We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Fe Station Hotel
Ranked #155 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Sante Fe is a basic casino hotel that is not near the strip of downtown. Frequented primarily by locals. Basic room and basic amenities. Comfortable and clean but nothing exciting. Be awre that there are resort fees for use of the pool, spa, gym, etc....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    62
    76
    47
    39
See reviews for
65
58
20
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I come to Vegas several times a year, this being the first time staying here. I was very happy to find that every employee was very friendly making the stay here very enjoyable. Many Vegas hotels appear to keep their employees in a joyless zombie state. There are enough zombies playing the slot machines, no reason to have them working. This included the hotel staff, the restaurants and the casino employees.

I had a couple billing issues and the hotel manager and front desk staff were very friendly and able to resolve the problems in a short amount of time.

Several family members were staying here to attend a wedding and everyone had a fun time. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.

There is a dreaded resort fee tacked on, but for once someone is giving a few extras for this much resented charge. These are things you used to get for free, but not many hotels provide these free any more: In room wi-fi, business services, a morning newspaper, a workout room, a free round of bowling and joy of joy’s, two free Starbucks coffee’s a day. I know that coffee is free in the casino, but I’m addicted to my morning jolt.

The hotel is about 15 minutes from downtown and 25 to the strip, so have a car if you want to tour. The cab fares are probably greater than the cost of a rental car.

Cigarette smoke is of course always present. I call it ‘The Beast’ after a Seinfeld episode. There is just no stopping it. The smell is on everyone and it creeps its way into the halls of the non-smoking floors. We found that putting towels in front of the crack in the door helped. We didn’t see anyone smoking on our floor, so I think it just clings to everyone as they walk to their room like the evil it is.

We ate 3 meals at their coffee shop, and the food was very good with the exception of the salads. My wife and I had the Chinese chicken and Mexican salads. These both contained the pre-packaged salad with very few ‘goodies’ and it tasted wilted and blah. We were offered replacements, but we needed to get to the wedding.

With the bad comes the great, as the prime rib special was very tasty and was only $9.99. Salad or soup was extra, but we passed on that as the potatoes and vegetables were enough.

The Vegas staple, a shrimp cocktail appetizer, had juicy medium size shrimp. Well worth the $4 price.

Breakfasts were good, on par with most Vegas casinos.

Besides the coffee shop there was a huge selection of fast food counters, a buffet, a high end steak house and a Mexican restaurant. The menus looked good at all these places. The western nightclub was very popular.

There is a large casino that caters to locals and the clientele reflects that. You won’t be bumping into any reality ‘stars’ here. But everyone I rubbed elbows with in the casino was having a good time. Even on Saturday night it was not crowded and the cocktail service was quick.

The table games have low minimums and there is actually affordable two deck blackjack here. The sports book was outstanding with beer and hot dog specials. Enough beer will always kill anything that’s inside a hot dog.

Room Tip: There is no view unless you choose the top (nonsmoking) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am a local so I normally stay on the strip. However, had to go to wedding in northwest vegas. Santa Fe was clean, accomodating, staff was always more than willing to help and the price was right. We had free vouchers to bowling and some free slot play. Nice for a little get away and very close to hwy 95.

Room Tip: No Room Service. But, 24 cafe was great food and great price. No inconveniance at all! ! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Went to vegas for a wedding anniversary/family reunion so of course we had to bring the kids and it was in N. Vegas, Santa Fe Station was recommended so we took a look. Price was right, hotel is extremely clean, as most Station casinos are but we were surprised at the size of the casino and amenities for the kids. Kids Quest was a great safe place to drop the kids off for a little adult fun time, tons of stuff for them to do. They've also got a bowling alley, arcade and movie theater. 15 mins from SFS to the south strip and very close to the freeway. If you're looking to stay off the strip and take the kids, SFS is highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank adigerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

As a local, I'm disappointed how the buffet is being managed. There are two sides for cashiers. One for the regular people and handicaps and one for the "high rollers"! Usually nobody in line at the high roller side but the rest of us must wait. All the time watching the other cashier do absolutely nothing. It's simple, put the handicap along with the high roller side, and call over the regulars when they can, to help out. Also, why do they have a bright hot light on the salad plates or very hot when they bring out more? Very bad. The food quality is also going down hill. The salad bar is not as good as it used to be. Who wants oranges that are cut? How about some fresh fruit? No soup spoons most of the time. The food in general is WAY to salty. The sign says pork, it should say "fat". This buffet needs a manager who can get it together. After all, they say they "love locals". Do they really?

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 143pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Dayton, Nevada, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the second time that I’m staying in this Hotel. The only reason,…it’s close to my work while I’m in Las Vegas. At first everything looks nice until you get off the elevator and start heading down the hall to your room. The carpet is really dirty, with big stains and a grey something all around the edges.
The room carpet doesn’t look anything different. Huge stains! All the carpeting looks like it hasn’t been cleaned in years. The bed was actually very comfortable and clean. No complaints there at all!
The bathroom is very tiny and has poor or no ventilation. It takes forever for the mirror to clear up. The shower walls, which are natural tile, must be on the same cleaning schedule as the rugs in the hotel. The stuff what’s on the tiles is not hard water stains but soap scum and shampoo stains and who knows what, in the grout. The bath floor isn’t any better. I wonder what the original grout color was? Right now it goes from a scum grey to brown to black. There were several black mold areas where the tub meets the shower walls. You might want to use a robber glove to move the shower head. Sticky stuff up on top and the nozzles haven’t been cleaned out since they cleaned the rugs and shower walls. YUK!
I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was bad, really bad. This hotel was occupied by mainly locals and the cigarette smoke; worse than any casino in Vegas! Definitely not family orientated, there is nothing to do outside of the hotel. About a $40-50 cab ride to Fremont Street (Old Vegas). If you plan on staying here, don’t expect to go anywhere outside the hotel unless you have a vehicle or don’t mind paying a lot for a cab ride. Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Hampton Inn Las Vegas/Summerlin
Summerlin
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Vegas Summerlin Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Las Vegas Summerlin
#127 of 262 in Las Vegas
156 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#57 of 262 in Las Vegas
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Station Hotel

Property: Santa Fe Station Hotel
Address: 4949 N Rancho Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89130-3505
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southwestern-style Hotel situated 10 miles from downtown Las Vegas & 15 miles from The Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Fe Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Station Las Vegas
Santa Fe Hotel Las Vegas
Hotel Santa Fe Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing