We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #116 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Ok hotel considering the price. Don't expect any service unless you are in a shirt and tie. The food wasn't anything to write home about. I would spend the money and stay at a higher end hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthOntNl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16,132)
There are newer reviews for Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,400 - 9,406 of 16,136 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am sure this hotel has had its hey day, but it's not now. The hotel is stripped of almost any luxury it may have once contained and it's tired and barely worth the $50 a night I paid. And, per my previous complaints about other hotels with the same add-on policy, the idea this place charged a resort fee is laughable.

It's 2013. Wi-Fi in the room? No. You'll need to head to about any other hotel in the U.S. to get that service. Your computer will be tied to a desk that is overrun by a big light and absolutely no plug that you don't have to unplug something else.

Decent buffet? No, you'll need to go to the sister property of MGM or Aria to get more than a slop parade. I had read some not-so-flattering reviews about the buffet and as an avid traveler, I knew that buffets were no 5-star meal. So, I decided to go down and evaluate if it was just unjust complaints. The reviews had been fair and accurate--skip the buffet.

The $20 resort fee usually includes a bundle price for wi-fi, use of pool and towels, and other services. Not sure what extra bundle I was getting but it seemed ridiculous when the services weren't available and it was just a way to generate revenue.

Bathrooms are filled with unfluffy towels, sub-par shampoo / soap, and furnishings that may have not been updated in years.

But, if you are a bargain hunter and are willing to step down for the right price, the $50 + $20 resort fee wasn't a bad price. First, the resort fee is somewhat common place now in Las Vegas. Assuming everyone is charging it, some benefits is that you do connect via tram to the Bellagio, a much nicer property with amenities that are a lot more pleasant.

You also have charging privledges at a variety of sister properties including Aria, MGM, Mandalay Bay and Bellagio. For the casino nomad, this might be a nice beneft.

And, what every hotel wants to know, the people seem well trained and kind. I was met by a super nice hotel registration clerk and the check out process was super easy. I did give the adjoining restaurant, Diablo, a try and while the food missed the mark, I barely noticed because the staff was so super cool.

Overall, from a staff perspective, I like this place better than the Wynn or Encore. But, it's time for some updating and at a minimum, new towels. You'll have plenty of food choices, but avoid the buffet. And, if the price is a bargain, you might not complain too much about the resort fee. Just make sure to add it to your per night rate.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevator. You'll be walking enough in Vegas, the walk to your ro...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Booked hotel through a package deal and read most of the reviews before we booked. Check in was easy but of course they didn't have room we reserved...king bed. Ended up with a handicapped room.. "Because that was all they had"... Ok fine....bathroom was gross, shower control said hot but was cold and cold was hot....controls almost falling off..sink was small and didn't drain. Kurig coffee maker broke.
Worst part of the hotel was the smell in the Casino....at first I thought it was the Mexican restaurant but then we could smell it on the opposite end....it smelled like sewer. Burned my nose and we spent most our time away from this place our entire trip. Will not stay again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't ask for anything specific. Probably wont have it. We arrived on a Tuesday thinking that...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently stayed here with some friends when visiting Vegas for my 30th. The best thing about this place is the location. It is dead center strip so you are close to everything. I also found that the poker room, while small, had a great group of people playing and good action. The dealers throughout the casino were without exception very friendly and fun (not always something you can count on, especially on the strip). The room was ok, it could use a facelift, but the sq footage was spacious and the bathroom was large along with a shower that I could actually use on my head (i'm 6'5"). I was very happy with what we got here for the price we paid and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: High floor strip view. Both of our rooms were quiet and the beds were excellent (even for us who ha...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Spa suite was AMAZING! The dealers at Black Jack and Roulette were all so patient and helpful...I left my cell phone at The Pub..and they found it, and turned it in...it was just an over all INCREDIBLE stay at Monte Carlo, on our very first trip to Las Vegas.

We visited other casinos while there, and while the other hotels may have been more grand as far as "theme", etc..NOWHERE was more friendly or more comforable than our visit at the Monte Carlo!

We will ABSOLUTELY be staying here again WHEN (not if) we return to Vegas! LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second time staying at Monte Carlo. The only reason I gave it an above average rating is the fact that it is located next to City Center and has easy, quick access to key places on the strip. Our room on the other hand was bearable but quite disappointing if you're looking for Vegas glamour. It had scuffmarks on the wall paper, basic/boring art, and you can hear your neighbors through paper thin walls, as well as hearing every flush or shower from above you. Lovely, right? Anyways they have on-site Avis car rental (we took a car to hike in the Red Rock Canyon for $38 all day and stopped at Red Rock Resort for $5 blackjack on a weekend day (can't find that on the strip as far as I know)), the Blue Man Group performs there, and their nice French restaurant Andre's and Brand Steakhouse are on site. We really enjoyed Andres. Oh yeah and the MacDonalds Breakfast in their food court is probably the cheapest hangover food you'll find!

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a suite; the "deluxe" rooms are not that deluxe.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WakebdrGRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our King room at the Monte Carlo was large, very clean, comfortable with sitting area.We were suprised it was qutie also. We faced the strip which was nice but you overlook the casino roof. Check in took a while, the hotel was packed but the staff was very friendly. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 10:00 am. They gave us room keys and said they would call us when it was ready. About a half hour later we received a call on my cell phone that the room was ready. The strip is a short walk through the casino. You are right in the middle of the strip. The hotels location is great. We took a cab to the Mirage the cost was $8. Husband had a massage and I had a facial. Facial was ok, the woman kept upselling me with products and/or services during the facial. Very uncomfortable and not relaxing. The pool and showers at the spa are are extra too. Next time we will skip the spa. Overall, the hotel is nice, rooms are clean, quiet. Casino is a bit old but we would go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,642 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#50 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $90 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vegas.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing