We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #101 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2006

My Husband and I stayed at the Monte Carlo from May 25th to June 1st 2006. (Our first visit to Las Vegas) Check in was a breeze and we received our room immediately. We had a nice view of the mountains and some of the strip. The rooms were very clean and quiet, we had no problems with noise. We had a lot more space then we anticipated and the bed was very comfortable. There is a lot of construction in the area around the hotel but we only heard that a few times. The food at the Cafe was fantastic and we had great service, it was slow one day but the rest of the time we had no problems. We really liked the Pub, great food and beer, try the sliders with a nice ale. Everyone was friendly but housekeeping was a bit pushy at times to get us out so that they could clean the room. The casino was just the right size, with very little smoke. We had good luck at the slots and tables. The only complaint that I can really think of is that there were no safes or coffee in the room, but they have safe deposit boxes available, free of charge and they had pleanty of coffee places (Starbucks, McDonalds and Nathans) where you could get your morning coffee. We had a great time and will return to the MC on our next trip to Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,151
    5,916
    3,462
    1,271
    751
See reviews for
2,924
6,084
587
1,156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

This was our 3rd stay at Monte Carlo in a year on the 32nd floor conceige level.

Weather-
We arrived Sat. 5/27 to very windy and cool temp's in fact the pool was closed because of this (my wife wasn't happy)! Sunday and Monday of our stay the weather was great and good for hanging out at the pool (except we went out Mon. to find the lazy river drained).

Service-
Very good, except the Brew Pub is a joke when it comes to service. It doesn't seem to matter what time of day or how crowded it takes for ever to have a server come to your table. Monday night the Brew Pub was half full and it took longer to be waited on than Sat. night. Iwe complained to the manager both times and that's how we finally got service. We're not sure we'll go back to the Brew Pub again even though the food is great.

Casino-
Tightest I've seen it, we were mainly playing slots to work on points for the One Club player card and didn't hit much (also played a litte black jack, roulette and war) . What's kind of crazy is we hit better jackpots on penny & nickels than dollars and five dollar machines. My wife found the perfect machine ("Take Out" nickel near the One Club desk) and played it over three days, the first day she put $50 in and cashed out three hours later with $800! Since we were loosing mostly at Monte Carlo we visited Slots of Fun, Circus Circus, Excalibur and Mandilay Bay and found the most luck at Manday Bay (go figure).

Entertainment-
First night Brew Pub, second night Carnaval Court, third night Mama Mia. The highlight was Carnaval Court at Harrah's, got there before 8:00 before they charge cover and got a table near the stage. The drinks, bands, food and people watching were good to great (we'll be back). One thing to note about Mama Mia, we purchased the tickets online through Mandalay Bay and got 2nd row off to the side and when we arrived found they were first row (something about the fire marshall had the first row removed). So, it pays to go directly through Mandalay Bay and it probably helped that we went on a Monday evening.

Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank waterski34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

We stayed at the Monte Carlo over Memorial Day Weekend. It was inexpensive for staying right on the strip and a great location. It is very small as far as casinos go, so it was easily accessible to get in and out. The first day we arrived, the pool was closed due to wind. Apparantly it was very windy in the morning. It wasn't windy in the afternoon but they never reopened it. We did lounge at the pool the next day. They have a kiddie pool, a lazy river, and a small wave pool. On Monday, Memorial Day, the lazy river was closed for maintenance. Who closes their pool on a holiday? We were very disappointed. Another disappointment was housekeeping. Our shampoo/soap wasn't replenished during our 3 night stay, nor did the hairball near the front door ever get swept up. For some reason, 2 empty glasses (not ours) also sat outside of our door the entire weekend. The hotel restaurants were average. The brewery beer and food were both delicious. The Cafe inside the hotel was an excellent value with pleasant servers. The Market Place cafe however was terrible...extrememly slow service and bland. The Starbucks was incompetent, making us wait for 20 minutes for a simple Americano. Stay at the hotel, but just know that the amenities aren't all they appear to be.

Helpful?
9 Thank amilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. A very nice hotel. The only complaint is the walls are indeed a little thin -- so if your neighbors are arguing (ours were) or watching television at 4:30 a.m. (ours were) or there are people talking in the hallway (always, no matter where you go), then you're going to hear it, word-for-word. Not a great place if you aren't a sound sleeper. But that's the only complaint. Otherwise, the staff was friendly, the hotel and rooms were clean, the bed was very comfortable, the location is great, and the buffet restaurant was top-notch (really great food, and not expensive).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RR&DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2006

My husband and I were in Vegas from May 22nd to the 25th and we stayed at Monte Carlo. I'd definately recommend this hotel. It's very reasonably priced, clean and the rooms are nice (nice furniture, good size, good size bathroom). It's right on the strip at the south end. So you have a bit of a walk to some hotels like Mirage or Venice but you're close to NY NY, Luxor, MGM, Mandalay- all great hotels. What I liked about Monte Carlo is that it's not a huge hotel by Vegas standards, that means it's less busy, there was never a long wait at check in, the restaruants aren't too busy, etc. The pool area was busy but I can only imagine what it would be like at a bigger hotel. Also, this hotel isn't themed so if that's what your after then don't go to Monte Carlo. I didn't mind that it wasn't themed. I thought Monte Carlo was elegant and classy and that's why I really think it's good value. It's not the cheapest hotel on the strip (go to Imperial Palace if you want cheap) nor is it the most expensive. There weren't many children when I went which was a plus. I wouldn't expect that there ever would be many either since the hotel doesn't really have anything that caters to them.

I would stay here again if I visit Vegas again. I liked the location, I liked the price, and I liked the hotel (clean and elegant). I wasn't crazy about the pool. that's my only negative comment. The lazy river was closed and the regular pool I thought was a little small but it's still nice and clean with palm trees around it and there's a waterfall when you come in (not in the pool).

If you need internet access, go across the street. The business center is expensive. $1 per page to print and I can't recall how much for internet for 15 mins. The buffet resturant is good for breakfast. it's $10 per person but we didn't eat lunch after breakfast. They serve freshely made eggs, fruits, yougurt, your regular American style breakfast with sausage, etc. waffels, hashbrowns, pancakes and other goodies.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tcaruanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

The Monte Carlo is a beautiful hotel and casino located in the heart of the strip. We checked in very late on our arrival day so received 2 queen beds rather than a king bed. I rang to ask if we could move the next day and that was no problem. Around 2pm the folllowing day I went to get the new keys and asked if there was any possibility of a strip view room with a king bed. We were moved to a lower floor but with a fantastic view of the strip AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. I was rapt. Rooms were huge and the bed was SOOO comfortable. Bathroom was a good size with a bath/shower combo. Had breakfast at the buffet one morning which was very good. Dinner in the buffet one night was okay but we had better buffets at Rio and Paris on other nights. Visited a number of different casinos on the strip. Paris was a particular favorite with a ride to the top of the Eiffel Tower ... great views. Bellagio Fountains are a MUST see. We saw at least 6 different "shows", in the evening they are less than 15 minutes apart. We just did not have enough time to see all the free stuff let alone a paid show and we were there 6 days. It was REALLY hot, 98 most days so that made it tough. The Deuce bus is good during the day to get up and down the strip but it is HORRENDOUS at night. Walk, it is quicker and less frustrating. Shopping outlets centres are great, we spent a lot of time and money but got great value for money. Did a helicopter ride and landing in the Grand Canyon, if you can afford it, do it, I do not have the words to describe standing in the Grand Canyon looking up !!! Overall, loved Las Vegas. Would stay at Monte Carlo again, no hesitation but would like to try Paris next time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Redjazz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2006

The wife & I stayed at the MC May 15-19. Check-in was super-fast and easy (got to the hotel around 11:00 pm). Nice room that was clean & smoke free. Beds are really comfy. Tried to get a strip side room but no luck. The casino was great because of the lack of smoke & the nice fragrance. Slots were pretty tight , but overall won back my money & then some. Drink service was also very good. This place is very easy to navigate to food court, pool, brew pub, etc... The pool complex was better than I expected with the river pool & the fact that the pool bar served the MC brewery brand beer ($3.00 for high roller red, good deal). Never seemed over crowded & could always find a chair. I also noted that they had a liquor store on premises near the casino. Brew pub was great with good food & beer.

As I have seen other posts about the noise in the rooms, yes this is a fact, but as long as you don’t have a keg’r going on in the next room it shouldn’t be a problem.

All in all great deal & super location.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Bubs404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bally's
#74 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,933 reviews
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#78 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing