We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Renovations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #95 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice Renovations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel looks very nice now... All new interior and paint, etc... The Casino furniture (tables, chairs, bars) looks all new too.

Do not forget about the $20 "Resort Fee", so stupid... Most hotels are now applying this after the room has been booked. So when you get a rate of $100, it's really costing you $120. They tell you the Fee goes towards all kinds of stuff, but when you read the fine print, everything it "entitles" you to is worthless (except free-wifi).

I like the location, because it's near MGM Grand, Mandalay and NY-NY.

Room Tip: Just ask to be as close to the casino as you can. Otherwise you will be placed SUPER FAR away, we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,964
    4,001
    2,012
    761
    465
See reviews for
1,858
4,496
580
1,575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Whiteriver, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is our first time at this property we do not frequent Vegas but this is a great place to stay very warm and inviting not over glitzy like many places. The check in was easy as I am a Hilton honors member. We were upgraded to a mini suite. If we come back would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feliznavidad4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the Tropicana as a participant of a conference in July 2013. I have stayed in many hotels in Las Vegas and this hotel is nice but there were several things that I found annoying. I stayed in the Club Tower (quite a distance from the casino - annoying) and was assigned to the 10th floor. I requested a higher floor and was accommodated to the 17th floor. I was staying alone so I requested a room with a King bed, which faced the desert/airport. I have had the Strip view in the past so it was no big deal not having this view. I later moved to a room with two queen beds across the hall (a friend joined me for a weekend visit) and of the two rooms, this was bigger. The room change was very easy and for that I am grateful! Both rooms were comfortable except the carpet in the King room was soiled. The rooms do not have a coffee maker (annoying) and the water was never hot in the mornings (annoying). I like hot water for shaving! On the weekends at about 11:30 am the hotel pool area starts playing music (really annoying!) that can be heard on the 17th floor. If you are exhausted from the previous day don't plan on any sleep/rest between 11:00 am to 7 pm the music is loud enough to wake the dead. I did like the casino although I was up and down during the entire stay and finally down. They have some of the latest slot machines and there is an intimacy you don't find at some of the bigger casinos. The waitresses were abundant and I was repeatedly asked if I would like a drink. I typically always have a car rental when I travel and I had no problem parking (the Tropicana Ave outside parking is much closer than the garage parking off Las Vegas Blvd.). This is typically not a problem and maybe I am being a little snotty with this comment... but I found the lack of live plants very annoying. I hate plastic plants and they are in abundance at the Tropicana. I only ate at the Beach Cafe and the food was okay. Overall I would visit the casino again but I have stayed at better hotels in Vegas where I was not annoyed. I would only stay there again if I had a great rate - for the money I paid to stay at the Tropicana during this stay I should not have been annoyed as I was...

Room Tip: You might escape the pool music if you stay in a King room in the Club Tower. King rooms have a dese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Absurdly long wait to check in, up to a hour. However, Hilton honors guests have a separate line. Also, tour group guides can do a fast group check in. Hey management, hire more front desk clerks to check people in! Room was spacious, very clean. No free WiFi, except in the lobby, unless you pay their idiotic resort fee. However, the free lobby WiFi was exceptionally fast. Had loud drunks in hallway late at night, but security put a fast stop to that. We were short towels in the room, but housekeeping delivered more to our room within minutes of our phone request. Very courteous housekeepers. We found it interesting that people were gambling and drinking at 7 A.M. in the morning down in the casino. Great location, right on the strip! Lots of action. The hotel has a food court with reasonable prices, or you can eat at the restaurant where the food was great and had reasonable prices. Door man was courteous and quickly called a taxi for us and did not have his hand out for a tip. Ride to airport costs $10 and takes about ten minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I believe this hotel is the best value on the strip. Very close to walkways and tram at MGM. Rooms renovated and clean. Plenty of elevators. Only bad thing, be prepared to walk a lot if staying in club tower. Pool was nice, lots of chairs and room to spread out. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We did a priceline bid on this room, and it just happened to be super close to the Intl airport as well. We were upgraded to a room with a view, didn't have to ask, they offered. King Size bed. There is a resort fee of approx. $20 per room, but still a great deal. We enjoyed the pool, had lots of room (compared to other Vegas hotels we'd stayed at). Rooms were older, but still nice, very clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed during the 4th of July weekend for a friend's wedding. And I had issue, after issue. Starting with a room that smelled like it hadn't been cleaned since the Reagan years, a broken AC, yes in the 100+ temps, I was placed in a room without properly working AC and last but not least carpet beetle on my beds. The only saving grace of the place is the Spa, which is managed separately, they are AMAZING:-) Worth every penny, wish I could say the same about the hotel. I wasn't planning on writing a review, but after trying to get in contact with management while there and after, I felt this is clearly the only way to address and get a response on poor service, poor quality and the WORST customer issue follow-up ever. To their credit when I called after getting home I was told my resort fee was refunded (still waiting for check). Either way, for me a resort refund is welcomed, but it merely swipes the issue under the rug without addressing the much bigger issues. So, if your lucky and you have no issues thank God , enjoy your trip. However, if you're one of the unlucky ones, such as myself, AC, miss appointments because check-in took an hour+, get issued a smelly room, and have carpet bugs, good luck trying to get management to truly care or take ownership of the problem. If you care about good customer service and follow-up, I recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim99518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are sorry we did not provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues in your room and we are working with our Engineering and Housekeeping Team to ensure this situation does not happen again. Please feel free to reach out to me so we can make amends for your past stay.
Adam Abundis
myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,165 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,103 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing