To their credit they did reduce the price for our room when we complained about not being able to control the temperature (but only for 3 of the 6 nights even though it was supposed to be for all 6 - didn't have time to argue when we checked out as we had to get to the airport!)

When we arrived at 11am the bellman told us to go to the desk and we could probably check in even if the room was not ready and then someone could text us when it was. NOT. We were told to come back at 3pm and when we did the wait wasn't terrible since I am a Hilton Honors member, and we had to pull out our printed reservation to get the room we had paid more for (pool view bungalow-non-smoking) as the woman wanted to put us into any king-size non-smoking room. Finally we were told that the bungalow room still wasn't ready and to come back in a hour. We relayed that we had a 7pm show and needed to get ready and also get dinner before the show and were told they would put a rush on the room. So at 4pm we returned (thankfully to a different person) who said the room still was not ready, but she moved us to another bungalow and we were able to get to the room. The delivery of the luggage took another 1 1/2 hours so all-in-all the check in experience was not pleasant. While we were trying to get the luggage we had to eat in the only restaurant open at that time which was the Beach Cafe - the ($18) Caesar salad with shrimp was pathetic. $8 extra for the shrimp got you 3 shrimp on a pile of lettuce, no croutons and a dusting of parmesan cheese, worst Caesar salad we have ever had!

Other than that, they also decided to close the pool last week (we looked around and saw no other property had closed their pool during the 78-80 degree daily temperature week).

Overall, not a great experience and next time we will probably stay somewhere else

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidworth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear davidworth59,

We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not have en enjoyable stay with us, the lack of exceptional service you received during your time with us is not our standard and I apologize that is what you experienced. Please know that your satisfaction is our number one priority and we will definitely look into matters you expressed and follow up with management. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me. We would love the chance to have you visit again! Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#40 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,260 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing