We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #100 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My mom and I stayed here on our mother/daughter 5 day, 4 night Vegas vacation. The hotel is probably one of the smallest on the strip but it was perfect for us. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, it and the bathroom were bigger than we thought it would be. It was very clean. We requested a fridge for the room and it took them a while to bring it up, which was a little annoying. When it did arrive it was an old looking thing but it did the job. We hit the pool three or four of the days we were there and it was beautiful. We had gorgeous weather with temperatures in the 80's. We also ate at the Beach Cafe twice, for breakfast and lunch and it was quite good. Walter at the concierge desk was quite helpful and set us up with a two day pass for Open Top bus tour. He also recommended we try Coco's for breakfast, a 24-hour diner down the road past Hooters, about a 5 minute walk. The food was cheap and tasty! We saved a lot of money on cabs by doing the hop-on, hop-off bus tour and got to see a lot of Vegas, including Fremont St and also the North Premium outlet, which was great shopping! The tour guides were all very fun and knowledgeable about Vegas. We had dinner in the hotel at Bacio on our last night and the food and service were fabulous!

The thing we liked most was that we could easily get in and out of the hotel without having to walk miles liked in some of the huge hotels like the MGM. It had everything we needed and is in a great location to see a lot of sights!

Room Tip: We were in a non-smoking room on the 6th floor with two Queen beds. It looked out over the Excalibur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,043
    4,118
    2,093
    795
    497
See reviews for
1,915
4,629
594
1,633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you like Casino Hopping(which I do), then the Trop is an excellent choice. You are a short Bridgewalk away from the MGM Grand, NY,NY and Excalibur. There is aslso a free tram service from the Excalibur to the Luxor and Mandalay Bay which leaves every five minutes. Also, Hooters is a short walk across the parking lot.The room was roomy and nice but quite a hike to and from the Casino. Would recommend the Paradise Tower. The large TV's and electronic information in the Race and Sports book were state of the art. That said, the individual tv's were difficult to operate and not user friendly. Also, the cocktail service was poor or non-existent. When a Server did show up you had to provide a voucher from the Race Supervisor. In short,they made it very difficult to get a complimentary drink.

Room Tip: Club Tower rooms facing the pool are noisy from the music emanating from pool speakers & Bagatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Terry J,
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We would also like to apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our Maintenance Team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement. Adam Abundis | myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hospitality of the staff was unbelievable! The location of the hotel gave easy access to the Strip and away from the strip so having that flexibility was great. The rooms were spacious, clean, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank bjohnson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed May 5-7 at the Tropicana. Cleanliness and customer service were consistently disappointing and did not live up to our expectations for a Hilton/Doubletree property. Our experience was highly unsatisfactory in the following ways:

Check-in: Saturday evening at 9:20 pm there were only 2 agents at the front desk. 2 parties were ahead of us. We waited 35 minutes to be helped. HHonors guests who arrived with us waited over 40. Our check-in agent, Lynn, informed us that there were no non-smoking king rooms available and we would need to take a smoking room with 2 doubles and be moved the following day. My husband has indoor allergies and I have asthma. We had specifically requested a non smoking room at the time of booking. We refused 3 times to take possession of the smoking room. Lynn then offered to speak with housekeeping and we were given room 1258, which was a vacant king non-smoking room. We were treated as though we had been demanding and unreasonable during the rest of the check in process.

Room 1258: Clean and acceptable in all regards. However, we were awakened from a nap around 2 pm the following day by LaShonda Haley, the assistant manager of housekeeping. She informed us that construction would be commencing on floor 12 and instructed us to call the front desk to transfer to a new room away from renovations. We re-packed all of our things for the first of 3 times during our stay.

Room transfer: Called front desk and were on hold for 8 minutes. Were assigned room 1662. We offered to come get the new key but were told the bell hop would bring it right up. 30 minutes later, no key. Again, we phoned the desk and waited on hold for 5 minutes. Were told the key would be right up. Waited 15 more minutes. My husband finally went down to the bell hop, where the key was sitting on the counter, and picked it up as he had originally offered to do. No help was offered with transporting our bags.

Room 1662: The filthiest room we have encountered in a 4-star property. Counted 15 head and pubic hairs in bathroom (in tub, on floor, on counter). Sticky ring left on bathroom counter from a glass, as well as eyeshadow residue. Mirror doors to closet had handprints and spots. Peeled back bed sheets to find 10-15 loose crumbs and 2 addtl hairs in bed, as well as 4 small rips in sheets. Room appeared to be unvacuumed, with twist ties, crumbs, clothing tag, and a piece of plastic tubing on the floor. Chair was covered in loose crumbs. We phoned the front desk a total of 3 times and waited over 30 minutes for LaShonda and our maid to be sent up to the room. LaShonda documented our complaints on her tablet. Our maid was very hostile, raising her voice and asking "what's wrong?" repeatedly. When I pointed out the dirty carpet, she stated, "I could not vacuum." We were really disgusted that an unvacuumed room would be offered to a guest, but LaShonda assured us the room would be re-cleaned within 90 minutes. She was not overly friendly and did not apologize for the inconvenience; however, she was professional and gave us her business card in case we had further issues. We went to Chill'M for drinks while we waited, and the bar staff was very friendly, which made the situation somewhat tolerable.

"Re-cleaning" of our room: We returned to 1662 after approximately 2 hours. Upon arrival, we discovered that the bathroom was still full of hair, the same waste items were still on the carpet, crumbs were still on the chair, and our bed had been halfway made, with sheets completely disheveled and untucked (they were, however, clean). Ive never seen a bed made like this before, not even at home. We phoned LaShonda and were placed on hold for several minutes. She was not available. Another assistant manager (the one employee with a basic understanding of customer service that we encountered in this hotel) arrived at the room in 5 minutes with a different maid. We walked him through the room step by step and he seemed to be in disbelief, especially with regard to the messy bed. He called down to the front desk and had a $40 food and beverage credit placed on our account. He was also very apologetic. The new maid picked up a pillow to start stripping the bed, smelled it, grimaced, and said she would be replacing all of the pillows as well for us. We left her a tip and again headed downstairs for roughly an hour. Upon our return, the room was cleaned appropriately.

Construction: After spending 4 hours of our night in 1662 dealing with housekeeping, we were awakened the following morning at 10 AM by what sounded like a drill directly above our heads. We were confused, as we had been told we were relocated to 1662 to prevent this situation from occurring. We phoned the front desk and waited on hold for roughly 8 minutes. When we asked why there was drilling above our heads after our forced relocation, the front desk employee asked us to hold for the manager. The manager was not apologetic. She stated that regardless of the reason we were given for moving, there was currently construction on floors 12, 17, 19, and 20. She acknowledged that she could hear the drilling through the phone due to how loud it was. She told us to come down at 1:30 to get a new room in the Paradise tower. The drilling continued until that time. She offered to comp our resort fees due to the inconvenience, which was appreciated, but didn't really make up for the hours of our time that Trop had already wasted.

Transferring rooms (again): When we came to the desk, we were assisted by RJ. He offered us room 311 in the Paradise tower. When I clarified with him that there would be no construction, he stated that "All the construction is on the higher floors. The higher you go, the worse off you are." Gee, then why did Trop insist on moving us from 1258 to 1662 in the first place? We wanted some extra time to eat lunch before packing all of our belongings AGAIN, but RJ informed us the hotel was full and we would have to move immediately. He did ask if we needed help with our bags. When we asked about the credits to our account, his attitude suggested that we were being unreasonable or "scamming" the system. At this point, we were so tired of expressing our frustrations and getting a blank response that we agreed to postpone our lunch and go move our things.

Room 311: Passably clean. Room size and decor were both a slight upgrade. Green, pink, and brown mold on light fixture above toilet. Air conditioner was noisy and we had a view of rooftop ventilation units. Our room also had a door to the adjoining room (313) which was occupied by a family with a very boisterous and vocal toddler. We were awakened at 6:21 AM on our last morning here by the toddler screaming. The soundproofing was so bad that we heard every detail of this family's conversations, down to their discussion of which burger joint to visit.

Check-out: Called front desk and waited on hold for 12 minutes, hung up, redialed, and waited 2 more. Asked for late check-out to catch some rest once our neighbors left, but were told we absolutely had to be out by 12. Wait to check out was under 5 minutes, which was the quickest service we received on this trip. Check out agent asked my husband how our stay was, and he told her it "could have been better." Her response was, "Oh, it was the construction." Not even a question, a statement. If the staff is aware that the renovation noise is ruining visits for guests, is it not possible to conduct renovations floor by floor and to place guests away from where the activity is taking place? When my husband mentioned the other aspects that made our stay unpleasant, she took down our room number but did not apologize, thank us for staying, or promise any type of follow-up.

This was our first time in Las Vegas. It was also our first trip as a married couple since our wedding and a celebration of us both getting our Master's degrees and dream jobs. We loved the SoBe vibe of the Tropicana and hoped to find a "home" for our return visit this August. A hotel that begrudgingly comps a $20/day resort fee and gives us a $40 beverage credit after wasting ~9 hours of our vacation on packing/relocating/construction/waiting isn't up to par. If this were another property, I would expect management to reach out to me after reading this review, but I won't be holding my breath. The good news is, we received extremely friendly, organized customer service with a "can-do" attitude absolutely everywhere besides the Tropicana, so at least our vacation was still a positive experience overall. We will continue to frequent other Hilton and Doubletree properties but unless I could be sure that I'd be taken better care of, I wouldn't choose Tropicana again (and I doubt my husband would, either).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank thegoodluckclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our Housekeeping Team and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. I would greatly appreciate if you would contact me directly at your convenience. We would really like the opportunity to show you that guest happiness is our number one priority. Adam Abundis | myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brnpoodle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a few days at the new Tropicana, which has been taken over by Hilton's Doubletree. The hotel, while still being remodeled was terrific. The room we were assigned was a fantastic 2 room suite with a great view of the mountains. We ate at two of the hotels restaurants, Bacio, which is an excellent italian restaurant and the breakfast buffet. We loved both and would highly recommend.
When the hotel is completely redone, it will be a great additional to the the Doubletree chain, but it is well worth a visit now. This will be one of our stopping points in Las Vegas from now on.

Room Tip: Be friendly, the check in desk will respond in kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brnpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I paid the full amount of room charges one month ago through a hotel booking website, but when I arrived there about 7 to 8 pm at that day, I was asked to relocate because the rooms are overbooked. That's really a ridiculous reason and without any apologize.
Finally I have to relocated and actually it's definitely downgraded to an old and poor hotel.
That's really a terrible experience in Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Never recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Liang L,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially about areas where we can do better. We are very sorry that you were relocated. I have forwarded your comments to our Front Desk Team and the Reservation Team so we can prevent this situation from happening again. Once again, we’re sorry for the inconvenience and hope that the next time you travel to the area you’ll stay with us again. Adam Abundis | myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Cant comment too much on what facilities where on offer, I found the rooms to be pleasant and fresh looking as was the lobby and surronding areas. Not a bad location as far south as your really want to be on the strip.Some good looking restaurants in and around the hotel. No issues with staying again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigybhoy985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,069 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#78 of 263 in Las Vegas
8,414 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#45 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,542 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing