We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE THIS PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #96 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Avondale, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've been to Vegas 24 times in 9 years. Its our place of rest (true!). Have stayed at a lot of diff hotels. but we have been back to Tropicana 4 times now. Even took 4 of our boys for HS Graduation last year. Place smells amazing. Pool area is huge and relaxing. Rooms are far enough away from casino to "get away". but close enough to sneak out to the slots or for some coffee when the hubby is napping. LOL Fitness center is nice. Only complaint is there is not enough "shopping" type things to do there. Seems like there are only 3 or 4 kiosks along the walking corridor. Nothing exciting. LOVE the rooms, though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girleegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,980
    4,028
    2,032
    772
    477
See reviews for
1,871
4,527
586
1,598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 10 night stay at the Tropicana (19 - 29 December). We stayed in the Paradise Tower and found the room to be excellent, bed very comfy, clean linens, huge TV etc. The bathroom was also a decent size and well maintained. Had a great view looking down the Strip, this was a great bonus and one we hadn't expected.

Staff that we encountered were very friendly and willing to help from the lady who checked us through to the lady who allowed us a later checkout (at no extra cost). Special mention must go to Nicole Marshall who looked after us so well, Nicole is incredibly customer focused and when I contacted her nothing was too much trouble to help us with.

We have stayed in other Vegas hotels in a similar class to the Trop previously but we won't stay anywhere other than the Trop now as we've found for value for money and amenities this is the best of the bunch. If you want a very luxurious resort you'll need to upgrade and pay the extra $'s. Equally if you are looking for a party shack this probably isn't your place either.

We stayed at the Trop last year and my review mentioned that Wi-Fi wasn't so good. Not sure whether this has been worked on or whether there is a difference between the towers (we stayed in Club Tower last year) but we found this worked very well this time around. No drop-outs and I could speed through my emails etc

Loved our stay, we will definitely return. Thanks to all staff for making it a great experience.

Room Tip: Paradise Tower rooms are much nearer the Strip. A high floor is a good idea to help stop some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Is-It-Ishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The Tropicana is nothing fancy, but it is clean and has a good selection of restaurants. The pool bar looks really nice, but we stayed in December so it was too cold for us to check that out. It's at the south end of the strip, might be nice to stay somewhere in the central strip next time but this is a nice hotel for the price!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily22283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, Emily22283. I am glad we met your expectations and I know come warmer months when the pool and the day club scene at Bagatelle are going, we will exceed your expectations. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 9 days over the New Year period and it was superb! The staff, rooms and location were great. We went to the Rock the Clock function on NYE, where we had an open bar and music for $55. It was without doubt the best evening we have had for years. The music was outstanding and they enjoyed it as much as we did.

We went outside to the Strip for the countdown and firework display and it was buzzing!

Overall, it could not be faulted.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caversham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and spending the New Year with us, Caversham1. I am glad you had a great time at the party and a wonderful extended stay. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I attended a conference at MGM Grande in Vegas and opted to stay at Tropicana as it was a bit cheaper. I was happy with my decision. The location was convenient and the room was clean and comfortable. My friend who stayed across the hall had a great view... mine was not so great, but I didn't spend a lot of time looking out the window. My only complaint? No in-room coffee! I'm glad that I had read about from another reviewer here on Trip Advisor so I came prepared; I need my coffee first thing in the morning while getting ready to start my day. I brought a single cup coffee maker from home. There is also a "resort fee" that you must pay so keep that in mind when taking your room cost into consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladywanderlust_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Ladywanderlust_65, thank you for your review. Our suites do come standard with coffee makers and a fridge, however we can deliver these to Deluxe Rooms upon request. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The other reviews are right on. The hotel room was clean and big. The elevators to go to the room are right off the front door. The bathrooms need to be redone. They did charge a "resort fee". The hotel is towards the southern part of the strip, but right across from MGM Grand. My big and only complaint (and the reason for a 4 rating instead of 5) was that we wanted connecting rooms, but did not get them. We were there during the Xmas holiday weekend (everybody said it was the slowest time of the year) and were not able to get connecting rooms...why? The lady that checked us in did not help much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the review, docsteve. I am happy to share with you that we are working on transforming the bathrooms to match the quality of the rooms. Normally, holiday time is slow in las Vegas, however this year we were very busy. It was possible that no adjoining rooms were available that met your room requests for bed and smoking preference. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I arrived at the Tropicana on Christmas day and stayed there for 6 nights, I was supposed to go to another hotel in the middle of my short little vacation and decided to stay here instead. It is very close to the airport and whilie it may not be in the centre of the strip (it is on the south end of the strip) it was still easy to get to the other hotels. You can take the tram or use the pedestrian bridge to go to Excalibur, New York New York or MGM. I like the idea of staying a bit away from the excitement, madness of Vegas.
The hotel has undergone a 180 million dollar renovation. It is very very clean and the rooms were quite spacious. I get claustrophobic walking through the other dark casinos in Vegas but did not get the feel from the Trop. It is very bright, airy and refreshing and did not feel cramped at all. We stayed at the Paradise Tower and there is the adjacent Club Tower which we will consider next time. The staff were very attentive and really went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. From the front desk (Yolanda) the waiters at the restaurants (Lloyd and Frank) to the shift manager (Manjit (hope I got the spelling right) and the cleaning lady (Maria) thank you all for making our stay very comfortable. This is not the Bellagio or Ceasar's Palace in terms of luxury but we will choose the Trop because of the incredible service the staff provide. One thing the public restrooms are super clean, unlike the other restrooms in the other hotels where you have tons and tons of people walking through every minute.
To consider, the Mob Attraction at the Tropicana, very interesting you get to learn alot of the Mob days in Vegas. The Tropicana was one of the original hotels in Vegas, and we chose this as well for that very reason.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtomovetosouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the review, luvtomovetosouthwest. Thank you for deciding to extend your visit with us! I am glad you had a great experience and felt very at ease. I will ensure all out team members are congratulated for assisting you so wonderfully, thank you for mentioning them. We can not wait until your next visit! -Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,677 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#39 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
8,254 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
17,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing