We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #114 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprising”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We (husband & I) arrived at the Monte Carlo from the airport (by shuttle) just before noon on Monday, Sept. 2 (Labour Day). Check in was a breeze and our pre-requested high floor strip-view non-smoking king room was ready and waiting. The clerk was very helpful explaining the amenities and we proceeded to our room. We were located on the 27th floor and was mostly surprised by the low ceilings in the floor lobby, but thankfully, the halls & rooms had slightly higher ceilings.

We got the to room (at the very end of the hall, so it was a bit of a jaunt everyday, but it's much quieter down that end) and was pleasantly surprised. After reading previous reviews here and elsewhere, I was expecting something quite run-down but our room was very clean, larger than I expected, no smoke smell (which I am actually quite sensitive to), the bathroom was spotless, furniture seemed a bit newer: no scratches or paint peeling, only one small dent in a lampshade (the one we have at our home has a bigger dent due to a rowdy party guest), floors were clean and seemed like it had newer carpeting. My husband had on white socks, and they were still white after walking around. The view was fantastic. The only thing I can really comment on was the A/C - had to set it to 62 to get it cool, unlike the hotel airport we stayed at the night before which was like a blast freezer! The bed was super comfy and firm with loads of pillows. Clean, crisp white sheets and a great view of the nightly lightening storms and sun rises in the morning.

We had a Keurig coffee pod in the room (thank goodness!) but I brought along our own pods as I usually don't like "hotel offerings" for coffee machines. Nonetheless, the cleaning staff kept loading us with new pods every morning, and extra bottles of water (we had 4 a day). A $2 tip per day goes a long way!

We spent little of our time in the casino, as we're really not gamblers. Had dinner at the Cafe one evening (comped with MyVegas rewards): the buttermilk fried chicken was amazing, and to our surprise, not over salted (which I find to be a HUGE problem in Vegas)! The orange beer (draft) - Shock Top was surprisingly, very refreshing, honestly did not know what to expect at first of the flavour, just hope I can find it locally! We had gone there after getting back into town after our Grand Canyon trip, seating and service was very quick. We also had hit Happy Hour at the pub our first day and downed, many, many sliders and 2 for drafts! YUM. The bartender was very friendly and met a lot of nice locals. Did not make it to the pool, as my hubby does not like pools at all, nor the fitness area or spa.

We went to the food court a few times for a quick bit for breakfast, enjoyed seeing the Blue Man group parade through the casino and lobby. We found a MUCH easier way to exit the hotel to get to the strip - simply head out the doors where valet parking drop-off is located and walk to the road, the strip is straight to your left - no winding around the smoky casino (which after touring just about every casino in Vegas, the Monte Carlo is by far the EASIEST to navigate). Sure, you have to walk out in the sun and pass by the trash bins from Diablo's, but it's well worth it.

Our last day, I was wanting to send some postcards. I inquired at Walgreens', CVS and other convenience stores, but no one had any, but suggested I ask at the Concierge desk at the hotel. Of course, they had no stamps either, but proceeded to call other hotels looking for some (this took near a half-hour) to no avail. They said the Bellagio has a machine to stamp the post cards, but after spending all day on our feet and just wanting to relax, I really couldn't be bothered hauling my butt back there for the 3rd time that day. I said thanks, and headed to the newsstand across the way in the lobby. They said they didn't sell stamps there, but told me the business center up on the 2nd floor has a stamp machine and offered to sell me a roll quarters for the machine. Now, why couldn't the concierge desk who I thought was "all knowing" not tell me this?? Took the elevator the the floor upstairs and low behold, the stamp machine! Saved myself about an hour and sore feet.

All in all, we were happy with our stay at the Monte Carlo. Sure, it could use some updating, it's not a new hotel, but it was clean and comfortable with a large enough bathroom for 2, great location centre strip, easy to navigate, not super crowded, and that's all I really ask for.

Room Tip: 27th non-smoking floor stip view rooms offer great views (night and day) with no noise and no smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ButtrnutSquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Rimotat!

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review with us. We are thrilled to see that you and your husband enjoyed your room and had great experiences at The Pub and The Café during your stay! Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,206
    6,034
    3,579
    1,349
    862
See reviews for
3,027
6,261
611
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last week. We were both very pleased with the hotel which has lots of amenities such a pool, casino, restaurants, starbucks and more. The hotel is in a good location and interconnects with the Aria resort which interconnects with the bellagio hotel. Basically instead of walking the strip in the heat you can walk through the hotels which are air conditioned. The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. The only downside is that the pool area is noisy with music blaring all the time. I suppose people will either love or hate that. If this hotel is reasonably priced I would definitely stay again but if the Bellagio is $100 or $ 200 more overall I would stay there.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view you should request it. We had a view of the roof below our rooms but this d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellow121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi mellow121!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the different amenities at the hotel! The location of the hotel is popular with our guests and we are happy that you found it convenient during your stay. It is also great to know that you found the tram traveling to Bellagio and CityCenter convenient as well! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Monte Carlo is know for being one of the cheaper hotels on the strip and a lot of people seem to avoid it for other hotels thinking its one of the older run down hotels. The location of the hotel is great, you are in the mix with the Aria and a close free tram ride to the Bellagio. The hotel rooms are standard and clean, the only small let down are the shower heads, they seem to be a bit low powered and have 4 squares that kinda squirt out the water. We stayed over labor day weekend and found there was lots to do. The nice thing about this hotel is if you want to save some money in vegas on food, is they have a food court downstairs and a few options, as with vegas you seem to end up wondering around for miles to find some place to eat. Overall we had a decent stay and found the hotel to have decent clean rooms and a great location, we would stay again. Check in was also very quick, we arrived late on friday night and there was no line for check in.

Room Tip: Rooms service is good value at this hotel and avoids having to eat the constant junk at the food cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Jayda L!

Thank you for your comments on your stay over the Labor Day weekend! We are excited to see that you enjoyed the Food Court and found the location convenient! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Monte Carlo for 5 nights in August and found the entire experience a let down -constant string of disappointments. The room itself was tired and in disrepair. The water pressure in the shower was so low that it took twice as long to shower as it should have. The drain in the bathroom sink was clogged and would barely drain. The air conditioning did not work in the middle of the night (cost saving measure, perhaps?) making it unbearably hot for sleeping. The pool area which used to be peaceful and relaxing has been transformed into what is essentially a "night club atmosphere" during the day. Thumping techno music, no place to sit unless you rent a cabana at great expense, and ridiculously over priced drinks. They check your bag at the entrance to ensure no food or drink being brought in from outside. They even confiscated my husband's coffee (which was purchased at the hotel!) and did it in such a way that we were left feeling like common criminals. The ratio of "security staff" to serving staff pool side appeared to be 2 to 1, which means there was lots of scolding going on but not much service. Why are security guards necessary at a swimming pool anyway? I guess it speaks to the type of clientele that the Monte Carlo now seeks to attract. Whatever that is, we are not the right demographic, and will choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Insatiable Nomad,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. It is concerning to hear about your experience with the bathroom sink and we have forwarded your comments on to our engineering team for review. We would value the opportunity to discuss your stay further and invite you to contact us at guestrelations@montecarlo.com. Again, we appreciate your review and look forward to hearing from you soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Sherman, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. There is definitely better hotel resorts in Vegas, but this is a close second. A very nice, large and luxurious property. They will charge you $20 per day for a resort fee, which is on too of any and all other charges that you have paid, so be prepared for this. It adds up quick. Overall, it is still worth the money, as compared to comparable properties in Vegas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Bigdaddyhotel!

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed with my two adult daughters for a 3 day weekend in late August. Rooms were dated. Our view was looking down at HVAC units on a lower roof. Food court was good - affordable. Pool area was really fun with a lazy river, wave pool, volley ball court and DJ. Drinks at the pool were ridiculously expensive - $27?? but it was 40 degrees out and you are not allowed to bring any outside beverages so what can you do? Old Vegas was excellent with lots of live entertainment, street performers and cheap drinks! :) Loved it there! Hotel was ok - we were only in the room to shower, sleep and change so it was adequate. Just nothing to write home about. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Green Features: Was shocked at all the beer bottles and cans being discarded in the regular garbage cans in the pool area. I am sure it must be over 1,000 per day. Seems a very minor adjustment to have recycle receptacles for this use. It is quite disturbing if all this recyclable material is going to a landfill.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetCaroline09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello SweetCaroline09,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed The Pools and found our staff friendly and helpful during your stay. We are sorry that other areas of your experience fell short of your expectations and welcome you to contact us at guestrelations@montecarlo.com if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail. Again, we appreciate you sharing your comments and look forward to hearing from you in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just enjoyed a great 5 night stay at the Monte Carlo.
We arrived at the Monte Carlo at around 9pm (later than planned due to flight delays) this did however mean that the check-in que was very short and we were up in our room within 5 minutes of getting to the check-in desk.
We were staying in the Spa Suite and we got one overlooking the pool area, we also got a view of the city centre hotels which was especially good in the evenings.
The Suite was very decent in size, nice lounge area with sofa and tv etc.
There is a nice bar area and the fridge always comes in handy for keeping drinks etc.
The bed was a king size and made for a great nights sleep, we had no complaints in that department, heads hit the pillows we were gone.
Bathroom decent size, the shower was powerfull which is always a plus.
The jacuzzi bath by the window is a really cool addition to the room where you can relax while enjoying the views.
We spent the majority of our days by the pool, which was great! Most of the beds next to the wave pool and lazy river get the sunshine most of the day, the wave pool and lazy river also make a nice change to a normal pools!
Poolside food and drinks looked expensive so we didnt have any of these but the hotel does provide free water for guests.
During the afternoons of thursday and friday a DJ comes to the pool, the music does become alot louder and this may not be everyones cup of tea.
The only resteraunt we went to in the hotel was The Cafe where we had breakfast, we both went for the pancakes which were gorgeous and the service was very friendly.
The food court is also very handy although more pricey than out of hotel fast food resteraunts.
Overall we had a really great stay at this hotel and would without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Nikki035!

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Spa Suite! The Pools seem to be very popular with our guests and we are happy that you and your partner were able to enjoy them. It is also great to know that you had great experiences with the Food Court and The Café as well! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,416 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#48 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vegas.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing