We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Ranked #54 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had a fantastic time with my wife and family celebrating our daughters 30th birthday. The staff was fantastic. The dealers Pete and Peter were hillarious and helped people when playing cards. Great Experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,123 - 11,129 of 17,277 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel was exactly as billed - a scaled version of NYC. The "neighborhood" feel of the interior was fun - from Times Square to Greenwich Village, narrow streets, and every type of dining you can imagine. Even though the hotel is huge, you never had the feeling of being crowded. Casino was spread out, felt virtually smoke free and had a great variety of gaming options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schooladmin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Vegas. This reviewer has already written three other reviews of hotels in the area: one downtown, two off the strip and now, the first review for ‘on the strip’. Let me state from the outset, and somewhat shamelessly, that price point was the major driver for a stay at New York, New York. Depending on the time of year, some amazing (think sub $70 not inclusive of ‘resort’ fee) deals can be had. Given you tend not to spend a lot of time in said room, I thought this a terrific bargain.

My initial thoughts on the hotel? In two words, “price” “dependent”. Usual format for my reviews: the overview of the room, the good, the bad, and a conclusion. Would I be back? Perhaps. As alluded to above, given extras are expensive and what is not in the room – read on – my return would be almost entirely dependent on the price of the room especially given similar age/price point hotels (when you factor in extras) are available. The standard of the hotel in itself was not of sufficient caliber to merit an automatic re-visit if in the area.

The room itself? Entirely smoke free floors exist (which were actually smoke free!) so take advantage of that if you need too. Two queen size beds were decent, linen was fresh, room was clean (and well cleaned). There was the in-room safe, flat screen TV (with channels catering to all languages), iron and board all useful. No fridge, which was annoying. No bottled water provided either. Odd. Bathroom décor was straight from the 1980s, towels that needed upgrading and toiletries found in a 99 cent store left a mixed impression. Room key was a swipe card though power worked without placing card in one of those ‘insert card here or you have a pitch black room’ things. In room iPod/iPhone dock (not iPhone 5 capable) was nice. Carpet was pretty clean given the age of the hotel. Curtains dark. Valet is a bit strange: auto-scan your ticket rather than traditional style. A tip? Ask for a room as high up as possible. Better view, not to mention much quieter. This reviewer stayed in the Chrysler Tower. Great in theory, though a 7 minute walk – and not in a straight line – from the check in area. Other towers are closer if you are mobility challenged. Ask for it at Check In.

The good? In no particular order:
1. The gaming floor has $5 blackjack. Well advertised by the hotel – and I suspect only for the off season - but uncommon on the main part of the Strip. The floor itself is recently(ish) modernised and airy (contrast to hotel section that I saw, which with low ceilings, is not).
2. Ability to check out utilizing multiple platforms, from email to TV to front desk. If you’re hung over – and let’s face it, it’s Vegas – and you don’t want to face anyone, this will no doubt help you. Great to see some hotels embrace technology. Others can learn something from it.
3. Staff this reviewer encountered all very friendly. Subjective I know, but Check In, Valet, Cleaning staff. People assume this stuff, you should not. Manners – and respect in return – were a nice touch. I checked out view email. Efficient. Quick. Clinical. Modern.
4. Finding somewhere after 2am that is open for food on the Strip is tough. New York, New York has a ‘NY style’ pizza place that is if the munchies get you at 3am. O/wise, downstairs as several restaurants and bars, a Starbucks and a gaming area with rollercoaster (tip? Go online and get a coupon for 2 for 1… Drops the price of a ride from $14 to 7. Worth it)

Needs some improvement?
1. Resort fee. 20 bucks. For what (given it is December)? Good question. In theory, “access to business center” (nearly 40 reviews and I am yet to walk into one), free wifi (given incremental cost to hotels, this should be free. Period.), access to the gym (This is Vegas: can’t say I go to see a hotel’s gym facilities), free newspaper (not delivered to the room though) and presumably access to the pool when it is open. Again. Its December. Some intelligence from hotel management would mean they waive the ‘resort fee’ for the winter months. $20 per person, per room, per stay for effectively wifi. Over priced and unnecessary, especially when some competitors (ex: Planet Hollywood) for a price point that is just a touch higher, waives it
2. Not limited to New York, New York, but how on this earth do casinos get away with charging $6~7 PER WITHDRAWL for casino based ATMs??!?! Outrageous. Options? If on the Strip, there is a Wells Fargo ATM near Planet Hollywood, there is a Citi ATM at the 7-11 and there was a (broken) Chase ATM at the Riteaid. $2~3 per. Given you are gambling, isn’t this a small charge? Well, yes but I hate the principal of it. It is blatant over charging because the banks can’t be bothered to get in there or more likely, are restricted. Worth noting.
3. Some small things: the lack of a small fridge in the room annoyed me. Given most people buy water, Gatorade, alcoholic beverages etc and store them, that you can’t here is bothersome. I’d also not normally mention the lack of hotel supplied bottled water, but Vegas water can be, well, awful. The Starbucks had huge lines whenever we passed, indicating habits die hard (or that the coffee at the other places was awful)
4. Location. I will put in in the ‘bad’ but in all honestly, it’s a neutral. It is north of Tropicana (so above Mandalay Bay, Luxor and Excaliber) but it is still a 30 min walk (or 15 min cab) to Venetian. The Strip is bigger than you think. Good walking shoes are a must.

Conclusion? Not bad, but nothing that would draw me back automatically.. In fact, probably the opposite given resort fee (in December), lack of a fridge and the fact it is a 20~30 mins walk (or a $10~15 cab ride each way) from Strip Center. Given most decent clubs and bars are elsewhere, you will need to make use of these. Those costs add up quickly and are worth considering. Price point is critical here I think and the rooms that I saw were aimed at a price point. Expectations were met but certainly not exceeded.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyes_Wide_Open01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Guest Relations Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. We truly appreciate our guests feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your guest room and the value that we offer at New York New York. We appreciate the feedback about the resort fee. Our resort fee inclusions are an attempt to enhance our guests overall experience by bundling the amenities they use most often instead of charging per service as other properties do. We also regret to hear you were dissatisfied that the rooms did not offer a refrigerator. We do offer for refrigerators to be sent to our guest rooms for a mimimal daily fee. We will share your feedback with our management team to review and take into consideration when we are adding new enhancements to our guest rooms. Lastly we are grateful for you acknowledging our use of technology for express check out options, we are always looking to the best and most efficent options to better assist our guests. If you should have any questions or need any assistnace, please contact me at guestservices@nyforme.com.

Regards,

Noreen Stewart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good size room, pillows not great. Great location to visit shows at hotel or nearby casino/resorts. Hotel has good restaurants at reasonable prices. Close to the airport. Do recommend this hotel and casino.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here during Thanksgiving. We love the hotel. The room was rather small but was a corner room on the 37th floor with spectacular views. The casinos were a bit tight but plenty to do around that area. The staff and hotel were super nice and helped make the stay a bit better since we were forced to double pay since our booking was done through a company that went bankrupt and kept our money. The company name is Vagas View.Com and TripRes.Com. Be careful booking with unfamiliar names as this happened to several people staying at this hotel. New York New York gave us a better deal than they did and we thought this was very nice of them, considering. Our overall stay here was great! Tips: CVS sells booze and is across the street. Take a cab or shuttle to downtown if you want to win any money. Although, we did find downtown to be dirty and floating with scummy people.

Room Tip: Ice machines are not on every floor. Winnings are not good here in our experience. It takes forever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaeOkalahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

To keep it simple:

Pros:
-Great location. Not too busy of an hotel on the strip and it’s only about a 10 minute walk to Paris Hotel, Planet Hollywood etc which is the hub of the activities.
-There is a food court, pharmacy, convenient store and bus stop all across the street.
-Rollercoaster and games allow some fun inside the hotel without going out. (The down side is that rollercoaster only run if there are 10 people there. It really should run every 15-20 mins. Plus if you bring ANYTHING –cell, sunglasses, IPOD they make you use a locker for an extra .50cents)
-Clean and comfortable hotel and rooms.
-Housekeeping was friendly.
-Great view and a quiet room for a hotel on the strip
-Small, but decent size gym.
-Coyote Ugly bar is fun on Friday nights.
-Great people at the Houdini’s Magic store

Cons:
-Restaurants in the hotel don't have the best food. Don’t waste your time there.
-No fridge, kettle or coffee maker in the room.
-Room Service will charge you a lot of money, including a delivery fee if you request an empty glass to be sent your room (cheaper to go the store and buy one)
-Staff isn’t very friendly (except for check-in...They were very nice)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGirlMarch2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Guest Relations Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the roller coaster. Thank you for recognizing our teams in Housekeeping, Front Desk and the Houdini Magic shop. We also appreciate your feedback about the coffee makers and refrigerators. We will share your feedback with our management team to consider when we are adding any new enhancements to our guest rooms. Please contact me should you need any assistance or have any questions.

Regards,

Noreen Stewart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very Clean and nice resort. Gaming was fun and entertainment good. Only problem was that I was given a room the farthest from the elevators. I was walking with a cane and asked to be moved closer to the elevator, this situation was never resolved, this was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#109 of 265 in Las Vegas
4,557 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#52 of 265 in Las Vegas
18,670 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 265 in Las Vegas
13,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Paris Las Vegas
#56 of 265 in Las Vegas
25,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $92 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Vegas.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing