We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #102 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“OK Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2004

I stayed there during CES in January and it was OK. It was cold so we couldnt use the pool so it's tough to say if that would have made a big difference. But a few things I noticed that bugged me were (i) it really smelled bad in the lobby for some reason (ii) there are no seats in the lobby so if you're waiting for someone prepare to stand and be frustrated (iii) my check-in took an hour which was unacceptable sicne there were only maybe 15 people ahead of me.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,128
    5,877
    3,428
    1,255
    729
See reviews for
2,897
6,033
584
1,139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2004

Stayed there for a week in late Aug. 03. The pool complex is fantastic, but tended to get a little crowded. There are lots of shady areas to keep cool. Many different areas at the pool, something for everybody.
Rooms were about average, not very sound proof. We had 3 rooms for extended family and all had nice and different views of the strip. This resort is easier to get around in than some, hotel elevators are close to the pool, casino and food court. We thought all the staff was really great and helpful. The Pub and Chinese restaurant food were both very good and reasonable. The Lance Burton show is not to be missed.
Location is central and can walk to lots of other casinos and theme shopping. Beautiful hotel, if not a little contrived, but what isn't in LV? Price was great compared to others. Viva Las Vegas!! Check out Red Rock Canyon - awesome and only 40 mins. away.

Helpful?
Thank youngerbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellsquarry,Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2004

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in June 2003. The check-in was fast, and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, if a little noisy on the Saturday night because of our neighbours. We enjoyed the buffet, both breakfast and lunch. The location is good and we enjoyed walking to the other hotels.
Unfortunately the tram link with the Bellagio was not operating when we were there. Would stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank caralfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2004

What happened to the Monte Carlo??!! Stayed here in 2001 right after 9/11 and it was a wonderful place to stay. So wonderful that we decided to return in January of this year. BIG MISTAKE!

We spent three wonderful nights at the Golden Nugget and planned the last two nights so we could enjoy the strip. Since we had such a great stay previously at the Monte Carlo, we booked a room for two nights and checked in on Jan. 4th.

Check-in was fine, room was fine. The problems occurred when we hit the casino floor. Tried to cash a check and couldn't. Since I don't write checks for anything that runs through the "merchant system", our credit information was not in their files. Casino suggested we open a line of credit and we'd be fine. So, we did that. They acted like it would be no time at all to handle that and it turned out that the next morning they still hadn't been able to do anything with our application. When we were finally approved, we find out that we couldn't access the line of credit as we were promised...........you had to take $500 increments as they decided on your rating of play and they would dole the money out as they saw fit. Even though it was MY money!! Their explaination was that we didn't have much play in the casino from the night before.
Go figure.........we COULDN'T get a check cashed because of the system they used to verify checks and we didn't play enough in the casino.

After becoming frustrated with it all, decided to talk to Casino host and got the runaround there too. I told them if they had been honest with me about how the line of credit worked, I would have just used my credit card or ATM card and gotten money and we COULD Have played the night before. Nobody cared and quite frankly, they weren't very accommodating - just let me know that we hadn't played enough for them to do anything for us. We spent all morning trying to get the line of credit thing taken care of and finally decided this was crazy. We came for relaxation and a vacation, NOT to be stressed out.

So, we checked out and went to Bally's where we had a good stay previously too. What a difference!! Bally's cashed a $500 check, no problem. They cashed another one later on that day for my husband, and there was no problem at all. The room was larger, cleaner (no mold on the shower curtain and the furnishings were newer too). It was $10 more, but I'd have paid 10x that for the level of service we received at Bally's compared to Monte Carlo. Instead of hearing why they COULDN'T help us out, we were asked what they could do to help us out.

I talked to many people who have told me they experienced the same thing at the Monte Carlo and will never go there again - not even to gamble. I wonder what has happened to turn this hotel so completely different from our first trip there in 2001. All I know is I'll never go back - not to stay - and not to gamble.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2004

Stayed at the Monte Carlo between Christmas and New Year . We visit Las Vegas each year and always enjoy our visit . This was our first , and last , visit to the Monte Carlo . From the time we arrived the service was non-existent . There were no bellmen to help with the bags and no room to store them inside . Check-in was a nightmare . The rooms were sparce and noisy and each day a bottle of water was left in the room at a cost of $4.00 if you wanted to drink it . (we didn't , but they wanted to charge us anyway ) In the casino , pray you do not need a floor attendent unless you are an expert tracker . (Hint : they are found in herds as far from the guest as possibile) The buffet was plain . Dealers were rude and seemed bothered to open their table for play . I could go on , but I'll never go back .

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2004

Impressive entrance at the front of the hotel, the rooms where spacious, giving two double beds with a table and chairs the bathroom was a little disappointing as the bath was not as big and impressive as lead to beleave. the staff we're friendly and always at hand to help the casino though smaller than some had A fun atmosphere at all times.
the shopping mall had to many expensive shops offering not very much but hey you have to find a fault some where. The pool area though having three pleasent pools the concrete area ajoining the three together could do with some foliage to break up the barreness. It also so had A tram link to the beliagio giving it a good location slightly down from the main hub but with easy access. making the monte carlo a good alround place to stay. with good restuarants and food hall pleasing everyones palet.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2004

Wonderful stay at Monte Carlo from 12/10/03-12/13/03 Staff was very helpful, and everything was very clean. Will stay there again next visit!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Bally's
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,530 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The all-new, open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the all-new Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. With the announcement of the new 5,000 seat Park Theater opening Winter 2016, Monte Carlo will transform into a dynamic and vibrant property offering world-class experiences not found anywhere else on The Strip. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Beginning October 3, 2016, the pool, The Pub and the outlets located in the Street of Dreams will be closed. Access to the tram and to ARIA and Bellagio will continue to be available through the Street of Dreams. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given access to MGM Grand, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ***On Wednesday, October 5, 2016, Andre’s Restaurant and Cigar Lounge will close. Andre’s has been a great partner since its inception in 1997 and has been serving our guests with contemporary French fine dining. Please visit other dining destinations in the resort’s culinary collection such as Double Barrel Roadhouse, Diablo’s Mexican Cantina, Brand Steakhouse and Lounge and Yusho Asian Grill & Ramen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing