We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #75 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was in Las Vegas for Thanksgiving weekend, and decided to book at mgm as it was last minute and the price was great.
The hotel has had many new renovations and updates as well as keeping some classic mgm style to it.
As we did not plan on spending a ton of time in the room we booked a smaller suite "deluxe king suite" and were "upgraded" upon check in. Which I do not know why the call a upgrade when the room is less quality from the original room of choice.
We went from a king bed to two queens, which meant less bed room when we did sleep, with someone 5'10 and the other 6'4, this can be a major issue during travel for comfort. Luckily with Vegas not alot of sleeping involved.
The room was beside the maintenance/hskping room and ice/vending machine directly beside the main elevators/multiple hallway entrance. Noise levels were horrendous.
The room itself was clean, and apparently "accessible" which meant a horrible shower/tub combination to allow a folding seat to be in the tub, and the handheld shower was so low (even when placed at highest) anyone over 5'5 was bending to use (girls washing hair) or you had to hold the device itself the whole time. Definitely a frustration and hard on my back, ended up arranging a blow-out service elsewhere to avoid the hair washing/back bends.

The $25.00 resort fee- rippppp offf!!!! I did not get an internet connection any times I tried to obtain one, no paper what-so-ever, and did not use the cardio room.

The main entrance to mgm from strip is under construction for a new nightclub/restaurant, so they in turn closed that area down. No a/c or air circulation and was hotter than outside by far (it was 75 degrees outside) and completely quiet/dark in that area.

The housekeeping did not pick up and replace used towels despite being neatly piled in front of an open bathroom door.

Upon check out- I was over billed, one night, a resort fee and for the food/beverage credit amount I was due to have. I had to call and be transferred all over to have this rectified.

Having been to Vegas and stayed at numerous other places, I would place this stay on one of the lowest yet. I would not again book at the mgm itself, the signature possibly, but definitely not at the hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the staff areas for supplies, and the "lobby" of hallways...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCulic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18,503)
There are newer reviews for MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15,527 - 15,533 of 18,509 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at MGM several times in the past. On this visit, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel and rooms had been newly renovated. The renovation of the hotel is very nice. The rooms are so tastefully done and impecabbly clean. Very comfortable and inviting. The beds are wonderful. I generally don't sleep well in hotels because of the beds, but not the case at the MGM. I slept well and woke up feeling refreshed. Great job MGM!!! This entire visit was a good one and MGM made that possible.


  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txaggiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Service par excellance; Great value for the room especially the newly remodeled king suite. Location in my opinion is fantastic as it allows you to ride the monorail and avoid expensive taxi fares. You can go all the way to the convention center--$28 for 3 days unlimited riding.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Mulitple time guest at MGM Grand...in general my wife and I love the place from the rooms, gaming and dining options, location and overall feel. This was our first experience in a West Wing room...not my favorite. A tad small, noisy, and very differently appointed, I'd much rather be in the main tower somewhere. Overall, we will be back, but will avoid the West Wing if at all possible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We like to stay here because it is close to Atlantic Aviation, where our airplane is parked, and is easy commute to Thomas and Mack, where we attend the National Finals Rodeo each year, with friends. Food quality is very good at most all places. Rooms are quiet and appointed adequately for our needs. Thanks folks. Well done.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentMagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our third time to Vegas, and first staying at the MGM Grand. What a busy place, with the Rodeo and Pacquiao crowds all week, but made it more exciting. The staff handled the crowds very well, never really felt too overwhelming, and the atmosphere was fun. Actually won some money, so that's always an added bonus. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good hotel overall but the wait for a room is way too long. Took over 4 hours to check in. This was checking into an average room. no view or anything, waiting for rooms to be cleaned. I checked in at 1:00pm in the afternoon and waited until after 5 to be assigned a room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodlequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,701 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,051 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxor Las Vegas
#81 of 263 in Las Vegas
30,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $106 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing