We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to be a part of it... New York... New York!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Ranked #49 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I want to be a part of it... New York... New York!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2005

NYNY is a fantastic hotel. The location is good as you are very central to the strip. The theme goes all the way through the hotel and casino right down to the style of the bathroom. I would thoroughly recommend the New Yprk Times bar with the Duelling Pianos, they were absolutley fantastic, we had a great night. The roller coaster almost beats the Stratosphere ones, fantastic place and won't cost you a fortune!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank becbec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,706
    6,354
    2,301
    620
    406
See reviews for
3,485
6,833
562
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2005

We stayed here 4 nights in June. We got a decent rate offer from the players club -- paid $79/nt with free upgrade to Park Avenue deluxe room.

Rooms were okay, kind of small, but quiet. The pool was a disappointment-- very plain, but clean. Closed early though.

Rooms seemed very far away from the elevators. Front desk staff were okay -- not friendly, not unfriendly. Some restaurant staff seemed arrogant.

The location was great. Would not pay $79 to stay here again, even though that's a good rate. I would rather move down to the Flamingo for that price, with their better pool and hopefully friendlier attitude.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DMKArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2005

We were thoroughly pleased with all aspects of New York New York Hotel. We arrived at 11 AM in the morning and our room was ready with a delightful view of the strip from the 24th floor. The room was large with two comfortable chairs, great tv, comfortable beds and a huge bathroom with a hair dryer and a makeup mirror. Housekeeping services were good. All the personnel in the hotel were cordial and helpful. We did not meet one rude person. The food at the Italian Restaurant was great especially breakfast. The three lounges all had very good entertainment and the wait staff did not keep asking you to buy drinks but you were welcome to sit and enjoy the music without purchase of libations. The hotel lobby and casino was well lighted and very clean. The innovative little sidewalk cafes were a lot of fun. We also enjoyed the Manhattan Express Roller Coaster which is a real hoot and an addition to the fun of this place. We spent a lot of our days and nights within this fun hotel. Some of the reviews say that the roller coaster shook the whole building and was very noisy in the rooms. It runs from 11 to 11 and only if you are in the casino or sidewalk cafes do you hear a roar and people screaming but this adds to the magic of the place. We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
10 Thank roadwarriorrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 29, 2005

We stayed at the NY NY for a long weekend, visiting from the UK.
We found the hotel to be really good throughout, staff at check-in were excellent and efficient- with none of the queues I saw at other hotels over the weekend.
The room was fine- not amazing but fine and big enough, we had a view at the back of the hotel over the rollercoaster but could not hear it unless we really tried.

The main thing about NYNY is the attention to the theme; the casino looks fantastic and although not the biggest I feel it was the best on the Strip for appearance and atmosphere.

The Times Square bar was always full and the piano players made it an enjoyable place. We also ate in the America restaurant- efficent and excellent.

I agree with comments elsewhere that the hotel is lively and I am sure that quieter hotels exist even in Vegas, but if you are going for the weekend and want somewhere that just sums up Las Vegas, is full of character, has a great location then I would recommend NYNY!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2005

The New York New York was an awesome place to spend the long veterans day weekend. The room was fairly spacious, however they could not provide us with a king sized bed as we had requested, and the TV was pretty small. The bathroom was also very spacious and beatiful with marble floors and countertops. The casino is not as large as the casinos at many of the other resorts, however it is very easy to walk across the short bridge to the MGM or to the Excalibur if you want to be in a larger casino. The monorail also has a station within the MGM which is just across the street, incase you want to visit a resort further down the strip. As for the noise, it did not bother myself or my girlfriend at all. We only heard the roller coaster once, and it was at 3 in the afternoon.
We got room service the first morning we were there and it was excellent. They brought us up a huge fresh fruit tray and a large pot of coffee very quickly after we had ordered it. The America restaurant also has great food, try the rueben, it was huge! This hotel has many good late-night dining spots as well that serve items such as pizza and hot dogs and sandwiches; there is nothing better than coming back from a long night of drinking to a slice of pizza. We were also impressed with the drinks to go from Coyote Ugly. A few of those and you're feeling pretty good.
I would probably stay at the NY NY again, but I would have to agree that it is the type of hotel that you don't want to spend more than a few nights at.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Craps_Shooter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding, UK
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2005

We stayed in this hotel with 4 other friends for a wedding. The bride and groom stayed in the Aladdin. We have previously stayed in the Luxor which I would rate better than the NYNY. The main problem with the hotel was the noise, I know all casino hotels are noisy but this place has no place to chill. It is a bit like a stag do in Blackpool every evening! Its a great place for a few nights but for a week like we had you need another holiday when you get home. Having said that the Staff were great, food excellent and good value and location is good, oposite the MGM Grand and next to Excalibur. We did take the upgrade we were offered on arrival, the room was very chic but half the size of our freinds who did not upgrade but their room was more 80's than boutique! Overall a fantastic hotel if you are only there for 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mini-chippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 21, 2005

We have just returned home from a weekend at the New York, New York. The hotel has a wonderful theme, and they pay attention to a lot of the little details. The rooms are pretty standard for what you get on the strip at that price, the bathrooms are a little boring and the shower pressure was not very good.
We were able to check in immediately, and the line though pretty long moved quickly. We had an issue when we tried to get into our room at the end of the night, our keys no longer worked, as they thought they had changed our room. They told us we would have to wait an hour for someone to bring us new keys, so we went down to the desk where they issued new keys, only to get up to the room and not have them work...again. Finally after telling us they had reissued our room (with our luggage in it...nothing was taken though)...they gave us correct keys and we had no further problems. It was rather inconvienient but could happen anywhere, I just felt that the hotel did not deal with it very well, as it took an hour to finally get into our room (with us going up and down the elevators) and they would not compensate us for our time and trouble.
The location the hotel is south strip, and though there are some nice hotels nearby, it is quite a walk to get to any of the shopping hotels. I have been to Vegas many times, and find that if you like to get out and spend time in other hotels, this one was not as convienient as the hotels mid-strip in a similar price range.
Overall the hotel was fine, but I probably would not return.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,256 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,696 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Paris Las Vegas
#58 of 262 in Las Vegas
22,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Property: New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing