We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Is The WiFi????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #110 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where Is The WiFi????”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would rate this hotel as a hidden gem on the Vegas strip, but what hotel does not have WiFi these days?

If you are going to charge $20 a day for resort fees that include internet than you should be able to use a laptop while sitting in bed, not connected to the phone. Especially cumbersome if both you and your spouse has a laptop and want computer access at the same time.

I would rate this hotel as a hidden gem on the Vegas strip, but what

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,188
    5,988
    3,532
    1,318
    816
See reviews for
2,976
6,200
605
1,175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We made the mistake of staying at the Monte Carlo during this crazy thing called "March Madness". Little did we know the impact of having every one and his uncle there this weekend. Lots of young people acting like idiots (but thats what youth is about). Not hotel's fault.

Monte Carlo calls itself a 4.5 star hotel. NOT. The room 26-129 we stayed in was dingy and old. It is a smoking room. Very standard with nothing outstanding to write about. We asked for an upgrade on a few occasions and could not be accommodated due to the "March Madness" The room served the purpose so I will not bash it. The staff were robotic, not the least bit friendly or welcoming... just business, not the least bit accommodating (though I understand that in light of the time of year). The concierge (Keith) was a jewel. A really decent person who wanted to help and took the time to look up information.

It is a great location (almost at the end of the strip). Its really sad that the restaurant Diablos is located where it is as it mars the beauty that would have been Monte Carlo's beautiful entrance.

Diablos
Had dinner there one night and was so disappointed. The food arrived within 3 mins but was cold and unpalatable. Had the chicken quesedillas. I loved the music selection and would have hung around just to listen. The waitress at the bar was accommodating but our server was a dud. I would have liked a simple "hello" or a "welcome". Drinks are a bit overpriced considering there are deals to be had everywhere else.

Grande Canyon Trip
This is a major bone of contention for price discrepancy. These trips can be had for about $80 USD online and through 1 800 2 canyon (see below for review). We checked out a few places selling this bus trip and found them all wanting. Book online if you can and save a few dollars. I do recomment this trip. Its tight but gives a great few hours at the Canyon.

Confirm the following when booking:
-hot buffet lunch (not gourmet, fried chicken, pulled pork, soup, salad, corn and beans and dessert).. think its called Grande Canyon Depot (can't fully remember).
-3 hours at canyon
Unfortunately, it (bus) doesn't stop at the Hoover Dam (just a drive by)
We enjoyed our trip to the Canyon. Keep walking when you get there. There are so many views of the Canyon and you can get stuck at the more touristy spots where everyone gathers. And time is limited. We rushed through the last KM.

GRANDE CANYON TRIP
We booked online through the internet and got a better deal than all the touts were offering. This is how it works
They pick you up at your hotel
You to the HARD ROCK where you officially check in and get breakfast (plastic pastries, water and coffee).
You board your bus (numbered for convenience)
First stop for a break outside Kingman.

Lunch in Kingman. Less than an hour for eating so gobble, gobble, gobble.

Our guide Brendan was superb. At the end of the tour, he gave a recommendation on tipping. Personally we were offended at being given a "suggested" tip based on the amount of time for the tour, the safety factor etc. We booked the tour for the time frame, and fully expected to be safe. The added value was the information he provided. An added safety factor would involve having the driver equipped with a headset so he is not using a microphone and driving one handed. We were quite happy. Tipping is based on a "satisfaction" factor not being told what is "recommended". Nuff said.

Pay attention to the change of flora and fauna from desert to pine trees. It is quite remarkable.

The Strip was fun. Lots of interesting things/people to see like Kandy ?, a fella dressed in full showgirl regalia and very very chatty.

The ABC store (which I loved in Hawaii) offers some nice deals and souvenirs.

Spent too much time looking for some of the meal deals in other reviews. Looked hard for the much advertised $2.99 shrimp cocktail and ended up at an "all you can eat shrimp and crab let" buffet at Paradise Cafe (tues only).

Gambling
Spent most of our time at the Monte Carlo and people we spoke to seemed to enjoy the machines there. A challenge to find a waitress for drinks at times.

Avoid the penny slots...it just takes you money without a decent play.

Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was the 2nd time staying at Monte Carlo. This year we took the family with a had a fantastic time. After reading some of the negative reviews about this resort I was a little worried but I couldn’t find anything negative about it. Yes the rooms were a little dated but clean not falling apart like some had mentioned the beds are very comfy the bath rooms were very clean hot water all the time and very good water pressure. I had gotten 2 rooms and both of them very nice we did have a little problem with the tub draining in one of the rooms called the front desk and maintainance was on it right away. Never had any other problems every one at the Monte Carlo was very helpful and pleasant. Check in and checking out was fast yes there are long lines but they move fast. The pool area is very nice and the casino very clean no we were not winners but that’s why it's gambling.
Make sure to use the MLife players card on everything even if you buy a pack of gum we were able to get the resort fees removed by using are card.
I think the negative reviews come from people not reading the fine print about resort fees so they get mad and find anything wrong so they can complain. All Las Vegas resorts and now charging resort fees not just MGM.
I would definitely stay again at Monte Carlo and highly recommend this resort it is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms nicer view and quieter. Get the Mlife players card
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm3534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
273 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Monte Carlo with a group of friends and familiy on this trip to Vegas. After shopping around, they really did have the best price for the days of our stay. Our room was cleaner this time and there were fewer young children walking through the hotel/casino. There were some issues, however.

Two of our couples specifically requested adjoining rooms when they booked the reservation over three months earlier. Upon check-in, they were unable to accomodate the request because the agent put the request in the "wrong place on the form". We found this time that the housekeeping staff has a tendency to barge into people's rooms without knocking. This happened to us once (we forgot to set the deadbolt), and we heard a customer down the hall getting after the maid because he and his spouse were apparently not clothed when she walked in on them.

We were pleased that when our in-room safe did not work, the security staff sent someone within 5-10 minutes to fix the problem. Most of the staff that we encountered did seem to be friendly.

Overall, about an average quality stay. We will probably try someplace else next time.

Room Tip: Don't ask for anything special like adjoining rooms, becaue they will not even try to accomodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, swift check in, although that was to do with the late hour we got in, it was quite busy any time we wandered through reception, room was clean, peanut and other bits of debris on the floor when we arrived, but after calling housekeeping it was sorted, the room was large enough for us, it was quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. we looked over the pool and could just see the strip through a gap in hotels, the food hall is home to an array of fast food outlets, but the brand steakhouse does the best steak and lobster dinner. its central location is ideal-although you will walk for miles, the city is clean, and safe, security guards are present everywhere, and we only heard sirens twice on our week long break, buses are cheap and frequent, you can get a 24 hour pass for $8. you can do tours and trips to the canyon, but to be honest, there is so much to do in vegas, the trips can be an ideal excuse to go again, dennys (across the street from the hotel) for food is superb, fairly cheap, large portions and endless coffee, you can get a doggy bag if you cant finish your meal. downtown fremont street has a calm cosmopolitan feel to it, with huge cheap drinks and the famous heart attack grill. the cv pharmacy has ready made sandwiches, fruit and crisps if you want to eat real cheap. put a $ in the machines and a waitress is with you in minutes offering a drink, tip her a $ per drink and youll not be thirsty, its much cheaper than sitting at the bar paying full price. an array of top end shops in both the hotels and the malls will satisfy any fashionista.

Room Tip: get half price tickets from any booth for food and shows, (theres one across the road outside M &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justustwo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

was a very pleasent stay an had lots of fun but didmnt win any money as machine are so tight, will try to bring my gran kids nrext year. lots of things for kids to do .pools an lots of water stuff to do

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent a week here as a break on our move from Ottawa to Edmonton. The hotel was good value for money. The room was clean and had enough modern updates, although we really only slept in the room as we spent most of our days outside. The pool area was fantastic as long as you get up early enough to get a spot to lounge. Frankly I just enjoyed laying around the pool and relaxing. Alcohol prices are ridiculous, considering they wont allow even a bottle of water purchased in the hotel into the pool area. I just kept going back to my room and got a cold beer there. As for everything else, well it is a tourist trap to spend money. Go across the street to the Salsa Cantina to eat. Good food at reasonable prices. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Eating in Vegas is quite a chore in itself. Almost makes people want to go to all inclusives rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoir64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo M, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi smoir64!

Thank you for your comments! We appreciate all feedback we receive from guests as it allows us to improve and provide the best service possible. We are glad you were able to enjoy the pool during your stay with us! Sorry to hear that your experiences with food and beverage did not meet your expectations. If you have any additional comments you would like to add please contact me at guestservices@montecarlo.com

Thank you again for your review!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,097 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing