We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #99 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Tropicana is a very nice hotel for the price point. They have done a terrific job on their south beach inspired renovation which gives the hotel a clean modern chic vibe. It is a small and intimate property, quite indescript from the outside unlike some of the more interesting and extravagant properties on the strip. The hotel is also very quiet by Vegas standards which we did not mind. The mood is subdued - don’t expect anything too lively. The casino was never more than ¼ full. The bar/lounge area was mostly empty. You will have to venture out to find a good party. The casino in the lobby of the hotel is really quite nice – modern, white, bright, cheery and welcoming compared to most in Vegas that are dark, gloomy and downright depressing. Although we checked out many many casinos on the strip, we gambled exclusively at the Tropicana while in Vegas because of the atmosphere and also to take advantage of their rewards program which reimburses your first $200 loss – a little repaid each day over the following three day period. The casino was kind enough to relieve us of a total of $1,000 over our four-day visit :). The standard hotel room was large, clean and had one of the comfiest beds I have experienced while traveling – deep soft pillow top mattress with lovely warm duvet and lots of pillows. There is no fridge in the room - be prepared to shuffle down to the ice machine in your jammies if you get a thirst on for a cold drink during the night. No coffee machine either which forced us out of our room a little earlier than we would have if we could have enjoyed a cuppa in the room. They have a beautiful outdoor pool and patio area that I really wished we could use but wrong time of year - it was closed for the season. We ate in the hotel restaurant each morning and sampled several dishes from the a la carte breakfast menu and all were delicious. Combination breakfast platter (i.e. eggs, meat, pancakes, toast) was $15 and coffee $4 so you are better off to just take the unlimited breakfast buffet at $19.99 if you really want to chow down. Service in the restaurant was very prompt and courteous. Maid service was good. Casino staff so friendly and helpful. Dinner in the steakhouse did not disappoint with amazing food and outstanding professional service (be sure to get your half off main course coupons offered with show ticket purchases on the strip for $3 – mains are normally priced $40-$50 otherwise so can be quite pricey).

Overall we had a great experience at the hotel. After we checked out we had several hours to kill before catching our flight home. We were gambling in the casino when my cell phone rang. I picked it up to hear my 8-year-old daughter crying hysterically into the phone that she had arrived to our home with her babysitter after a weekend in Orlando to find that our house had been robbed – door kicked in…house ransacked….she was beside herself...phone drops the call. I desperately rang the number back to our home but couldn’t connect. I tried again still couldn’t complete the call. Any parent could imagine my panic and desperation as I ran to the front desk asking for access to a landline to call home that there was an emergency involving my young child. I was told by the lady on duty at the front desk to get to a store and by a phone card because calling from the hotel would be too expensive. I would have paid any amount of money to talk to my daughter at that time!!!! There was no time to argue with that woman. Instead I ran outside and I was able to get a better signal and establish a cell phone call to my daughter. It was the most important phone call of my life. The absolute lack of compassion that was demonstrated to me by that front desk person will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tlcjr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, NeedSomeInfo. On your next visit please let us know you would like a fridge or coffee maker and we can have these delivered to your Deluxe Room. They do come standard in a suite. Also, for a great dining and "party" experience, I recommend Bagatelle Supper and Nightclub. I do apologize over the lack of empathy and customer service from our front desk agent. I assure you this is not our intended levels of service and this has been addressed. I hope when you got home your daughter was doing better and that you have been able to get some routine back. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,042
    4,113
    2,091
    794
    496
See reviews for
1,912
4,626
593
1,631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In comparison as to what Tropicana has to offer it is not a 4 star in anyway. What you get for the value is definitely not what you pay for.

Surely Tropicana is in a great location....... 10 years ago. It is the closest to the airport right across Mandalay bay which is also too far from the strip. Walking the streets at 10pm on a weekend was completely empty at that area.

So why was it not four stars?

The ceiling of the lobby was only 2 stories tall, the casino is a JOKE! I repeat a JOKE! They basically took a junk property and refurbed it to a new property. You walk 20 minutes before you reach the elevator. on the way there the ceiling can hit your head if you're taller than 6" 3'

The parking is even more ridiculous. Free parking requires a 10-20 minute walk and thats if you manage to get a spot. They offer half enough parking for the property as the parking its self is only 1 story tall.

The only reason I gave this review 3 stars was a few reasons which im about to list
The hotel room is very spacious and yet very new and refurbed. This property is very old and unfortunately after renovation you will still know for a fact it is very old. They did do a lot of remodeling and matches the pictures online.

HOWEVER the shower for our room did not work. We stayed one night and didn't shower till the morning and realized it was too late. Front desk did slightly comp us when they asked for our satisfaction at check out.

I just honestly do not feel this is a 4 star hotel. Ive stayed in hundreds of hotels in my life as I travel a lot for sports/business/leisure

If i were to give a true honest rating this is a 3.5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: When youre at the front desk request a strip view room and higher floor the hotels alright as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisNoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
tennisplayer01, I apologize we failed to meet all your expectations. The lower ceilings do allow for better air control, which is why our casino is less smoky than others. The walk to the Club Tower, while it may seem long, is 5 minutes from the front desk. I believe what makes it seem longer is that you do not have to travel through the casino to get there. We do offer self parking as well as complimentary valet in our three story garage. I apologize over the shower and am happy to inform you the bathrooms are being re-done as we "speak." What sets us apart is not the size of our casino, it's our service and cleanliness. We focus on quality over quantity. -Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My daughter got married at the Tropicana in December (12/12/12at noon). She was married in their chapel and had her reception in Beach Bay Restaurant. The wedding, service, food and location was wonderful. The restaurant offered a variety of entrees for the guests. The wedding coordinator made everything run smoothly, along with the restaurant manager. Most of our family and friends stayed at the Tropicana and everything went well for everyone who stayed there.

I would highly recommend this hotel for any event, or just a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Phyllis M, congratulations to your daughter! I am thrilled we were able to exceed all your expectations and ensure your daughter's day was perfect. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Tropicana. Our travel agent booked it for us but we made the final decision after positive reviews. We absolutely loved the place and all the staff we encountered were very helpful and went out of their way to oblige. It was our first time in Vegas and weren't disappointed at any stage and were sorry to leave, however, we have a lot of lovely memories to hold on to. Our room was spotless and spacious and overlooked the Vegas Airport and even though aircraft were taking off very quickly between each other it was not a problem noisewise. In fact we really enjoyed seeing the planes. Hopefully we can return one day and if we do we will definitely stay at the Tropicana - it had a nice feel about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, Margaret T. I am glad we were able to ensure your first visit to Las Vegas was perfect. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I wanted to see the fireworks live in Las Vegas once in my lifetime. This was a last minute booking and I found a really good rate for this hotel. Since we did not check in until the 31st at a sellout hotel there were no two queen room for a party of three. The staff was apologetic and provided us with a rollaway bed at no extra charge and took off the resort fee. Our room was updated, spacious and had a wonderful view of the neighboring hotels. We did not even have to leave the hotel to see the fireworks but we did anyways for the experience of walking LV Blvd.
The hotel was easy to get around and the casino portion did not overpower the lobby. I would like to come back in the summer to enjoy the pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shines-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for spending New Years with us, shines-smith. I am glad you had a great visit. -Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When we walked into the gaming place, it was clean and smelled so fresh. While playing the slot machine, staff Lynn Cruz approached me and invited me to apply for a card membership to get the promotion they were having, at first I was hesitant but when she explained the details I was convinced. My mom, brother and I really enjoyed it, Lynn was really a good help and was assisting us the whole way. She's so accommodating and explained things to us. I'm sure we will come back and see Lynn again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, Nessie P. I will be sure Lynn is congratulated for her service and we can not wait to see you all again. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent location, rooms, decor, parking and overall service. The wait for Check-in was a little long but that would be the only complaint if I had to come up with one. Now, as is quite common, lots of young people drink too much, hold parties in their room etc. Unfortunately, we were next to rowdy room and we were moved upon our request. The staff did come up to our floor to speak to the rowdy bunch but we thought it best to move. There was no problem and our stay improved greatly. Our friends at the MGM loved our room, btw!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roguerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, roguerox. I am glad our staff was able to assist you with a room change when you requested it due to your neighbors. You can always request a room with no connecting door to cut down on the noise next visit. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,061 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#78 of 263 in Las Vegas
8,407 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#45 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,532 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing