We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
32 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$59
Hotels.com$59
Agoda.com$59
travelup.com$84
eDreams$59
CheapTickets$59
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33,201)
Filter reviews
33,201 results
Traveler rating
12,520
8,737
5,387
3,058
3,499
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12,520
8,737
5,387
3,058
3,499
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river wet republic food court huge hotel m life other hotels new york new york long walk strip view casino floor mandalay bay vegas hakkasan monorail shows gambling mlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,966 - 5,971 of 33,201 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2019

We've stayed at the MGM Grand Hotel and Casino a few other times and had better experiences. This time, we were assigned what can best be described as a "European Efficiency," room. The door opened onto the bathroom sink - directly onto the bathroom sink. The sink had no COLD water . The bathroom itself was a "water closet," with a swinging door - needless to say, privacy was less than optimal! The shower was decent although the faucet was confusing to work. No refrigerator, honor bar, or coffee maker, yet a $300 reserve charge was placed on our credit card. All of this may have been tolerable had the cost of the room been less than $100/night - instead we averaged $150/night plus resort fee ($37) and taxes! They're trying to move to a "mobile" check-in system, but they clearly have not figured this one out yet. (But, their sister hotel, New York New York has a stellar self check in service - go figure!)

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
1  Thank Madhswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

Tried to work during the day from our room while my wife was downstairs at a conference. Cell reception, even right by the window from the 9th floor, was terrible even with unobstructed views towards the airport. I'll let them pass on this one since they don't control cell tower placement, but it sure seemed something was blocking the signal because it was a lot stronger in other parts of the hotel.

Wi-fi in the room was equally awful, and nearly impossible to connect to. Neither my or my wife's cell phone would connect no matter what I did (and I'm an IT specialist with a masters in network engineering), nor would her laptop despite hours of tinkering under the hood. My work laptop would connect, but very unreliably, and constantly lost connection. The only other option was to try and use an ethernet cable to the physical plug by the TV, but the hotel doesn't have any they'll let you use. You have to go buy one somewhere. I've stayed at many other hotels that let you borrow an ethernet cable because their wi-fi stinks. Suffice it to say, this hotel is entirely unsuitable for business travelers who need to rely on good cell and wi-fi coverage.

The room had no microwave, so there was no way to heat up any water for tea. They want you to go downstairs (about a 20 minute round trip) and buy something from their vendors. There is no coffee maker, either, so you have to go downstairs and stand in line at Starbucks for 20 more minutes, in addition to just the time it takes to get there and back. Again, they want you to spend money. There is also no minifridge, so you will not be taking home any leftovers or grabbing a few drinks or a bottle of water to keep cold and handy. Even if you did take home leftovers, there isn't any way to reheat them. If you think you're going to just use the minibar to put your own bottle of water in, forget it. There is a $50 fine for doing so, printed right on the minibar. Your only other option is to rent a minifridge for $35 per day. So, as room ammenities go, this place stinks. They do everything they can to take away what you'd find for free in any other cheap hotel anywhere else in the country so they can force you to go downstairs and spend more money. Your mandatory $40 per day “resort fee” covers useless stuff like notary services, airline check-in on the computers in the business center (which I'd be willing to bet not even hotel staff can find), a pool towel and a few other things (like maybe useless wi-fi that's unencrypted on an open network so everyone else within 300 feet can steal your passwords and e-mail accounts).

As far as getting accurate information on hotel events, I wouldn't rely on the very service that's supposed to supply that. The concierge was very nice, but also very adamant that tickets to the Eagles show there at the hotel would not be sold for less than face value, no matter what. The concert promoter, he assured me, would eat the cost of any empty seats. Patently false. I put a price alert on StubHub and the very next morning got tickets for 1/4 the price the concierge said would be the lowest price. Either he is clueless about the concert process at his own hotel, or was trying to get us to pay a hugely inflated price.

That concert venue, by the way, the Garden Arena, has only one entrance for 14,000 people to use, so the line snaked through the entire casino and out into the street. Absurd. When the show was over, those same 14,000 people appeared to also have only one way out. Everyone stood in the hallway for 20 minutes, packed in like sardines, waiting and wondering how we were all supposed to get out of there. There would have been massive casualties had a fire broken out or an active shooter emerged. Entirely unsafe.

Basically, this place will nickel and dime you to death just like cheapo airlines, it's entirely unsuitable for business travel because you can't count on any of the needed infrastructure to work, there is no ability to have food or drinks in the room that weren't purchased at some ridiculously inflated price downstairs ($23 for a turkey wrap, some chips and a drink), you may miss a show you want to see because the concierge desk is ill-informed, and the Garden Arena is NOT for claustrophobic types when the entire crowd is trying to exit through a questionably small and questionably safe number of doors.

On the plus side, we enjoyed buckets of beer at the large pool complex.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

rip off central. very over priced. loud loud loud. way overpriced for the product delivered. other hotel\casinos way more reasonable. reservation people are 3rd party but come off as MGM GRAND staff and when you get to hotel they say " oh you should call us" . i thought i had!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
1  Thank mlg1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

Everything is fine but nothing special. Would be fine except they still charge the premium price. The blackjack odds are also not good and i ended up walking to tropicana to get a fair chance. Nothing signifant was wrong with the mgm other than my room having tv signal issue and an annoyingly leaky tub but nothing was also that great for the price point.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
1  Thank BobKondz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

Our 46th Wedding Anniversary. We Enjoyed Relaxing,Sunning,Food,Drink,Gambling and sit Seeing.
Our Daughter later Joined us and went to the Mirage Resort. There she enjoyed the Dolphin personal Experience.
It was a Wonderful8 day Vacation.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
1  Thank Adventurer320489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews