We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome. Huge improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed at the Tropicana. I remember back several years ago that it was an "old" hotel. Things have changed. Staff is great, rooms are nice. Check in was great, food was spectacular. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piflo1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,752 - 9,758 of 12,114 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

Ok, so this is not a mega five star resort. If that is what you want spend 3 times as much cash on your room, spend more on your drinks and food and have way more people in every line in front of you.
If, like us , you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel with good amenities, great staff a great atmosphere and a great location you could do no better than visit the Tropicana.
It has been well renovated, the rooms are lovely, large and clean they are cleaned daily as are the bed sheets and towels changed on a daily basis. The bed is so comfortable!!We had a room in the paradise tower on the 17th floor which had an amazing view and so with it being right at the front of the hotel, of course there is going to be some noise from the road outside!! Do what i do at night, wear earplugs!!
We ate in cafe nicki which had a fantastic breakfast and lunch buffet. Not like the huge ones on the strip, probably more suited to customers from europe ( which I guess is their thing given they are part of Nicki Beach), full of fresh fruit and salad items, really tasty food.
I cant fault any of the staff, everyone was great. Not the type of false customer service which just annoys myself and my husband, but genuine proper good service with a nice friendly attitude, not forced looking for a tip!!
The location is fantastic. This was our third trip to vegas, and the first at this side of the strip, but it is so handy for the nieghbouring hotels and only a 15-20 min walk to bellagio and caesers, but quiet enough if you cannot be bothered with the weekend party goers!!
The best thing about this hotel, and if you have read other reviews you will have heard her name, is Nicole Marshall. She is a credit to her employers!! I contacted her when I booked as we had a special occasion while we were there and she couldn't do enough to help.
So, I am sure there are others out there who have maybe had an issue while staying here... thats life ... but we had a fantastic holiday and stayed there for 12 nights , not just a couple... so had 12 nights for something to go wrong... and nothing did....
Well done Tropicana, and thanks very much!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sandraoh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We were skeptical about staying at the Tropicana as I remember that hotel did not look nice at all before. However, after their major renovation (a complete overhaul) and the addition of Nikki Beach the hotel is awesome! Kristi at the Nikki Cafe was the most amazing bartender ever, she kept us entertained (and well served). The staff if very courteous and their customer service was quite nice. The rooms were clean and they even had a turn-down service, which is typical for the ultra fanzy hotels, so nice touch! We ate once at the Bizcayne restaurant, a little pricey but it was very good. The value for staying at this hotel was great and I'd stay here again...

Room Tip: They offer room/suite upgrades (at a cost)...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabuluxeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at a hotel off the strip this time. We were so impressed to see the remodeling at the Tropicana. It is nice to see the older hotels keeping up with the new ones. We were greeted by a man who called himself "T". He showed us around and was very informative about the hotel and its restaurants. Tropicana will be definitely on our list of choices that we will consider for our next Vegas vacation. Jill Tropino

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillybean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We checked in late in the evening and we pretty tired but yet excited, checking in we had to haul our luggage up the beautiful marble stairs then over to the front desk. Once we got checked in we recieved our map on how to get to our room (front and back). As we pulled our luggage across carpet to try and find the hallway to the elevator to our room (kept getting lost with no assistance to our issue). Find the room great now my arms can rest, the walk to the room was about a 15 minute walk in the hotel if your dont get lost. Went out for a little bit and when we came "home" we were greated with a horrible night sleep as the BED BUGS were having a party and we were there host! Great job on a newly renovated hotel, nothing seems to be new except the places that cost you and overpriced meal. We were somewhat comp'ed for our situation but was tolded that bed bugs do not survive in las vegas by a hotel manager (came home to a dr's confirmation that thats what they are)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilmom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Tropicana in early May. We regularly go to Vegas and have stayed in a number of different hotels on the Strip but as we had stayed in the middle of the Strip for our last few visits we decided that we would like to stay on the corner where the Tropicana is for a change. We had stayed in the Tropicana in 1980 when it was the only hotel on that corner and was really rather plush but the hotel had got a little run down in the 90s so we had always chosen to stay somewhere else. However, because of the good reviews we decided to give it a go this time and what a good choice it was.

The first surprise was the foyer and how bright and clean it was with beautiful marble flooring, with a guy there always to open the door for you, with a cleaner always cleaning the marks from the glass doors (not like the New York and Excaliber where the glass doors were filthy!).. Whereas a lot of casinos are gloomy the casino area was light and much more welcoming.

We had booked a Paradise Suite with a strip view. The good news for all rooms in the Paradise Tower are that you don't have any walking to do at all. Our suite was really spacious, one bedroom and one lounge area. Although we had booked a strip view we could not actually look down the Strip towards the centre because of a large advertising hoarding that hung outside our window was blocking the view!! To be honest the Go De Lux room in the Flamingo are much more luxurious with switches just behind the bed to open and close the drapes, a small tv screen in the middle of the mirror in the bathroom and a spacious walk-in shower with wonderful coloured lighting.

We had booked a cabana for 1 day ($100) to give it a try but when we arrived and went to the pool area the music was very loud and as it was a weekend there were lots of youngsters partying around the pool so we decided to cancel it. We did go to the pool though and I must say the pool attendants were very helpful in getting us sun loungers and putting then in a shady spot.

We ate in Cafe Nikki and the food was excellent - it was all a little bit more upmarket than the usual 24 hour cafes that exist in casinos.

We only go on the slots and after 2 nights of our money just being swallowed up by the machines and no fun at all, we decided to take our money to the Excaliber where we did get some return our money so consequently our money lasted longer and we had much more fun.

All in all we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexworldtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Tropicana, why do you have one person working the check in at 3pm?! The line was endless and some verbally abusive Germans in line started going nuts- yelling at everyone. Really crappy. Room is okay- air conditioning noisy. Will walk over to MGM to do my gaming and changed my two night stay for one night only. No thanks Tropicana.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Buffetgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,093 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $59 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. The hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants; including Robert Irvine's Public House which opened in 2017, Oakville Steakhouse a Napa Inspired Steakhouse, and Bacio Italian Cuisine. Other amenities include an award winning pool surrounded by palm trees, lush landscaping and flowing waterfalls, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes David Goldrake Imaginarium, Rich Little, our Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing