We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally OK, But Not That Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
Ranked #54 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Generally OK, But Not That Impressive”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I attended a business convention here and my wife tagged along. The room rates were unbelievably low for our 3 nights. Since we don't drink, smoke or gamble, I can't comment on how great any of that is. And I'll spare the full-blown moral commentary about the Zombie Smokers sitting in the casino at the machines. Suffice it to say, these are not the people who will change the world.

Room was spacious, bed was comfortable. There was a small hole in our blanket. No biggie, but I think the linens are getting worn. Bathroom was functional but dated, like the rest of the place. Plumbing needs replacing, but still functions, though our sink stopper didn't work and the sink drained extremely slow. We were near the hotel and I could hear the elevator at night. The TV is an older "big box", not a newer flat screen. We don't let those things bother us though and we didn't complain, but I think a lot of reviewers here would, so decide for yourself how important these things are.

We were asked if we wanted to pay an additional $5/night for a view of the Strip. I said OK. Wasn't worth it. There was in fact a Strip Club directly out our window view though. I kept the curtains closed the entire time.

All in all,... all things considered, I'm giving the Hotel a 4-star rank because it's exactly what it's supposed to be. Our group rate was $40/night, so I have a hard time griping in that context. We've stayed at the Wynn before, and Orleans is not even in the same league from a quality standpoint, but it was $40/night ($50 the 3rd night) and our business convention had great meeting spaces and good food for the lunches. We were looking for a low-cost place to have a 1st convention of this type, and the Orleans delivered in all the ways that were most important.

My main gripe would be unreliable WiFi in the room. I don't mind paying $12.99 night for really fast, reliable WiFi. This wasn't. It was slow and intermittent. They also have direct cable, which I didn't plug into and which may be better.

My 2nd complaint, stupid since it's Las Vegas, is the smoke smell. This hotel stinks badly. It will stink up your clothing and your hair just walking through. But I'm not subtracting points for that because this is par for the course in Las Vegas, though the newer hotels such as the Wynn, have much better air circulation and filtration systems. Orleans doesn't.

We ate in the Prime Rib Restaurant the first night. Very dated decor and ambiance. I kept expecting Dean Martin and Sammy to walk around the corner. But the service and food was good. It's upstair and "non-smoking", but not sealed off from the casino, so if smoke odor and eating don't go well together for you, you should try somewhere else. All of Las Vegas is apparently smoke free in restaurants now, but there doesn't seem to be a rule requiring separate filtration and air circulation, so it's somewhat of a moot point.

Also ate in-house at Big Al's Oyster Bar in the hotel. Surprisingly good New England Chowder and Louisiana gumbo. Service was mediocre but the food was great, as was the atmosphere.

My wife got a spa and was very happy with the massage and facial. She's somewhat picky about that, so if she liked it, it was good. That was $140 total but I don't know what all it included.

We enjoyed our three nights and had a good time, all things considered. I still can't believe the room rate our group received. Obviously it must be a loss leader and they didn't make it back on us non-gamblers.

The free shuttle took us to the Strip the last night and we enjoyed walking around. One of my friends walked to the Strip the night before, but it's a LONG walk and further than most people would probably consider "walkable", so plan on the shuttle if you don't enjoy long walks.

If you go to the Orleans prepared with the right set of expectations, and get a really great room rate, and don't need to be right on the Strip, you'll probably be pleased. If you're easily annoyed by small shortcomings and the typical issues found in dated, older hotels, spend a bit more for something nicer and newer.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a view of the Strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverado62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Orleans and appreciate your candid review. We agree that our room rate values are hard to beat and our new convention facilities are top-notch! We will pass on all your positive comments to those departments mentioned. We are planning on adding flat screen TV's to all of our rooms this year and we are working on improving our internet issues as well. Again, we appreciate the feedback. We hope you and your wife will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,615
    2,083
    672
    224
    120
See reviews for
1,206
1,832
483
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you are looking for an all-in-one family experience in Las Vegas, you can find it at the Orleans Hotel and Casino. Do you like to bowl?? Do you like the movies?? or perhaps your kids like video games. The Orleans has it all. We have always experienced good courteous service and the rooms are roomy and clean. Extra service is just a phone call away. You can find fast food at one of the various food court offerings, or a fine buffet or there are many fine dining places. Of course there are the slots and table games for the adults, There is also a shuttle that will take you to the Strip and other B-connected casinos. Make sure you sign up to be a b-connected member. There are perks for this. Enjoy your family vacation.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room. I would suggest you ask for one that gives a view of the strip. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We love families and are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay! Thanks for the great review and your patronage. We hope you will continue to stay at The Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Orleans is the best place to play, dine, get entertained, and stay off of the strip. Lots of slots and table action!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLeGodais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We could not agree more with your recent post and we could not have said it any better! Thanks for sharing your positive experiences at The Orleans, we appreciate your business. We hope you will continue to frequent our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have been going to THE ORLEANS for years and love it. We like the tables and the slots. They have great slot turnaments. We love the Buffet, It has a large selection and very reasonable price. The rooms are very large and comfortable. It realy is a great Hotel/Casino.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper floors in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We love families and are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay! Thanks for the great review and your patronage. We hope you will continue to stay at The Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice tournament because of the size. The staff was excellent and everything went very smooth. It would be nice to have a danish or roll and some fruit before the pull. It is difficult to get a breakfast so early if you have a 9:00 pull, especially if you stay up in the casino the night before late.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the recent Tournament at The Orleans! We appreciate the nice review. Your comment about the snacks will be shared with the Tournament Director. We hope to see you at the next tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had a really great time at the Orleans Feb 1-4. Everything from check-in to check-out was fantastic. Room was very nice. Spent enough time at the tables so they were gracious enough to comp it. Can't say enough good things about the dealers and pit bosses...really nice people. Don't care anything about staying on the strip. This is the only place for me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a flat screen tv so you will get a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stockrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Orleans is the best hotel, gaming resort I have had the pleasure to stay at! Friendly Waitressess, bartenders reservations and bellhops i have ever dealt with. Discounts galor. Becoming a member of B-connected was the best thing we've ever done! Rooms were clean and maids were there if anything was needed. The arena was the best. on vacation and still we got to watch our favorite sport hockey! Thanks Orleans for everthing!

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevators are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#77 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,692 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,580 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#61 of 262 in Las Vegas
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Palms Casino Resort
#66 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orleans Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Property: The Orleans Hotel & Casino
Address: 4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103-5450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orleans Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1885
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Orleans Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
The Orleans Hotel And Casino
Orleans Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Casino
New Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing