We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Overall Hotel - Furniture needs updating - Very Tight Slots”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
Ranked #58 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We drive to Las Vegas from Oklahoma so we usually stay at 2 or 3 different locations based on our comps for the 8 to 10 day stay we are there. We booked a queen room at The Orleans Casino and Hotel. We had a queen room on the 9th floor facing the parking garage and the Las Vegas Strip. The room is a nice size and a nice size flat screen TV. The bathroom had a large sink area and a shower/tub combo with it and the toilet separated by a wall, but no door. The bathroom had a sliding pocket door that made a lot of noise when you closed it. We liked that the bathroom had a window that opened for obvious reason. It was nice to see they did upgrade the TV's to flat screen and the beds are pillow top which are very comfortable; however, they need to also update some of their furniture...it's really starting to show it's wear. We were a little disapointed how thin the walls were, we heard people in both connecting rooms and their TV's as well as when people would walk down the hallway. We did play table games and slot machines and of course they are like everywhere else on the penny slots...tight...tight...tight. We played the higher dominations and they would at least gave us a little play for our money, but once you hit something you need to get up and go to another machine because it would shut down and take it all right back. Pretty much all of the Casinos have seen how popular all the Penny Slots are and they have made them so tight it's hard to enjoy playing them unless you bet the 20 or 30 cent a spin minimum. Once you raise your bet to 90 cents or $1.50 a spin they shut down tighter than a drum. For me, I cannot play slots at the minimum...it's just way to boring. Overall, the hotel, 24 hour restaurant, the Mexican restaurant and buffet were really good and you get a great value...just stay away from the slots and you might get out with some money.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on the 9th floor because one set of the elevators first stop up is on the 9th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,398 - 2,404 of 6,028 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a long weekend in Vegas. We've seen and done the strip, so, no need to be on the strip if we didn't have to. We were in town to attend a couple hockey games at the attached Orleans Arena.
Our room faced the mountains, was clean all weekend long, and spacious with a king bed, flat screen tv, sofa and lounge chair.
The casino is Mardi Gras themed, had a food court, with a sub shop, pizza place, burger place, and also an ice cream shop, and a steak restaurant, and buffet. There were several bar areas within the place, along with a liquor store, gift shop, bowling alley, movie theatre, a concert showroom, sports book, There is also an outdoor pool, and spa, but we didn't use either of them.
For two of our days, we had a rental car for sightseeing outside of town, and the hotel is easy to get to and from the interstate.
Other than sightseeing, we didn't need to leave this place at all. It had everything we needed! Would absolutely stay here again the next time we're in town.
The only downside was at the breakfast buffet about 9am. They had more dinner and supper selections, and desserts as well, while breakfast was being served. I would've expected more breakfast options during that time, rather than mexican and cakes... just a personal opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Always book the Orleans first....service is great, rooms are attractive, clean and roomy...and promotions continue to entice us back. Shuttle between hotels and to the strip very handy and keeps us connected to the whole experience. We often book the Orleans and the Gold Coast during the same trip and can just shuttle back and forth... The value in the buffet, especially breakfast is amazing, especially when one considers the 2 for 1 senior days....

Room Tip: walk in showers helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We found the rooms to be clean and accessible. The beds, pillows and linens were fresh, clean and very comfortable. One of our party had stayed at the Wynn the night before and reported that the Orleans beds were more comfortable. We enjoyed a clean bathroom, good shower with lots of hot water. Our check in was quick and efficient as was our check out. There were no problems with billing. We like non smoking rooms and were not able to smell any smoke at all while in the room. The casino offers a good variety of slot machines and table play. You can still find $5 blackjack tables. I would recommend the Orleans as a good value as well as a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msmcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you're looking for the true Vegas experience, look no further than the Orleans. Close enough, buy yet FAR enough, away from the strip, the Orleans has it all. The casino is massive, the restaurants are plentiful and well ranging, they offer every table game imaginable (including Pai Gow, my fav), all the new and favorite slots, and the largest assortment of nickel video poker in Vegas. I travel to Vegas twice a year and the Orleans is always a top destination for our group. We will be back, guaranteed!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Overall a really good place to gamble and stay. Standard rooms are bigger than average for Vegas. The water pressure in the shower was AWESOME. We were so disappointed we had only booked 2 nights here and had to move over to Paris for the rest of our trip. The pressure at Paris was stronger in the sink than it was in the shower.
The restaurants are very good for the price. Buffet is better than average especially for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Another great stay at The Orleans. Check in took 10 minutes. Staff was friendly & helpful. Room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room. Best of all...$226 total for 4 nights! Tell me where you'll get a better price at a hotel of this quality.

Casino had $5 tables Thursday and Friday...raised minimums to $10 on the weekend. Nice for a low ball gambler like me. I hate the $25 minimums you see up & down the Strip.

Ate at 3 different restaurants in the hotel and got a very nice meal at each. $75 to rent a poolside cabana on Sunday. 52" HD plasma in the cabana with a full casino hookup so we caught all the NFL action.

I was traveling with my golf foursome. Ages range from 35-55 and we never felt the need to leave The Orleans. Really, no reason to go out to the Strip to face those crowds when you've got everything you need right here. 18 screen theater...70 lane bowling alley...arcade for teh kids. This place has it all.

Room Tip: Strip view will run you an additional $5 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinDaddy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#74 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,740 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,021 reviews
Enterprise
South Point Hotel
South Point Hotel
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#47 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,807 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 264 in Las Vegas
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orleans Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Address: 4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103-5450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $62 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orleans Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1885
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Vegas.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Orleans Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
The Orleans Hotel And Casino
Orleans Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Casino
New Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing