We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #96 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Ithaca NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good choice for a conference”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was an excellent hotel for a conference.
Rooms were very good for acoustics and seating. Frankly, the staff could not have been better. The wait staff at the food events were efficient and very, very personable. Management was always visible and lovely to deal with.
Biscayne Restaurant was really, really good and the Beach Cafe very convenient. At a group lunch, the chicken salad with fried plantains was just delicious!
Coming from a non smoking state, the smoke was hard to take. Certainly not the fault of the hotel but the entire area. I understand that.
But other than the smoke, an excellent setting.
Thank you, Tropicana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,102
    4,189
    2,148
    815
    511
See reviews for
1,958
4,721
606
1,669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Starke, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice property, was there for a business trip. With type of hotel thought would have been small fridge in the room or coffee/tea. There was neither. The hotel has been and is still under some renovations. Due to cost of room per night should have had some extra amenities. Cost of food and restaurants were over priced for what I thought Vegas would be. Casino area was nice and not overwhelming with people, was nice that it didn't have a smokey smell either in room or casino area.
If you are tall the shower heads are low, due to newer tubs installed.
We enjoined out trip.

Room Tip: Didn't use spa, but looked nice, we walked past it daily. There was no breakfast provided nor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I reserved my room January 4th for January 28th. They charged my card for one nights room rental and I reserved two rooms. One with two beds and one with only one bed. After a long flight we arrived at the hotel. At check in she asked if we wanted one bed or two, I explained I already reserved the one bed and the two bed. She then proceeded to tell me that is not how it works, it is on a first come first serve basis and they don't have ANY one beds available. She said we would be in the front tower because we were there with a convention and would be leaving from the front, but that she could put us in a one bed handicap in the far tower. OK, I went for the one bed because that is what we really wanted, she said the rooms were together. My room was on the first floor and the others were on the 8th floor, not really right together. When we got to our room the view was more than disappointing, looking out to the concrete and heat/air units. We were planning to be there 3 days and didn't want this for a view. Checked out the others room, view was great. I went back to the front and said we want to just move to the front tower, where you were going to put us first, and ill deal with the smaller--two beds. She said, no, the front would be a upcharge, so you cant be there without paying more. really?, she just told us at check in that is where she was putting us. Nope. So ok we will just deal with the walk. They put us on the 8th floor with the others. I told her that I was Hilton honors but didn't have my number. She said I could look it up and tell her at check out. Other times they have just looked my number up. Not helpful. The room was clean. TV was nice. Internet service good, and the IPOD dock was a nice touch. The shower, not so much. Tile was old and pink, and had mildew. The hot water was lacking....it would surge and burn you and back to cool, surge, and back to cool. Tried to use the safe. It didn't work. The heat was one vent with the themostat underneath it, on one side of the room with the windows. I had a hard time heating the room warm enough. I was however impressed with the housekeeping. I stayed in the room a lot, got out about midday to go to the convention for a bit and when I came back they had always been there and had things cleaned up. Not the worst place, but in my opinion just doesn't meet the Hilton qualities that we like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We make an annual trip to Las Vegas for the fun and excitement of Superbowl weekend - I guess I as a private person can still say "Superbowl", even if the hotels and bars have to say "Big Game"!

This year we stayed at the Tropicana, since it has just become part of the Hilton family (a Doubletree), and we do like getting our Hilton points...and our Doubletree cookies.

We had a nice room, a sort of two-room junior suite, that seemed as if it had been recently redone. The decor was attractive, sort of South Beach (Miami) style, and there were two big TV's, one in each room. These turned out to be really useful since my husband got sick and didn't feel up to watching the game amongst the crowds in the lounge or sports book as we usually do. So this year we watched in our room, and with the big TV's didn't feel like we missed much!

The only odd thing about the room was that there was only a shower. Although it was quite a nice shower, I'm a big fan of taking baths, and would have expected a big tub, or even a jacuzzi tub, in a junior suite. If this is important to you, call and ask before booking!

We did experience the sort of musty smell that a few other reviews have mentioned, but it was only right when we first came back to our room, and we would just open the windows for a bit and it would go away.

I very much like the location of the hotel, at the south end of the strip, with lots of entertainment available nearby. We went to the House of Blues one night, and up the street to Mon Ami Gabi another night, before my husband got sick. After he got sick we hung around the hotel more and ate one night at the Tropicana's Italian restaurant (Bacio). Although my husband was stuffed up and couldn't taste much, I found both the Caprese appetizer and the salmon special to be quite flavorful.

The only sort of downside to the hotel for us was the rudeness of the employees in the Sports Book. We were in and out of the Sports Book all weekend, and with one exception, found all of the Sports Book employees to be dismissive, or even downright rude. We are not huge gamblers, but we did make a number of bets, both on some basketball games, and (of course) on the Superbowl, even setting up one of their accounts to do it. Only once did we feel as if an employee was even professional to us, much less nice or polite. We do understand that Superbowl weekend is a big deal and busy time for them, and we weren't asking for anything special like seats during the game or anything - just for a bit of politeness. The Sports Book appears to be contracted out to another company called "Cantor", and they get a big two thumbs down from us.

Note: This was in contrast to the Tropicana employees we dealt with, who were uniformly nice and helpful.

Anyway, aside from the Sports Book, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Tropicana, and will return in the future. We'll just put our sports bets down somewhere else.

Room Tip: The Club Tower is a long way from the casino and lobby - if you have trouble walking, you might ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sufue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I chose the Tropicana on price and the reviews on here and I was really pleased I did. Our room was in the Paradise Tower, just inside the front door and I really appreciated this, after being in most casinos and seeing guests dragging their luggage through the whole property. The room was big for a standard, the bed was great and pillows suited us both. Unlike other reviewers our bathroom was clean, well-maintained and fully functioning, as was the AC. We ate at the Beach Cafe on two mornings, and both found our breakfasts to be delicious and huge. I would stay here again without a hesitation, and even loved the coconut air freshener. Staff were great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank misswallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was only average but the staff were great. For a hotel that revived itself it looks good but they forgot about its' patrons. The surrounding area was very noisy because of construction but nothing on the website about that, no coffee pot or kettle in room and nothing in the room booklet about the dining in the hotel.....they just assume that you would walk around and look at the ads on the walls. Asked for a king and got 2 queens.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the strip and all construction and make sure that it isn't a smoking room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The transformation of this place is amazing. Now a mix of a young hip crowd and old timers.

The only reason it is not getting a 5 is the Sports Book. $440 bet for a free drink! Other strip hotels are $55 or $110 or FREE.

Staff ws freindly, room was great, bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ampmmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,416 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,613 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#75 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#50 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing