We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not Great.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #67 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK but not Great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overally the hotel is ok. They were in the midst of renos when we were there so maybe it is better now? Check in was very quick and efficient if not very friendly. Our room was very basic with no frills. Everyone else in our party stayed in very nice rooms but ours really looked no different then any Travelodge. There was construction noise starting at 8:00 am every morning, not really what you want to hear when you've been out in Vegas! The air quality in the hotel is very poor, but that is the case in most places in Vegas. Woke up with a bloody nose almost every day as did everyone else we were with. The casino is nice and very BIG. Actually that is part of what is wrong with MGM, it is so big doing anything or going anywhere becomes a 20 minute process at a minimum. We ate at a few of the restaurants and they were good. Overall an ok place but if going back to Vegas would probably stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room, they are way nicer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear jkitchen:

Nothing helps us gauge our performance like honest, straightforward, and thorough feedback. As we commit ourselves to providing our guests with the “Maximum Vegas” experience, observations like yours give us the insight to measure, evaluate, and strengthen our performance.

The majority of our construction project has been completed. While new additions are still being added, the room aspect of our “Grand Renovation” has been essentially resolved. As a result the concerns with noise disturbance issues have been greatly diminished. We regret any disconcertment this must have caused you during your stay.

We further regret any complications that you experienced with regards to the complications you encountered due to the dry desert air. We work to provide an atmosphere conducive to comfort and relaxation for our guests, but the naturally lower humidity has on rare occasion proven troublesome to some patrons. For your convenience our housekeeping department does provide humidifiers upon request. Again, your comfort is important to us, so please let us know if you encounter similar complications on future visits.

As to the large size of our property, our goal is to provide the comprehensive Las Vegas resort experience for our guests, all under one roof. It is regrettable that this facet of your experience proved not to your liking. We do appreciate your magnanimous comments regarding your casino experiences however.

All of your feedback is quite welcome. Honest and straightforward observations give us the opportunity to evaluate our strengths and weaknesses. As our “Grand Renovation” moves forward, extensive improvements and exciting upgrades are appearing regularly throughout MGM Grand. We truly value your patronage, and we hope to be given a chance to serve you better in the future.

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,650
    5,644
    2,431
    940
    659
See reviews for
3,047
6,700
611
2,143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was nice very clean I enjoyed myself and would love to return. And stay here again and love for my family to come also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaheena806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destruction Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the MGM Grand Hotel in the West Tower for three nights and occupied two rooms in mid November 2012.

The rooms were advertised as 'Newly Renovated Petite King (bed|) Size'. The rooms were attractive and clean but carpet staining was already noticeable as was the lack of vacuuming everyday. Although the room furniture and furnishings were fairly new and attractive, only part of the wing's hallway had been recently renovated and of course our luck placed our room in the older well-worn section.

The rooms were advertised as 'petite' and we were probably too attracted to the price to stay in something larger. In the end, the room was too small for two people and we should have elected for an upgrade to a larger room.

Ventilation in the rooms was acceptable but a combination of cigarrette smoke and masking fragrances was an irritant to all four persons in our family. Better ventilation is needed in the large venue areas.

Vehicle parking was acceptable but the garage area was largely unlit and walking distance to the hotel/casino too far!

Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Staff in the colocated businesses were equally quite good.

Not a bad place to stay but I would likely seek something else next time.

P.S. The MGM buffet was very good but a bit pricey compared to a few other equally good or better buffets on the strip.

Room Tip: The 'Petite' rooms are nice but a bit too small for 2 people. Upgrade to a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KluaneLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokoroa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

loved the room, the complex is immense. rainforest cafe is a must, the buffet is good. this is a very busy hotel/casino so you might experience a little bit of waiting to check in but the hotel is very good at helping you by taking your bags immediately and having lots of staff on. the carpark is too far away but for a hotel this large it can't be helped. i would stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: do not use the monorail to explore the strip, it drops you off too far from the action. catch a cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raukawa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went here for a convention, was very pleased with the cleanliness of hotel ,our room and bathroom. Beds & pillows were comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

For the money this is an exceptional hotel. Its one of the largest on the strip offering a large selection of food and entertainment as well as gaming of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Halloween, for 4 days and had a great time. First time to Vegas & we loved it, can't wait to go back. Got free drinks from MyVegas.com & will rack up more for the next trip! Loved the MGM Grand! Great music all the time. Lots of walking as it is so big, but lots of things to discover too. We booked a package, so airport transfers were included and although we also had to pay the $25 a night resort fee tax, we also got a $75 dining credit, so we checked out Emeril's & Wolfgang Pucks for lunch. The pools were still open, so broke up our day with a couple hours there. Although the pools were cold, the hot tubs were hot! Bought our drinks for the pool at a store right next door & they didn't mind as long as they were cans. And met many other Canadians, I guess we're the only ones to use the pools at this time of year! We had free wifi in our room & in the hotel lobby! Our room looked just like the pics & we had a view up the strip. The double shade is to keep the green light out of your room at night! The concierge desk was very helpful every time we went & if the line is too long just call from your room. They helped us get the bus up the strip, so we checked out all the hotels in our 4 days & got to Fremont Street & the outlet mall! We had no problem checking in early & checking out late. Also it's so big they have 3 Starbucks!

Room Tip: west wing was quiet when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,261 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,106 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxor Las Vegas
#71 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Property: MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing