We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #98 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went there for my 40th birthday. Rooms were nice, and clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. Nice location also. Nice Views, Pool was very nice and neat with swim up bars. Had to pay 15.00 a day for fridge but overall was a very nice stay and a very nice place and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,079
    4,153
    2,121
    804
    506
See reviews for
1,937
4,677
601
1,654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Decided to give the Trop a try on our most recent adults only, weekend trip to Las Vegas. Check-in on Thursday night was a breeze but...the first room we were assigned smelled so strongly of cat urine that the smell almost knocked us over. We couldn't agree on whether or not the smell was cat urine or amonia but either way, we did agree on the long trip back to the front desk to ask for another room. Front desk was very accomodating and our second room (7 floors below the original) was fine. You should know before you go that there are two towers. Paradise tower and Club Tower. The Paradise Tower is right off the casino floor. The Club Tower is a hike, located all the way at the rear of the property near the conference center. So, if you don't like to "commute" to the casino floor, the Club Tower isn't for you. Didn't have any meals at the Trop but will say we thought it lacked a viable option for sit-down breakfast. The one restaurant the Trop has that serves breakfast was so packed, we thought the walk across Tropicana Blvd. to the MGM was faster. There aren't a whole lot of restaurant choices and the two upscale restaurants the Trop offers are strangley set-up in the middle of the aisle/hallway leading to the Club tower and the ambiance just didn't seem that inviting. If you do go, sign-up for a players reward card and get reimbursed for some of your losses. Nice room with the most comfortable bed and pillows I've ever encountered in a hotel. Being able to get in and out of the parking lot off of Tropicana Blvd. vs. the Strip is a bonus. Not sure we'd visit again.

Room Tip: Paradise Tower is off the casino floor. Club Tower is a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We truly enjoyed our experience at the Tropicana. We got our rooms for a good price. Our room was clean & quiet. Hotel rooms easily accessible. Good location on the strip. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our party of 7 flew from Manchester UK to Las Vegas on the 6th September. Our flight with Virgin on the outward journey was great; however the return flight was horrendous (this is not the place to go into detail).
The holiday schedule (organised by Trailfinders) was to spend 4 nights in Las Vegas and then drive down to Los Angeles for a 6 night stay then back to Las Vegas for a further 4 nights before flying back to the UK.
The flight was on time and passing through immigration was fairly quick, painless and straightforward. Our luggage came out very quickly and we were soon outside and jumping into a couple of taxis for the short journey to the Tropicana Resort Hotel.
Checking in was made easy by Yolanda and we were soon in our very large rooms on the 16th floor in the Club Tower. It took about 1 hour from leaving the airplane. I think we got lucky at immigration.
The rooms are oversize with 2 King size beds, which were extremely comfortable, and we had a great partial view of The Strip.
However, we did encounter a problem with noise late into the night, from a poolside party, which meant we did not get much sleep that night. The following morning we went to the check in desk to voice our concerns and we were immediately offered rooms on the 7th floor of The Paradise Tower which we promptly moved into. Same excellent rooms and a view bit nearer The Strip but no pool party noise. We particularly liked the Paradise Tower as it is closer to the Main Entrance.
The Tropicana Resort is, in our opinion, just the right size, no 20 minute walks through large casino areas to get to the lifts to your room. The gentle aroma of coconuts was nice, not overpowering, and added to the ambience. The staff were always helpful and they all looked genuinely happy, and nothing was too much trouble. The place was spotless and it felt great just to be there. The recent refurbishment programme showed. The location at the South end of The Strip also takes some beating.
The pool area is massive and there were sunbeds for all. I can also recommend the Beach Bar for morning, noon or night dining. Value for money.
After our 4 nights we headed to Los Angeles for 6 nights and then back to The Tropicana Resort for our final 4 nights. This time we were on the 18th Floor in the Paradise Tower. Excellent place to finish our vacation.
I must also mention Nicole Marshall, the Guest Relations Manager, who looked after us right royally,……….thanks Nicole.

Nearly forgot, you can print your boarding passes off, free of charge, in an area close to the check in desks.

Just a few additional tips that may help:
• Try dining at the Cheesecake Factory at Caesars Palace, and do a spot of shopping at the same time. I know it may sound strange but try the Sheperd’s Pie (honest, it is really very good)
• Buy your iPads in the USA, good savings to be made (obviously depending on prevailing exchange rate $1.61 when we were there) However, buy them early you will find them useful. We used them for route planning to Los Angeles and various other trips while there.
• Go and see the Jersey Boys show at the Paris Hotel, fantastic.
• Visit Hooters for cheap food and a fun night.
• Visit the Sugar Factory for expensive food and a fun night.
• Great bargains can be had at the nearby Las Vegas Premium Outlet Mall (e.g. half UK price True Religion jeans)
• Purchase 24 hour tickets on the Deuce Buses that run the length of The Strip on a hop on /hop off basis. They cost $7 as opposed to a 2 hour ticket costing $5………………….its a no brainer.

I guess I could go on but I won’t, just go the Tropicana Resort for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Apparently the first two floors are for smokers.....so avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yorkyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, ON
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from 5 nights at the Tropicana, and it was as advertised. Small discrepancy in the room reserved and the one assigned, but that was rectified immediately at check-in. Room was 19th floor, clean, well appointed, and housekeeping did a great job.

Aside from a couple of surly bartenders and dealers, everybody else was friendly and helpful. It is not a mega-resort, but for us, that is a bonus. We stayed in the Paradise tower, and even though it is common to have to walk a bit at the larger resorts, the Club tower did seem quite the hike. I am sure that we would stay in the Paradise tower next time.

The location is at the south end, but there is easy access to Tropicana Blvd, so we took a cab the back way to someplace close to the middle of the strip (Battista's is on Flamingo and about $11 one way) and walked the rest of the way (5 minutes tops).

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenASt_Catharines_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. Check-in went very smooth. We were expecting a king bed suite but none were available in a non smoking room. So we settled on the double queen room. Evie was very helpful at the check-in desk and offered us the ability to switch into a king non-smoking room the next day which we appreciated. However, after being in our room for the evening we decided we were happy staying where we were. We were happily amazed at how quiet the room was. We had a room on the 16th floor that was directly next to the elevators. We never heard anybody around us the entire 4 nights we were there. We barely heard anything outside from the strip. The room was clean except for someone's underwear hanging from the plumbing underneath the sink in the bathroom( at least they weren't in the bed or on the floor). Bed was very comfortable and the stayed cool enough for us to sleep. We ate breakfast twice at the hotel and dinner once. Everything we ate was very good, especially the pork chops at Bacio. The waiter informed me they take 45 min to cook but they are worth the wait. Boy was he right. Easily the best pork chop my wife and I've ever had. Enjoyed the lounge in the casino for the half price happy hour. The coconut smell mixed with the cigarette smoke is a little off putting but nothing that gave me a headache. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the new Trop. We will visit the place again in the future. Thank you tropicana staff for a memorable anniversary.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We wanted to stay at the Tropicana after hearing it had been remodeled. First the good - the room was very nice, very clean, large flat screen tv, comfortable bed, and quiet. No in-room coffee, but otherwise, no complaints with the room, plus it has a great view of the strip. We arrived at 2:00 and asked if it was too early to check in. They said we could, but it would be an additional $20 for early check-in. That may not seem like much, but it was not crowded and I would think they would be happy to have us there instead of charging us extra. I had email offers from other casinos with much better room rates, but wanted to stay at the Trop this time. Next time, I will take the other offers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMountainLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,245 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,578 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,686 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#79 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Vegas.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing