We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel With Few Negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #98 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel With Few Negatives”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Absurdly long wait to check in, up to a hour. However, Hilton honors guests have a separate line. Also, tour group guides can do a fast group check in. Hey management, hire more front desk clerks to check people in! Room was spacious, very clean. No free WiFi, except in the lobby, unless you pay their idiotic resort fee. However, the free lobby WiFi was exceptionally fast. Had loud drunks in hallway late at night, but security put a fast stop to that. We were short towels in the room, but housekeeping delivered more to our room within minutes of our phone request. Very courteous housekeepers. We found it interesting that people were gambling and drinking at 7 A.M. in the morning down in the casino. Great location, right on the strip! Lots of action. The hotel has a food court with reasonable prices, or you can eat at the restaurant where the food was great and had reasonable prices. Door man was courteous and quickly called a taxi for us and did not have his hand out for a tip. Ride to airport costs $10 and takes about ten minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,043
    4,126
    2,097
    797
    498
See reviews for
1,916
4,638
595
1,636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I believe this hotel is the best value on the strip. Very close to walkways and tram at MGM. Rooms renovated and clean. Plenty of elevators. Only bad thing, be prepared to walk a lot if staying in club tower. Pool was nice, lots of chairs and room to spread out. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We did a priceline bid on this room, and it just happened to be super close to the Intl airport as well. We were upgraded to a room with a view, didn't have to ask, they offered. King Size bed. There is a resort fee of approx. $20 per room, but still a great deal. We enjoyed the pool, had lots of room (compared to other Vegas hotels we'd stayed at). Rooms were older, but still nice, very clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed during the 4th of July weekend for a friend's wedding. And I had issue, after issue. Starting with a room that smelled like it hadn't been cleaned since the Reagan years, a broken AC, yes in the 100+ temps, I was placed in a room without properly working AC and last but not least carpet beetle on my beds. The only saving grace of the place is the Spa, which is managed separately, they are AMAZING:-) Worth every penny, wish I could say the same about the hotel. I wasn't planning on writing a review, but after trying to get in contact with management while there and after, I felt this is clearly the only way to address and get a response on poor service, poor quality and the WORST customer issue follow-up ever. To their credit when I called after getting home I was told my resort fee was refunded (still waiting for check). Either way, for me a resort refund is welcomed, but it merely swipes the issue under the rug without addressing the much bigger issues. So, if your lucky and you have no issues thank God , enjoy your trip. However, if you're one of the unlucky ones, such as myself, AC, miss appointments because check-in took an hour+, get issued a smelly room, and have carpet bugs, good luck trying to get management to truly care or take ownership of the problem. If you care about good customer service and follow-up, I recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim99518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are sorry we did not provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues in your room and we are working with our Engineering and Housekeeping Team to ensure this situation does not happen again. Please feel free to reach out to me so we can make amends for your past stay.
Adam Abundis
myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arrived before a conference and needed a one night Sat. This was close to were I needed to be the next day and it was just added to the Hilton program. Never saw the "old Tropicana" This property was freshly painted. having said that the rooms were nicely renovated except the bathroom. The shower tiles and pluming fixtures not updated or addressed. It was like they ran out of money for the project. It's a shame as the rest of the room was so lovely.

Parking as a hotel guest. not good and the valet doesn't have much of an advantage. I was staying in the towers in the back of the hotel, past the pools. I had to come all the way to the front of the hotel, exit then walk around to the back of the hotel to the available lot. Not sure there is any way to fix this. If there was a way out there was no signage marking it. Only two public entrances which I could find.

Over the years there have been so many additions to add revenue sources but they really kept piling on more problems. Prime example the funky cut up of the existing pool area for the "Pool Club -Spa" such a big eye sore mess and yet it was area empty.....

Over all the staff was friendly the food outlets for dinner were ample and priced well. Would I stay again? Knowing what the animal is...Maybe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tropicana is my first choice hotel in Vegas because it is clean, it has wifi, a safe deposit box in room and a gym. However on this occasion I was disappointed. We checked in for one night in June, must say room was usual standard of clean and comfy. Check out the following morning took ages. I was front of the queue for 20 mins without moving - they had one person dealing with check outs.

We checked back in for 3 nights on 4th July and it took an hour. Now I appreciate it is a holiday, but then surely the hotel knew that too. There was a gentleman walking round with water and when we got to the front he said he would get our resort fee waived due to the wait, however when we checked in we were advised that if we didn't pay the resort fee ($19.99 per night) then we would have to pay to use the gym as it was a different company (gym $25 per visit), so not quite cost effective.

Got to the room and safe was completely dead. Called maintenance and a guy arrived within 15 mins. He confirmed it was not working and that we needed the locksmith - but he didn't know where he was or when he would be available - a hotel this size only has one locksmith!! We called downstairs and spoke to a guy who said he was the manager (reservations manager maybe?) who said the same thing about the locksmith - nobody bothered to call him to find out when he would be working though! We asked to change rooms but were told they were full, which I understand on 4th July, but there were people still waiting to check in so we could have swapped our rooms with someone still waiting to check in. We were told rooms were allocated already, which I don't believe as I have asked for a particular tower before and got it.

We were told we could leave valuables at the front desk but only small items and not our laptop, so had to carry everything out with us for the evening. What disappointed us most was the manager's attitude, he was condescending and unhelpful, which is not what we expect from this hotel. It also seems that as we booked through a 3rd party we were treated differently to guests who booked directly with the hotel (I have to add booking via 3rd party is always cheaper than booking direct). The hotel did manage to move us the next day but only when we followed it up - this was just hassle as we had to do it between 1pm and 3pm so had to stay around the hotel. I did email Social@troplv.com as requested after I tweeted about the hotel but did not even get a reply.

Check out again took 20 minutes with only a few people in the queue. Due to the trouble we had, we were allowed a late check out at 2pm, this meant we could not express check out - therefore we decided to check out well in advance of 2pm to allow for slow check out and avoid being late for the airport.

In future, we will certainly consider other hotels as the Tropicana is not my automatic first choice now.

Room Tip: The Paradise tower is at the front so not too far to walk, but the lifts take ages. The Club tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed her July 8-12, 2013. Everything was excellent....staff, rooms, pool, etc. We originally booked the King Bungalows with balcony and reserved pool seats($55 per night + resort fee) and were upgraded to a pool view upon check in at no additional cost. Rooms and casino were very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again. Location is also excellent. Many places within walking distance. Also within walking distance of monorails on both sides of strip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yenko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,091 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,564 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#50 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing