We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Quiet, casino better for non-smoker” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #90 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, casino better for non-smoker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was my first real stay at Vegas. Recommend Tropicana Casino for non-smokers. Would stay there again. Everything was very clean. Could manage several hours on the slots, as long I avoided sitting near a smoker. Am sensitive to smoke and fragrances but was fine. They pump vanilla scent throughout to help mask and to go with the tropic look. Recent renovations give Tropicana a very light and airy feel compared to other casinos and hotels on the strip. Had room on 3rd floor of Club Tower, was fine and quiet, king bed with 42-inch TV. Had plenty of closet room, storage and seating space. Bed was comfy. Bathroom--showerhead placement was not for taller person. Am 5'9" and had to stoop or crouch as the showerhead was not removable. For taller person, shower jet would be coming sideways. Also, bathroom vent was odd--no switch for a fan. Windows had shutters and could be opened slightly if wanted to air out the room. Staff were attentive and polite the few times I interacted with anyone. Had a safe problem, was fixed within 5 minutes of my call.
Food--tried Biscayne's Steakhouse, filet mignon was excellent. Beach Cafe--not as good.
Location is at south end of the strip opposite the Excalibur. About 10-15 walk to middle of strip. If driving, 2 gas stations very nearby--one just to the south on the east side (opposite the Luxor) and the other to the east at next intersection on Tropicana Blvd. Monorail stop is across the street via MGM Grand. Taxi from airport cost me about $13-15, not including tip. Resort fee is $19.99 per night. Hi-speed wireless worked great for me while I was there. Just checked emails and some web surfing, wasn't streaming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vg-t-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,890
    3,879
    1,943
    717
    424
See reviews for
1,791
4,373
549
1,496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Got a great price (it's now a DoubleTree) decided to stay there on business (12 nights). No acknowledgment of being a Hilton Diamond at check in, room was in the club tower. Nice view from the room, bed was comfortable, maid service excellent, bathroom, hmmmmm holes and pits in the tile floor, mold and rust around the tub, stains on the formica counter top and ceiling. So the room gets a B the bathroom gets a D. Half way though my trip checked my bill and I was being charged 20+ for resort fee. Really, pools are not open (being remodeled) internet and workout for 20. Talked with the front desk and they said the fee is waived for Hilton Diamond. So he went in and checked and fixed my bill. Meanwhile someone else checking in next to me (hilton Honors) was given coupons for chocolate chop cookies (a DoubleTree tradition). Oh well. I guess they are a relatively new Hilton property and are still learning....
Last item: checked out and was asked can I email you a receipt, I said sure. DONE.... Here I am ten hours later no receipt, have to call them now because I need it for expense report. The devil is in the details..

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views (It's Vegas)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coloradowoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I felt like we should have arrived in a 57 chevy. This was a small casino by todays standards, but it has what you need. Plenty of slots and tables, the friendly staff, and the style will have us coming back next time we are in vegas. The only down side was the Beach Cafe. The food was overpriced and so bad we left 1/2 the "signature sandwich" - roasted pork and most of the sweet+sour chicken we ordered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50-and-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Myself and group of friends staying in the Tropicana in September 2012. Each room has two double beds and the rooms were large and clean. The facilities were top draw and the view we had allowed us to see New York New York and others. The staff were very friendly and the although the walk to the rooms from reception was sizeable (5 minutes), it was perfectly acceptable as the casino and other amenities was always captivating.

The casino has cheap blackjack and craps tables that were a welcome addition in addition to a fantastic sports betting room with jumbo screen and comfortable chairs.

The location on the strip was ideal and it was wonderfully close to Hooters, which served as a great base for comfort food when you are not in the mood to trudge around in the desert heat.

All in all, this superb value hotel offers everything you need for a stay in Vegas and on behalf of everyone in my group I can safely say we were disappointed to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out was an excellent stay. We were upgraded to a suite facing the strip, which was lovely. The main room was huge but well appointed.

Can think of no criticism of the room.

Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My sister and I won this trip to Las Vegas and The Tropicana. I have stayed at Paris, The Venetian and The Wynn which are further up the strip, much larger and more glamorous. This trip I did appreciate being in a quieter more subdued Hotel and Casino. Its smaller than most of the other hotel/casinos. Going back to the Tropicana was like "going home". The service from all of the staff was fantastic. It is a very bright and exceptionally clean Casino. There is a reasonable selection of tables ans slots. If you prefer your Casino darker, you might not like it. The beds were extremely comfortable. The only restaurant we ate in at The Tropicana was the Beach Cafe for breakfast and it was average. It was too cold for the pool (but it looked very nice) and we did not go to the spa. For the price and the service, I would have to say it is the best deal on the strip. We plan to go back to the Tropicana some day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is not pricey like some of the hotels on the strip. It's been renovated and it has a tropic feel to it. The rooms are huge, the beds comfortable and the staff are very helpful. The hotel is smaller than most and it doesn't take "forever" to get to a room elevator. I do recommend staying at the Tropicana the next time you go to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gconnors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#92 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#13 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Skylofts at MGM Grand
Skylofts at MGM Grand
#61 of 267 in Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#26 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
The Strip
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing