We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Unpretentiously Crumby"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #107 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Oceanside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Unpretentiously Crumby"”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Monte Carlo advertises itself as being an "Unpretentiously Luxurious" hotel but my experience was quite the opposite.

AFTER spending a lot of money on dinner at one of their restaurants and seeing the Blue Man Group (underwhelming) I went to gamble a bit.

The casino chair that I sat in was one of those big, cushioned, bolted-to-the-ground chairs. As I sat I immediately felt the unmistakable sog of a soaking wet chair. It sloshed up under me and everything I had on was immediately soaked. A second later I realized - IT WAS PEE. The smell... the burn...It was definitely PEE. When I got up and looked at the chair, the wet spot was in the shape of a seated butt and legs.

Long story short; I told 1 lady (that I thought worked there) that there was pee in the chair and her response was "I know".

I went to the concierge desk to tell them that the chair was full of pee. The man i talked to apologized and went about talking to someone else to go fix it.

I had to throw away my underwear and am still undecided on what to do about the skirt (who wants to wear a white skirt with THAT memory).

I also got a huge rash on my butt that lasted for a week.

I had sent an angry e-mail to the MC detailing my above experience, mainly because I only had that outfit that night which was cut short as a result of the situation. I had become mad about it. I got a call where I was told that they would research my complaint and get back to me with-in 10 days.

Its been over a month and they have not gotten back to me!

The difference between a good business and a bad business is all in how they handle themselves. Even in the face of mistakes beyond their control.

Even if all they did was formally apologize and close the loop of communication, I would have been fine.

So now I, my friends and my family view the MC as "Unpretentiously Crumby" and just another depleting Vegas organization.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkcandy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello sharkcandy7,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely apologize that areas of your stay fell short of your expectations. It is concerning to hear about your experience and we would value the opportunity to discuss this with you further. If you could kindly send any additional details including your preferred contact information to guestrelations@montecarlo.com we would greatly appreciate it. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to hear from you in the future.

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,172
    5,963
    3,501
    1,296
    780
See reviews for
2,956
6,146
596
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Comfortable, clean, and a great view. Our 29th view overlooking the strip and the distant mountains was an added treat, when we were not out enjoying the sites and sounds of the crazy city. The Café food was good, with efficient and timely service. The hotel, like all hotels are huge, but it was easy to get in and out. The tram to the Bellagio was great to get back to see the fountain show and night, and skip the madness on the streets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

At the quieter end of the strip, convenient tram to Bellagio so it is not far from all the north end action. The price is great if you are not expecting the fanciest hotel. Bathroom does need upgrade but the shower worked well. Room service excellent. Friendly staff and no line ups to check in or out. Pool service is quite slow when paying a lot for a cabana I would have expected better service. Pools are good but there is only a short amount of sunshine on one side of the pool area. A bit cooler in October so if you want all day sun, may want to go to another hotel pool. Recommend this hotel for a quieter stay. Room at back of building is quiet, not sure about rooms facing the strip.

Room Tip: Room off of strip is quieter. Only heard traffic around 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva, Ohio, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The room we had was non-smoking, two double beds with nice view of the strip. We walked our entire time there, and found it easy to get to things we wanted to see and do from here. The food at the buffet was very tasty. The fast food places were also very good quality and clean. We enjoyed the slots at the Monte Carlo, and planned to use the fitness room, but ran out of time. Gift shops and other stores there were very nice and clerks friendly. Will definitely return to the Monte Carlo on a future trip to Vegas.

Room Tip: Only had one wastebasket in room; need one also in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

For the price I suppose I shouldn't complain. The room was big and most expected amenities were there except for a fridge. It is well positioned on the strip for most trips up and down. We found it wasn't as good value for money as in previous years. We found the same for most of the casinos.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose_lander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked a stay at the Monte Carlo even though some of the reveiws were less then stellar, I figured the writters were exaggerating on the poor conditions of the rooms. They were NOT exaggerating. The carpets were well worn and stained, the coffee table had large pieces of formica missing, the dresser had a piece of wood under one leg to level it,and the drapes looked like someone slept in them they were so wrinkled. We where to have a veiw of the strip when you looked out and all you saw was the roof with the air conditioners and vents. My travel agent advised them that this was our first trip to Vegas and it was for our 25th anniversary, she was assured we would be well looked after. Would hate to have seen what our room would have been if it was not our 25th and they did not take good care of us. The staff was great, but that can not make up for the substandard room. My advice to anyone planning to stay at the Monte Carlo, save your money for the slots and book a room at a Motel 6 their rooms would be an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDBBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

great hotel and casino, not too many kids mostly older people,good atmosphere, would recommend this hotel, easy access to the strip. Currently under construction in the hotel front but made no difference except the busses had to stop further away



Room Tip: good rooms withj great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyman711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#99 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#77 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing