We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused”
Review of Mermaid's Casino

Mermaid's Casino
Ranked #126 of 456 things to do in Las Vegas
Attraction details
Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Confused”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So on our trip we visited Mermaid's, the 1st day me and my bf sat at penny machines, the waitress came right up to us we ordered our drinks and she kept them flowing! Before we could finish one we had another! We hated to leave we had stayed downtown for quite sometime. We went back the next day and the same waitress told us we needed be at machines higher than the .1 machines in order for us to order drinks. So we told her were just there yesterday on the same .1 machines and you kept giving us drinks?? She said it is the policy always has been and she was kind of rude. The day before she was working by herself but this day there was another girl working with her so idk if that bad something to do with it, but we were disappointed, and actually and left right after that. We had played .25 and $1 machines as well but as soon as we sat on the .1 was the 1st time we saw a waitress and then she tells us that crap. It made me so mad she acted like we were crazy for saying we came in the day before and you gave 14 drinks total on the .1 machines only! So... Not sure if I'll be back... I did however like the old school casino feel, but there is a few other casinos I think that are same downtown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SVT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear SVT86

Thank you for voicing your concerns. We expect consistency among our staff and wish to uphold a high standard of service at the Mermaid Casino. We will address our staff on the issue and thank you for bringing such a troubling subject to our attention. We hope you will come back to the Mermaid again!

Best,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    114
    35
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite spot in Vegas!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I love going into Mermaids for the laid back, unpretentious feel. Cocktail waitresses are friendly and attentive (shout out to Ling Ling!), and the food is great for a late night snack. Always have to get a fried oreo once during my trips! It's also one of the few places that still drop real coins, which is a nice change from the tickets that took over in the last decade or so. I'm looking forward to spending some time there when I return in November.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank angee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear angee w

Thanks for your review. We love that you enjoyed the casino and the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Best
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mermaids ROCKS!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I come to Vegas every year and stay on the strip yet end up Downtown everyday while I am there and spend lots of time at Mermaids. Old time feel and the staff is friendliest downtown. Hello Gabriella and Ling Ling from Robb (and Mike) from Michigan!!!!! Coming to see you guys August 13th-16th except finally bit the bullet and we are staying Downtown for first time. These ladies treat you like royalty. We have been coming to Vegas for twenty years and been here every time. Manager and staff always seem to know us even though we see them annually. Have to try it out if you go. Nathan's hot dogs and fried desserts seem to be popular. Can't wait to see you in 8 weeks or so.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Robb N

Thanks for your review. We love that you enjoyed the casino and the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Best
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best little Casino on Freemont street”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

One of the few places which the machines still spit out coins which is alot of fun.
You get mardi gra beads around you neck as you go in and there is a draw every half hour to win a whell spin for money.
The same 2 cocktail waitresses are still there and they look after you for drinks like royalty.
IF you go to freemont give yourself lots of time...too much to see and do

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiberious555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tiberious555

Thanks for your review. We love that you enjoyed the casino and the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Best
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coins clinking is a beautiful sound!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located in the Fremont Street Experience -- Servers were very attentive and friendly. This casino pays out in nickels!! It's fun to hear the nickels fall into the aluminum tray.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Brenda D

Thanks for your review. We love that you enjoyed the casino and the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Best
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid's Casino also viewed

 

Been to Mermaid's Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing