We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business trips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #67 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for business trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the first time I've stayed at the MGM. We were in town for a tradeshow/conference at the MGM Grand Convention Center. We stayed at the MGM the first few days and the Paris the last few days. (We had a king room). We got a special convention rate. They also waived the resort fees for business/tradeshow guests and included one buffet a day.

Pros:
-The rooms at MGM appeared to be recently renovated and were spacious.
-The casino area did not smell dingy or smokey like some of the others do.
-The food court is conveniently located en route to the convention center for quick snacks or
lunch in between seminars.
-There are many different options for food, from restaurants to fast food & a 24 hr Starbucks.
-Ambiance is nice and clean.
-Service on the casino floor was quick.
-We were staying there 3 days and got 3 buffets included (we needed 6 since there were 2
of us booked in the room). We both ate there once on the same day, and the 2 buffet
meals were covered. So it appears that you can use them all in one day to cover
other room guests or separately, which is nice).
-Nice pool/cabana area.
-The bed was extremely comfortable.
-The monorail is located inside the MGM.

Cons:
-Our included buffet a day included enough for only 1 person per day, even though 2 of
us had booked the room.
-Our included buffet had to be used before a certain time (10am) which was hard to do with
the tradeshow/seminar schedule. It would have been nice to have the option to use it
later. We wasted 2 days of the buffet because we couldn't make it back in time in
between classes.
-Not centrally located on the strip. (I prefer the location of the Paris).
-I did not personally have time to use it, but I was told by a previous guest that they charge
$20-$25 for a lounge chair at the pool. (This may or may not be the case, since I didn't
use it.
-The casino area is large. We got lost in the maze a few times.

All in all, I really liked the MGM and would stay there again. It was really convenient for the convention. I was impressed with the room size, artwork and how comfortable the bed was! I might prefer to be more centrally located if I wasn't there for a convention.

Room Tip: Especially if you're a first timer to Vegas, ask for a view of the strip or New York, New York...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,650
    5,644
    2,431
    940
    659
See reviews for
3,047
6,700
611
2,143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

MGM is our favorite place to stay in Vegas. We love the rooms, casino, staff, everything. The only reason that I couldn't give a five star rating is that we did not receive the offer/benefits we were promised when we made the reservation over the phone. We're a "M Life" member (casino loyalty card) so we receive emails pretty often. We received an email with a good offer (we thought), called, gave the promotion code that was in the email. She confirmed the offer over the phone and we were done. We've used these offers many times before, never had any problems. We made the mistake of not keeping the email with the special offer details. We went to the players club desk and she said that it looked like the offer had expired, so we didn't get the special deal. We will stay here again, as I stated, we love MGM, the rooms are awesome, the staff, room service, I could go on and on ... But we learned, if you book using these special offers, keep the email with details, or any of your documentation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear ewoka13:

We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit to MGM Grand. Comments like yours offer genuine insight into the experiences of our guests.

We regret the reservation complications that seemed to hamper the overall enjoyment of your stay. As you know our Mlife program offers some fantastic benefits, and is a sure bet to help facilitate a truly memorable Las Vegas experience. We apologize for these unfortunate communication shortfalls and inconveniences that you encountered. When situations of this nature arise, we strive to reach an amiable and reasonable resolution. We truly lament that we fell short of this goal.

Thank you for your kind and truly magnanimous comments. Your ongoing patronage is deeply appreciated. It is reassuring to know that despite some issues with our Mlife program, you were still able to have a very pleasant time at MGM Grand. Rest assured we will look into these concerns, and commit ourselves to providing you with a better experience in the future.

Sincerely,



Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Of all the trips I've taken to Vegas the times I stay at the MGM are my most favorite trips. As someone who has been to Vegas and stayed elsewhere I can say with confidence that I'm a big MGM fan. MGM is an older hotel compared to the CityCenter across the street or Bellagio or Wynn and it may not be as prestigious as those but it sure is great. The rooms are roomy and quiet. The casino floor and hotel layout is probably the best of all the casinos in Vegas. Only complaint would be that the suites offered aren't as spectacular as other hotels but it's Vegas so you shouldn't be in your room anyway. The location of the hotel is great the Mandalay Bay mall is across the street as is the Planet Hollywood and City Center shops. Bellagio fountain and shops are close as well. You can easily pull off the walk up to the Wynn too it's really not that far. If you want to have a great room in a great location in a great hotel stay at the MGM.

Room Tip: Suites aren't that great just stick to the normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AldoStrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear AldoStrada:

It is great to hear that you had such a fun time with us. Thank you for posting your comments online.

The MGM Grand team works hard to create the complete Las Vegas resort experience by delivering an unsurpassed level of customer service and premier hotel and casino facility. With nearly every aspect of our property benefiting from the revitalizing touch of our “Grand Renovation,” an updated facility and exciting new amenities means a premier guest experience.

But our beautiful property would be nothing without our renowned dedication to exceptional service. We believe our patrons deserve the best, and we strive to deliver. Your observations and comments help affirm that we are reaching this goal.

We here at MGM Grand truly value your remarks and appreciate your patronage, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,



Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Since we had an early flight from our home State and arrived at the MGM mid morning, our room was understandably not ready. However, the Check in desk people were friendly, gave us our room key cards, showed us where to store our luggage, and promised to call us on our cell phone once a room was assigned and cleaned. The baggage room gentlemen were friendly and mentioned that they would take care of the bags and bring them to the room once one was assigned. This worked for us since we needed to pick up the show tickets we had ordered for two nights, get something to eat, and get reacquainted with the area. Having not heard back from the MGM by 2:30, I called to ask if our room was ready and whether we needed to pick up our luggage at the baggage room or if it was already in our room. She gave me the room number, said it was ready, and asked if I was given a card when we checked in. With that, she curtly told me that the card was how I get into the room they just assigned and hung up. After picking up our luggage downstairs , we arrived at our room on the 18th floor. The room had a strong smell of something resembling burnt BBQ which grew worse in the evening. We discovered that it was coming fro outside up through the air exchange vents at the bottom of the window, so we closed the vent and we either got used to the smell or it dissapated some. However, Housekeeping reoped the vents every morning and the smell would come back. Since there were places we wanted to see, and my wife was interested in seeing an Outlet Mall off the north end of the Strip, we went down to the Concierge Desk to ask for information about how to get around. While other Concierge's at the counter seemed to be giving detailed assistance to people they were serving, our Concierge simply reached around and grabbed a card showing bus stops for two bus lines and simply told us to look at that. He then looked up at the people behind us as if to ask what they needed. Housekeeping was neither the best nor the worst that we have seen. While the room was cleaned every day, things like hair on the tub from previous guests and not leaving any towels in the room after cleaning detracted from the attention to deatail that you woul expect from a four or five star resort. Once downstairs, I personally found the layout of the MGM to be more confusing that other places we stayed at along the strip. Finding a way out of the MGM was also rather confusing once you entered the maze of the Casino, and overhead signs to restaurants, theaters, or other locations sometimes had you going in circles. Sleep quality was hindered somewhat by bright green lights shining upward from a flat roof far below that shined through the window. Also, the air conditioning didn't cool the room below 67F at night despite being set lower, and while the room was generally quiet the first and second nights we were there, a very noisy group involving a few rooms decided to party until after 1:30AM the night before we left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Randy049:

MGM Grand consistently strives to create the Las Vegas resort and entertainment destination our guests have always imagined by offering premier hotel amenities and the highest level of customer service possible. While it sounds like your stay was a modestly pleasant one, it is clear that we did not achieve our goal of providing you with a truly memorable experience. Observations such as yours lend us the tools and insight necessary to make improvements.

We apologize for any service shortfalls committed by our Concierge staff, or Customer Relations team. We further regret any disconcertment experienced in your assigned accommodations as a result of Housekeeping, external lighting, in-room temperature control or the ambient odors of adjacent restaurants. We also lament any noise disturbance issues created by boisterous neighbors.

All of your concerns are of deeply important to us. We are grateful for your feedback and acknowledge that the issues you faced created a trip that fell short of the standards you should expect. We can assure you that we take your observations very seriously, and we will review each one in turn to make sure they are remedied in kind.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stay at the MGM Grand every year during NASCAR and we also stayed there when our daughter got married 3 years ago. These people really know how to treat their guests and their rooms are always exceptionally clean. We highly recommend them to anyone visiting Las Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Randy049:

MGM Grand consistently strives to create the Las Vegas resort and entertainment destination our guests have always imagined by offering premier hotel amenities and the highest level of customer service possible. While it sounds like your stay was a modestly pleasant one, it is clear that we did not achieve our goal of providing you with a truly memorable experience. Observations such as yours lend us the tools and insight necessary to make improvements.

We apologize for any service shortfalls committed by our Concierge staff, or Customer Relations team. We further regret any disconcertment experienced in your assigned accommodations as a result of Housekeeping, external lighting, in-room temperature control or the ambient odors of adjacent restaurants. We also lament any noise disturbance issues created by boisterous neighbors.

All of your concerns are deeply important to us. We are grateful for your feedback and acknowledge that the issues you faced created a trip that fell short of the standards you should expect. We can assure you that we take your observations very seriously, and we will review each one in turn to make sure they are remedied in kind.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been to Vegas several times and always wanted to stay at the MGM because their casino always smelled so nice. The smell of smoke irritates my sinuses and I really enjoyed being able to gamble without sneezing. :). Thank you MGM for an awesome air circulating system!
The beds are very comfortable and SO clean! Customer service was great! I will stay here again!

Room Tip: I booked 6 months earlier and received an awesome deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been to Vegas many times - but never stayed at MGM. Standard room was very nice - on same floor as casino of West Tower. Was at first a little concerned with that, but no issues with noise and given the size of the hotel and casino it turned out most convenient. Room clean and modern and staff most friendly. Casino nice and open - and smoke kept to a minimum. Fun time - I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UeckerJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,261 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,106 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxor Las Vegas
#71 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Property: MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing