We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you ask a room close to the lifts unles you are a maraton runner!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #77 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the NEW! Grand Premier View Room. Very spacious, very clean and brand new everything. Room has all you need and if you could pay something around 100$-120$ per night, is great, you can get it cheaper then it is a steal. Be aware that "A daily resort fee of $25 plus tax will be added to your room account" which is almost 25% your room charge, very misleading when looking at the price calendar however it is very common in Vegas so I don't think you can avoid that. The wifi in our room wasn't working and even though we reported it the first day, they couldn't fix that which was practically why they charge that resort fee. Another thing is make sure you ask a room very close to lifts. The hotel wings are ridiculously long, they gave us a room at the end of one wing which was practically 5 minutes walk from our door to the lift. (imagine forgetting your mobile phone in the room and realising in the last minute adds 10 more minutes on the hotel corridors a day on top of your usual 30 mins average, after 3 days we thought about renting that old people scooters). Apart from that even though there are a lot of hotels in Vegas, I think MGM is good value for your money and I would stay again only if I get a room closer to the lifts.

Room Tip: Closer to the lifts is a must. Newly renovated rooms are much better so try to book them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888alien888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear 888alien888

Our newly updated rooms are indeed impressive! Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm. The property wide “Grand Renovation” has created some memorable results both inside our rooms and out and we are definitely encouraged by your comments. It is also great to know that you enjoyed some panoramic vistas of the Las Vegas Strip. No stay is truly complete without one of our “Premier Views.”

We would also like to thank you for expressing your observations regarding our resort fee program. As a result of its effectiveness in providing a convenient package of highly requested amenities within the structure of a single bargain priced fee, this program has become a near staple of the Las Vegas resort guest experience. Our guests needed a better way to procure the myriad of requested amenities without the ungainliness of the piecemeal a la carte method that was the norm. We answered this call, and the results have proven an unmitigated success. We do apologize for any complications with the internet service provider encountered during your stay. This is being upgraded presently and we appreciate your patience.

Lastly, we welcome your comments regarding the expansive nature of our hallways and hotel. The impressive scale of our property affords us the opportunity to house an awe inspiring collection of dining options, entertainment choices, attractions, nightlife, casinos, and more. This in turn is complimented by a dedicated staff of service professionals committed to providing each and every guest a Las Vegas resort experience that is unparalleled. Is it any wonder that the demand to stay with us is so great? We seek only to accommodate the needs of our guests, and each one is respected in kind.

Thank you again for your comments. Observations like yours give us the chance to evaluate and improve upon the guest experience. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15,102 - 15,108 of 18,682 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at 10am on a Thursday for a prepaid early check-in. Our room was not ready which was told to us with profuse apologies. The extra $20 was taken off our bill and we were told to come back at 3pm. We were told that they were "fully booked" the night before and no one was checking out on time. At 3:30 our exact preference for a Executive King room was ready on a upper floor with a strip view was ready. The room and view was worth the wait! At nearly 700 square feet the suite was beyond expectation.

I highly recommend that you apply for their MLife reward card before you travel to Vegas, that way you get credit for the trip before you even walk through the door if you pay in advance. You also can skip many lines as an "invited guest".

We relied on their concierge desk to book our four shows in advance and every seat was perfect. We originally booked tickets for Green Day but when they cancelled we were easily ably to get a refund and book a show instead. We avoided difficulty and had more flexibility by purchasing with MGM and not Ticketmaster. Our tickets were heavily discounted because I purchased tickets for more than one show! We asked for a deal and was definitely given one.

The main asset of MGM is their employees! Everyone said hello if they made eye contact and offered tips an suggestions that went a long way to make our stay excellent!.

I also suggest booking directly with the hotel; as with all Vegas properties there are many hidden fees that are not fully explained when you book using a discount service like Expedia. When those fees are added, the discount services offer no real bargains. The hotel booking desk explained everything; I suggest you book over the phone and ask questions your first time so there are no surprises. Again, the MGM employees make every effort to accommodate and answer any and all questions.

The only negative experience was their WiFi was limited or non existent. It is contracted to Cox Communications which is a local internet provider and they seriously dropped the ball. We had several devices and all had difficulty. This happens elsewhere, but when you advertise your media hub and WiFi it better be top notch.

I have also read previous posts that mentioned excessive walking; I for one appreciated the walking after feasting at the Grande Buffet!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Chris B:

Your comments are undoubtedly those of a seasoned traveler. We appreciate your magnanimous observations and keen insights.

First, we would like to thank you for your patience upon check-in. Rare delays in room availability have been known to occur, especially when the excitement of a high profile event means long nights and late mornings for many party going patrons. Your patience in this matter is cherished. As you know, flexibility manufactures its own rewards.

Your perception into the booking of reservations and show tickets is exactly correct. Our staff of knowledgeable specialists and concierge is best suited to craft your Las Vegas experience from concept to implementation. We utilize local knowledge, creative problem solving, and motivated tenacity to make sure you experience unmatched entertainment.

Lastly, we would like to apologize for the complications you experienced with our Internet system. Great progress has already been made in the property wide upgrade process since you have stayed with us. We certainly regret these difficulties. Please know that we take the concerns of our guests seriously, and momentous strides have already been put forth to fix these issues. We will continue improving this service, as we are fully aware of its value to our guests.

MGM Grand is an impressive resort with spectacular attractions and excitement at every turn. At the heart of our organization is the dedicated staff who propagate our culture of exceptional customer service. Please come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My first trip to Vegas was a family trip with my mom and dad and my brother. I have always swore I would hate las Vegas and had no desire to ever go. Well I sure was wrong and the MGM was a huge reason why. Right from driving up and seeing how organized the taxis and cars were, to how quick and friendly everyone was at the check in. Even the drunk people standing in line checking in with us were friendly. It was so clean you probably could have eaten off the floor our room was so big and comfortable. The only bad thing was the tub was so big it took all day to fill. Last but not least was the fact you couldn't smell any smoke while on the casino floor. I am a smoker and my mom is not and she could barely smell it while sitting beside me. Everything about this place is great

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear VLMW:

Welcome to the marvel and excitement that is the Las Vegas experience! The days of smoke filled, back room, gambling houses have long been consigned to pages of Las Vegas’ colorful past. As you have witnessed, the modern incarnation is much different indeed.

At MGM Grand, a well appointed and welcoming environment greets all who care to visit this adult playground. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your visit. Attentive service, breathtaking sights, and an atmosphere of palpable energy are yours to enjoy. Come see us again, and even bring a skeptical friend or two. We will do our part to change their minds forever.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very big... Very clean... Big rooms... The price is really good but the food is so expensive and the quality is normal... The lobby is so big... The big problem is to wait a long qeue every time you need something

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelito27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Angelito27:

Thank you for your review. “Perfect” is good, and we aim at nothing less for every guest we serve. It does seem that you encountered some issues of timeliness in our service, and we apologize for this. Occasional surges in volume and traffic do cause temporary slowdowns from time to time. We work hard to prevent this, and if we didn’t attain our goal in your case, we will be steadfast in finding a remedy. Also, we regularly assess all aspects of our products and services to ensure maximum value for the money.

We also regret that some of your dining experiences proved unable to exceed your expectations. With a plethora of options available, I’m certain there are many choices here at MGM Grand that you would find well above average.

We appreciate your feedback. Please come visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have just stayed at MGM Grand for a week for my wedding in a Tower Spa Suite.

Pros:

The hotel rooms are spacious and clean, the casino is huge and has lots of table play at different price ranges; the position on the strip is very convenient. Lots of shops and restaurants for all pockets make for a good overall stay.

Cons:

There is no way to walk from the rooms to the spa without crossing the casino, which can really put you off going to the spa itself, as the relaxation effect disappears after 20 minutes of trying to get around gamblers and smoke.
Service is not as good as one would expect for the price range, quite impersonal at times. Housekeeping can be quite rude and starts knocking at your doors at 9am - don't forget to put up the DND sign. Room service is overpriced even for Vegas standards and buffet quality is low for the ticket price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teliviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Teliviel:

Thank you choosing MGM Grand as the backdrop for your very special week. We hope you had a chance to create some lasting memories while you were with us. Based on your comments, it seems that you had some pleasant experiences, but that we also fell short in some areas. We are deeply proud of the many strides we have seen in the upgrades and improvements to our property. MGM Grand is truly a sight to behold, and we appreciate you sharing these observations. A tremendous amount of energy and focus has gone toward this end.

We do, however, apologize for the shortfalls in service that you experienced. Personalized, attentive, and anticipatory service is our culture here. Lapses in these areas, no matter how small, are worth notice. Rest assured that the problems you mentioned will not go unresolved. We further regret that your dining experiences were unable to meet and exceed your expectations. As you mentioned there are a wide variety of culinary options, and we strive to make each one enjoyable and of value.

We appreciate your feedback, and hope to be given the chance to provide you with the resort experiences you deserve.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checked in for a conference as an M-Life member (supposed to give you some benefits) and was given a room as far from civilization as possible. Must have been a 1/2 mile walk from the elevator. The room looked like it belonged on a cruise ship. I called and asked to be moved closer to the main lobby and was told they couldn't accommodate me. Mid afternoon and they didn't have a second room? Shocking. I finally packed all my stuff up and went down to the front desk. I was able to get some attention and eventually moved later that night.

It's an average property for Vegas. Find a better deal elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the elevators. The rooms are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K550025V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear kv550025:

Thank you for your candor. Feedback like yours gives us an unfettered perspective into the experiences of our guests, and we use this information to evaluate our performance.

First, we wish to express our regret that your original accommodations were not to your satisfaction. While guest preferences are a matter of great concern for us, specific requests such as location are based on availability at time of registration. It is encouraging to know that were able to find a room more suitable to your tastes the following day. We appreciate your patience.

At MGM Grand, our goal is to provide our guests experiences that goes far above just “average”. We apologize that we fell below these standards, and we hope you have another opportunity to enjoy our property in the manner intended. Just as there is are great rewards and benefits from our Mlife program that you may not have had the chance to enjoy, there is a tremendous host of other offerings throughout our property just waiting to be savored if you decide to take another look.

We truly appreciate your patronage, and hope to be given another opportunity to provide you with the Las Vegas resort experience you deserve.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The stay was great and the staff were great. Was disappointed that the pool was closed - even though we could have used the Tower pools, they were so far away. Compared to the other hotels throughout Vegas the MGM Grand really lacks character. The room service breakfast was pretty pricy for what you got but there were lots of choices for others. We really loved exploring the other hotel / casinos throughout the strip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montykelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Montykelley:

We appreciate you expressing your opinions online. Your observations give us the chance to evaluate our performance and assess the perceptions of our visitors.

Our character lies in the concentration of all that makes Las Vegas a must visit destination. We seek to harness its most unforgettable aspects and house them all under one roof. We have in recent years favored a more sublime, elegant, and modern approach.

MGM Grand tries to create truly memorable visits for each and every one of our guests. We produce and then maximize unparalleled entertainment experiences, and ensure that each encounter with our staff is a reaffirmation that everyone who comes through our doors is special to us, and that each guest knows we feel that way.

With all this being said, we do apologize if we fell short of our service goals. Seasonal closures of some venues no doubt hampered your good time. Our Grand Pool will be open again very soon. If the Room Service you used proved unable to meet your expectations, we lament this, and will look to correct it. Please know that your feedback is deeply important to us. We have tremendous aspirations in fostering and maintaining a culture of exceptional customer service, and in providing unmatched hotel amenities for our guests. When we fall short of these goals, we need to know, and we are grateful for your comments. We do hope you give us another chance to impress you, and to perhaps reexamine the character of MGM Grand.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,776 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,173 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
24,378 reviews
Luxor Las Vegas
#80 of 263 in Las Vegas
30,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $111 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing