We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down with poor guest service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #114 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run down with poor guest service”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel really needs a face lift. In the one-bedroom "suite" I booked, the furniture was beaten up and was "repaired" using marking pens. The Internet cable was broken and despite three calls was not repaired -- I had to get under the desk and move furniture around to try to get it to work, and it never did. You pay $20 a day as a "resort fee" for this non-functioning service. The comforter on the main bed is super thin -- you'll need to request about four blankets. They will bring you a cot for extra guests in the suite, which does NOT have a pull-out sofa, but charge an extra $30 a night -- so, on top of the resort fee, that's $50 a night on top of the quoted rate! The in-room coffee cups are styrofoam. The suite had a kitchenette, but absolutely no equipment -- no dishes, cups, etc., and no microwave!

If you try to complain to someone, you'll find that no one cares or is even concerned about TRYING to help.

The resort itself is pretty lacking, as well ... and worse, they are charging full Strip prices. If you're going to Vegas and want to stay on the Strip, be advised not to consider the Monte Carlo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,195
    6,006
    3,557
    1,339
    834
See reviews for
3,000
6,226
608
1,185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My room was not clean, no wifi, the lamps are screwed down to the table and they surprise you with a $20 resort fee. They say it is for coffee, Internet and 2 bottled waters. I had no coffee cups, 1 bottle of water and a broken Internet cable. Asked for a credit and they refused. Terrible customer service, the place is totally run down and dirty.

This hotel just failed at the most basic levels. It is dirty and tired.

Room Tip: The best tip I could give on choosing a good room at this hotel would be to get a room somewhere els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

CONS
- Rooms: Old and tattered and not in an shabby chic way either. Holes in wallpaper, damaged lampshades, stained chair, calcified shower head. NO WIFI, hard pillows, no bar fridge (even upon request, we were told they hire them out for $30 a day), noisy (can hear people in hallway and people in adjacent rooms).
- Customer Service: Staff in lobby are professional looking and well dressed. Polite and cheery but in our case weren't actually helpful. The premium room we'd booked and prepaid for wasn't available, we were given a crappy room instead, after we inspected that and noticed that it stank we asked for a different one and were eventually given a room similar to the original one we booked. But the whole process was exhausting as each time you want to ask a question you have to wait in a 15 min queue (There's no reception desk, either a check in or check out area only). Being polite is one thing and being helpful is something else.
PROS
Complimentary water in room. Nice easy chairs in room (2). Nice view (if you pay for one). Classy looking from the outside (but very VERY rundown once you actually reach the hallways to the rooms).
Overall, would not stay here again. As an individual, I didn't feel like a valued customer or that I'd gotten good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for a convention and found the hotel in need of a facelift. Carpets on the floors were spotted, the walls have scratches and the bathroom counters are small.
The staff were friendly. The front desk was suppose to contact us when our room was ready but never did. We finally checked after 5pm to see if it was ready. Evidently someone forgot to notify us. Housekeeping was very accommodating about my chemical sensitivity.

The casino does not have a good air system and continually smells of smoke.

The Cafe food is all frozen. Our panini was still cold in the middle. Andrea's on the other hand was delicious and worth the money.

Quite a walk to both the tram and the monorail . The Bellagio seems more centrally located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is a good choice for folks on a budget. It's nothing special, but the location and the price made it worthwhile. It had everything needed and spending time at the nearby, higher-end resorts was easy enough. It was less crowded than the other hotels and casinos so that was nice.Though the restaurants weren't comparable to some of the bigger name resorts, they were just a skip away so it didn't matter. I did enjoy the cocktail selections offered at the numerous on-site lounges. We paid a little extra for the Spa Suite, which was great. View of mountains and strip was beautiful. Free wifi was also a plus. My biggest complaint was the cleanliness of the hotel. Management really needs to focus some efforts here. The room, even upon check-in, was not up to standard. Very dusty and phone clearly hadn't been wiped down in some time. During the stay, the dresser/tv stand could have been wiped down but wasn't. What was lovely was the turndown service each night - fire showing on tv, music playing, and chocolates.
I would stay here again if it was the choice of the people I was traveling with, but personally, I'd prefer spending more for the next level up.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the spa suite. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Theirs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very good service here. Friendly and welcoming. Pools not open due to weather. Note: Spa offers whirlpool $10.00 use. Cafe good excellent food at fair price. Elegant lobby and food fair off casino floor very convenient. Be advised there is a resort fee of $20.00 daily plus tax. Suggest you email Concierge desk prior to arrival to answer your questions. Very helpful.
Try to book high floor view room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great Place to stay. Central in the Strip so you have easy access to all the attractions. Hotel staff were all friendly and anxious to see to your needs. Room was clean and well cared for. Noise level in the rooms are great. Blue Man show inside the resort is tremendous and you have easy access to many other shows. My only complaint was the smell of cigarette smoke being so strong and mixed with a perfume that, I guess, is designed to mask the smoke. The combination of the two smells is less than appealing.

Room Tip: The highr up, the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,256 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Vegas.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing