We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms. Great pool. Not great staff. Limited food options.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #97 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 861 helpful votes
“Nice rooms. Great pool. Not great staff. Limited food options.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in refurbished bungalow room. Nice, clean, views over pool and a balcony. Pool just about enough beds for everyone and decent sized pool. Comfy beds by pool and in room. Not a great variety on food especially on snacky style food. Resort fee offers pretty much nothing except a cookie and the ability to print a boarding pass. Wifi I found didn't work. Staff were not polite in the casino or by the pool. Gift shop staff should give others customer service lessons. Good one to go to in summer because of the decent pool and nice location. Thought staff were friendlier before becoming part of Hilton. Nice but could be better with a little effort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,018
    4,070
    2,066
    783
    491
See reviews for
1,893
4,577
590
1,623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed six nights in a Deluxe suite on a part pay part points basis (HH Gold). Initial problems with toilet and air conditioning resulted in resort fee being waived and $100 restaurant credit. This said the Hotel is a typical 3-4star package holiday hotel that attracts Hen parties and such because of the low rates. The Casino is quite pleasant compared with other Hotels with the cigarette smoke being disguised by the essence filtered in. However the number of people who were in the swimming pool smoking and drinking had a detrimental effect on the Hotels image. The suite was ok but not luxurious with fridge and coffee machine. Although we were at the end of the corridor the noise from late night revellers (3.30am) next door disturbed us. You could be excused for not-knowing this Hotel was part of the Hilton brand as apart from special check-in for Platinum and Diamond HH members no other Hilton branding is obvious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room in the bungalow section is great if you want to get in and out quickly and get to the pool, the casino, and food. There is no view while you are in the room, but the location made up for it. The club tower was MUCH furtther away from everything.

But the pool hours are ridiculous for summer in Las Vegas. Vegas is a popular conference location, but the pools are all 9 to 7. How about some more evening hours for the working stiff? It is 98 degrees at midnight, and a dip in the pool would be awesome. Or even at least until sundown at 9 PM. In any other town the hotel pools are open until 9 or 10 PM.

The hotel charges a $20 resort fee for pool use, but then makes these ridiculous hours. Unbelievable. It would have been cheaper to pay the Hilton Honors fee to use the pool as a non-guest.

Room Tip: Bungalows are close to the entrances and pool. So if you don't want to walk 10-15 minutes to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htwo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Tropicana before the remodel, and to walk into "New Tropicana" was impressive. The atmosphere was very modern and bright compared to what it was. All of the employees were very pleasant and attentive. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in looking for an affordable place to stay with not too many tourists lurking through the main floor. The casino floor isn't as big as the other hotels, but then again you don't have to deal with all the traffic as well. When you order a drink it is brought to you in a timely fashion (thanks Cookie & Amy!), opposed to waiting 10 minutes or more. The dealers were fun and easy to talk to which also added to the enjoyment of gambling, even if they did take some of my money.

The casino is located at the end of the strip, but some of the bigger hotels are across the walk way with easy access.

I also went to the Laugh Factory located in the Tropicana which turned out to be a great show with 3 different comic performances. They also have live entertainment in the lounge if you're looking for a great place to people watch and/or dance.

I had breakfast at the cafe in the resort. It wasn't my best experience or favorite, but the quality of the food was good. The service there wasn't the best, I think the servers were confused about who got our table, but the food runners and the manager took care of that.

Overall, I would highly recommend the New Tropicana as a great place to stay and I am more than likely to stay again if I ever get back to Vegas!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at the Tropicana 7/17 through 7/19/2013 and was pleasantly surprised at the upgrade of the property since my last visit a few years ago. The south beach theme is well done. What's best is the rooms have been recently refurbished. I had a tower room facing the Strip and it was very quiet and spacious. Also, the GM welcomed me personally. Breakfast buffet was excellent and probably by Las Vegas standards a good value. The casino itself is smaller than the modern mega-complexes elsewhere on the Strip. I would recommend this hotel based on this experience.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor in the tower closest to the Strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The service staff was very friendly and the newly remodeled hotel had a fresh and clean feel (the bed was amazing!). Unfortunately, what I remember most about the stay was the nickle and dime approach to getting more money out of guests. The hotel charges almost $20/24hrs for internet. Also, there was not a coffee maker in the room, forcing me to visit one of the many Starbucks locations to pay for overpriced coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room. The resort fee includes In room WiFi, Fitness Center Access, drink specials at the Tropicana Lounge from 5pm-8pm, 2 comp. bottles of water per stay, free local and Toll-free calls, and Boarding Pass printing.We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.
Adam Abundis | myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good value hotel on the strip. Only problem was it took over an hour to reach the check in desk. Only 2 receptionists on duty. in fairness they did give out free water to the hundred or so waiting in line.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonMathersCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#99 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#76 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,351 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing