We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away - Construction!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #116 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 13, 2006

We were at the Monte Carlo Oct 6 - 8. Be forewarned there is major demolition going on behind the hotel. Unless you have a room that faces directly on to Las Vegas Blvd you will hear it. They start at 6am everymorning except Sunday. Not only do you hear construction, but the wall are very thin. The beds back up to the neighboring bathroom, you can hear them flush the toilet, you can hear the shower, and loud voices. Plus the toilets in your own bathroom flush with an explosion.

This hotel has a fun brewery pub but that is about it. I do have to say it was nice to have a Starbucks and a McDonalds in the hotel. And the best part is that the prices were normal prices, and not jacked up for the convenience. The casino was always dead, definetly not a true themed hotel, just a normal looking hotel with a casino. Unless you get a really great rate, and a room away from the construction, stay away!

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank pjstulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,721 - 13,727 of 16,223 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2006

We have just returned from a great 2 week stay at the Monte Carlo (our 5th trip to Vegas), We found the rooms to be very clean spacious & comfy,all the staff to be VERY helpful & polite,quick check in and check out & overall the casino & amenities to be very good and not quite as manic as some of the other strip hotels.we ate at the noodle place,buffet and brewery all of which were good.

However..... sadly I have to agree with other reviewers on the noise issue.We had a room overlooking the strip & away from the construction which was great apart from the empire ballroom nightclub across the street.I cannot begin to explain just how loud the music from there is!!! We were kept awake for 2 nights (the 2nd night the music was on from about 3am until 10am) We asked to be moved, which we were with no problem at all - the hotel is well aware of the noise from the club.

Our 2nd room (which we moved to at night) was overlooking the pool & construction towards Bellagio - bad move - we were woken at 6am by very loud construction noise and also the sound of someone taking the longest shower in history!! So we asked to be moved & again there was no fuss at all & we basically told them where we felt was the quietest place (at the back of the hotel) & asked to be moved there, which we were and had blissful sleep for the next 10 days ! We heard a little bit of noise from the construction but even the plumbing seems much quieter on that side.

I feel really sorry for the monte carlo as the two main sources of noise ie the construction and the nightclub are beyond their control & I can honestly say that the staff bent over backwards to accomodate & help us even giving us a few comps into the bargain. I would definately stay there again, as the position on the strip is great, and apart from the aforementioned noise found the hotel to be great value and very pleasant to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank rogerrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

My daughter and I stayed there for 4 days the end of August and it was wonderful. The service that I received from the time I booked it until we left was exceptional. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fletches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Not so plastic as some of the other hotels on the strip. Nice size rooms for the price. It was a pity that there was so much building work going on at the rear of the hotel. They are building a new complex and it is a 24/7 function for the next four years, so ask for a room at the front and do not use the pool. The meals and drinks were not too expensive but as with the internet facility there was cheaper out on the strip. Our main complaint was that we asked for two rooms together which they were unable to arrange even though we had booked months in advance and one of the rooms was not ready for occupation until after 1600Hrs. All in all not bad but a little worn.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank angliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Heard so much about Vegas and didnt know what to expect. We chose to get married at the Monte Carlo as it looked really romantic and wasnt too expensive. I was a little disappointed to see the building work going on but you could never hear it and it didnt effect our stay. The rooms are standard however we upgraded to a spa suite and it really transformed our stay.
The staff are absolutely amazing from the concierge to the catering department who made our wedding the most memorable for the 26 of us. They managed to turnaround 26 covers for a wedding breakfast in 48hours and the ballroom they let us have was phenomenal. They bent over backwards to make our day supreme and their service was nothing but excellent.
Some of our family were staying in the Luxor an d Caesars but we all met up at the Monte Carlo because it was small enough to always find each other some of these bigger hotels you just get lost. We had a brilliant time in the Houdini Lounge on our last night and we won $1500 so if anything it was lucky for us. The buffet is well worth the money and the pool was lovely. We hired a Cabana for our wedding hangover and boy it was worthe the $200 for the day. So we definitely made the right choice with the monte carlo and most of my family are returning next year !! My dad wans to come for a month he loved it that much.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank markymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Although I live in Las Vegas, I am a professional travel director and meeting planner and therefore stay at various hotels when I have groups in town. I am not affiliated with the hotel.

I have always enjoyed the Monte Carlo and feel that it is a good value for the money. It is also in an excellent location on the Strip. In a recent post somebody mentions the tram between Monte Carlo and Bellagio. Not sure when they were there but this service has been discontinued.

People considering staying that the Monte Carlo should be aware that there is a huge construction project taking place directly surrounding the hotel. It is called City Center and is a massive undertaking consisting of shops, lodging, residences, casinos, etc. Due to the construction the multi deck parking structure at the Monte Carlo has been torn down. They still have valet and very limited outdoor parking. The main problem is the construction noise. After all Las Vegas is a 24 hr city and construction projects such as City Center are operational 24/7. They try to keep the very loud construction to a minimum at night but some of the people in my group said they were awakened by jack hammering, etc.

The Brewery @ Monte Carlo has very good food at fair prices. If you like beer and sports this is definately the place to go.

I just wanted people considering a stay at The Monte Carlo to be aware of the construction. It's not completely disruptive but if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fiorentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

My husband and I go to Las Vegas twice a year and have for many, many, years. We usually stay at Treasure Island, but for some reason, we decided to take advantage of a great deal at the Monte Carlo this time and thought we would try something new. We were also celebrating our 30th anniversary & my husband's birthday. From the minute we got into our room, we knew we were in trouble...after reading many reports about the "thin walls" here, we quickly encountered this problem after 5 minutes in our room. We could literally hear ever word of a telephone conversation that the man was having in the next room. We have NEVER had that happen before in any other hotel!
It was very annoying but we figured we would just try to overlook that. We went to the dinner buffet which was very sub-standard food. We gave it a 3.5 out of 10. The next morning we awoke at 4:30 am to the sound of the man next door talking on the phone again and using his electric shaver, & water pic etc. You could hear EVERYTHING!!! It was if he was in OUR room!! He left the room approximently 8am, but we could not fall back asleep. Also, I might mention that the construction noise IS very, very, loud, but we found that to be MORE tolerable than the noise in the next door room.
We put on our bathing suits and headed done to the breakfast buffet. This was slightly better than the dinner buffet and we rated it a 5 out of 10. We proceeded to go to the pools only to find out that there was ONLY ONE POOL OPEN...the others were closed for the season....and the one pool that was open was IN THE SHADE until 4pm each day. One of the reason's we were looking forward to this hotel was for their pool's....we expressed this at the time we made a reservation and also at check-in. We were NEVER TOLD that the other 2 pools were closed and the other one was in the shade for most of the day. We came there to sit in the sun and relax, after all the temperatures were in the high 80's!
We were so annoyed with everything and decided that we could no longer stay at this hotel, so we checked out and went to stay at Treasure Island. We had already missed 2 days out of our 5 day vacation which was very upsetting. Treasure Island is truly a great value for the money and a real step up from the Monte Carlo in every way possible!! We just wished we could have gotten those 2 days back! We just want to warn people about the situation at the Monte Carlo. We are not fussy people by any means, but everything from the customer service, to the holes in the sheets, to all the other problems we described re: the food, pools, thin walls & construction noise, lead us to giving this hotel the lowest possible recommendation possible!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jamsmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,822 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,173 reviews
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $83 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing