We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #98 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We like staying at different hotels so we decided to stay at the "New Tropicana" Would I stay there again? Probably not. We chose the hotel because we were selling a car at the car auction being held there. We tried to check in a bit early and was treated poorly by the Front Desk Employee. . The attendant was rude and told us to come back and wait in line starting at 2 pm. He very easily could have been polite, given us a map of the hotel// casino and made the first impression pleasant. My wife got in line at 1:45 to only find the line 25 parties deep.
We had a room in the Paradise Tower. The room was adequate. The french fry that was left over from the previous inhabitants was still in the corner of the hallway by our door opening after a 3 night stay. The Casino was a bit small and I was not impressed with the decor, very white and sterile. The pool area was decent and we enjoyed the grass area to set up camp and get some sun. After the auction we tried to have dinner at their Steakhouse. We ordered 2 drinks and started looking over the menu. We left after 15 minutes when our drinks never did arrive. We decided to try the Italian restaurant next door. The wait person was fabulous and knew the menu well. We received our free glass of wine since we signed up for their players card. The food was decent except the vegetables tasted like pesticide, much as the lettuce did from the buffet from the previous day. I would be careful in ordering fresh fruit or vegetables as I believe their supplier is questionable. The dealers in the Casino were creepy. If they were not busy they would wave to you and try and start a conversation. The slot machines are tight and not a lot of winning, no wonder they give your first $100 lost back on their players card. The workout room was a joke, to small to do much there and very crowded. There are a lot of choices in Vegas, you can do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Buffet in the beach cafe was decent for $20 a head. Funny thing it wasn't even on the menu and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sea1jmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear sea1jmc,

We appreciate the valuable feedback your provided us, We strive to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and memorable and are terribly sorry for lack of exceptional customer service you received and sorry to hear you were not pleased with the food. I have forwarded this feedback to the necessary departments so we can strive to always provide exceptional service. If you would like to provide us with your stay details I would be more than happy to come to a resolution for the issues you experienced. Please contact me at Myexperience@Troplv.com – Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,079
    4,153
    2,121
    804
    506
See reviews for
1,937
4,677
601
1,654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We were 20 people and this is an average of all the comments.
Not a 4 star hotel. Perhaps 3.6 or 3.7 you can base this rating if you compare to other five star hotels.
Negative
The pool and hot tub which is the best in Las Vegas were not working in fact the pool in the pictures were not operating at all ( blue chairs)
The rooms were best described as March break hotels, well used and worn. Our rug had five stains. The other 20 people all agreed the rooms were well used. The sliding door to the closet was broken,
On two of the five days we had no hot water for showers.
So what is all the talk about recently renovated????? Out of ten rooms all over the resort, none were renovated
Everyone paid a resort fee except us and I am not sure if that's because we booked with air Canada.
The good
Friendly and courteous staff, the Italian restaurant was well worth it for value, they even split two meals into three at our request.
Beer at the pool was $6 as compared to other hotels I heard was over $20
My recommendation
If you like a smaller hotel that is well used and just to sleep, then it is fine, if you are looking for a four star resort, it does not pass the grade.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tropicana for 3 nights and were given a room in the bungalows, we had a lovely little balcony that over looked the pool area.
I would definitely recommend the Beach Cafe, the food was 5*, the best we had in Vegas, I wish we had more time to try the other restaurants.
The Hotel is a short taxi drive away from the airport and located at the end of the strip opposite the MGM. Although it was nice to be in a quieter part of the strip I might recommend staying a bit closer to everything, especially if you haven't been before and intend to explore and visit the majority of the hotels.
Had a great time, I would definitely recommend the Tropicana.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe-Tigerlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Phoebe-Tigerlili,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback! If you are ever in our area again please feel free to reach out to us at Myexperience@Troplv.com and we will be more than happy to assist! - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Tropicana only because I was attending a conference that was being held there. The Trop is a very ordinary hotel in a city with very extraordinary hotels! If this hotel was dropped in the middle of Iowa or Nebraska it would be fantastic. On the Vegas Strip it just seemed sad and run down. My room was on the ground floor (I can't remember the last time I stayed on the ground floor of a hotel) in the "Bungalows" with a beautiful view of the back parking lot and dumpster. My first night was delivery night and I heard large trucks all night long idling in the delivery area.

The hallway entering into the hotel from the casino had an odd smell somewhere between medicinal and chemical. Pretty unpleasant. I had to ram my door open and slam shut because it was sticking. The room itself was clean but the bathroom was very cramped with poor lighting. Oh yeah....nothing says classy like the tp roll being on the back of the toilet! Yep...no tp holder.
I walked out of the Beach Cafe twice because I was being ignored even though it was not crowded.

All in all a very disappointing experince. The only good thing about it was that I was on my employer's dime and not mine. I would have been much more disappointed if I was there on vacation and not work.

Room Tip: If you are in the "Bungalows" make sure you ask for poolside and not dumpster side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol1961_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Carol1961_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your less than pleasant experience with us. We apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations and invite you to contact us to discuss your experience in more detail. We would love the opportunity to invite you back and make it right! If you would like to reach out to us please contact Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our first visit to Las Vegas we stayed at the Tropicana in the Club Tower.

The Hotel looks great outside and inside, nice bright Casino, excellent restaurants and comfortable well designed rooms.

The pool area is also lively with a good atmosphere.

We found all staff to be very friendly and have no bad things to say.

Great place to stay on the strip, linked to the MGM via walkway which will then take you up the Strip and another walkway across to New York New York, Excalibur, Luxor and Mandalay Bay.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel, you can get the Deuce (stops quite frequently) gives good access to hotels further up the strip, ends at the Freemont area which is worth checking out. The SDS also runs up and down the strip to the outlet centres. A 24 hour pass was $8pp.

Taxis also readily available which are very convenient.

The Trop Plus card is a nice touch and worth getting, also get discounts of future stays which we hope to do. (hope this offer does not change)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMB2014Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear cmburns27,

Thank you for providing this excellent feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are ever in our area again please contact us directly so we can assist you with reservations.
Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time to Vegas & we spent four days, three nights at the newly rennovated Trop Hotel Casino. The room view was amazing, we could see all of the strip and pool area. The casino is nice, and we particularly enjoyed the swim pool area, bars and tv's with couches right there to watch Sunday Football!!!! We LOVED the Chillin Bar - The Manager and Bartenders greeted us every night! Being only 5 minutes from the airport the hotel is centrally located on one of the busiest intersections in Las Vegas and right across from MGM!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

it took hours for the maids to get our room ready yesterday. they still have not come today...it is after 3 pm. everything is extra. the pools are stone cold..also hot tub...freezing. heaters are not working. noise is unbearable in our 14 th floor room and also at the pool. no refrigerator in room. pillow is rock hard and hurts my neck. they left cards saying we can opt to be green and not have bed made with clean sheets or have new towels. really. where would the rate reduction come in??

the hotel food is expensive compared to other hotels here.

so far, not a good time...and we are here for another 5 days.

Room Tip: our room very noisy. not sur if they have quiet rooms. also the smoke is terrible here. all thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Deborah B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that thus far during your trip you have been unsatisfied. We always want to do everything that we can to make sure that the needs of our guests are being met. Please reach out to me directly so we can improve this stay. Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,245 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,578 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,685 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#79 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing