We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #68 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

For the money this is an exceptional hotel. Its one of the largest on the strip offering a large selection of food and entertainment as well as gaming of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,726
    5,705
    2,485
    965
    685
See reviews for
3,091
6,789
618
2,176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Halloween, for 4 days and had a great time. First time to Vegas & we loved it, can't wait to go back. Got free drinks from MyVegas.com & will rack up more for the next trip! Loved the MGM Grand! Great music all the time. Lots of walking as it is so big, but lots of things to discover too. We booked a package, so airport transfers were included and although we also had to pay the $25 a night resort fee tax, we also got a $75 dining credit, so we checked out Emeril's & Wolfgang Pucks for lunch. The pools were still open, so broke up our day with a couple hours there. Although the pools were cold, the hot tubs were hot! Bought our drinks for the pool at a store right next door & they didn't mind as long as they were cans. And met many other Canadians, I guess we're the only ones to use the pools at this time of year! We had free wifi in our room & in the hotel lobby! Our room looked just like the pics & we had a view up the strip. The double shade is to keep the green light out of your room at night! The concierge desk was very helpful every time we went & if the line is too long just call from your room. They helped us get the bus up the strip, so we checked out all the hotels in our 4 days & got to Fremont Street & the outlet mall! We had no problem checking in early & checking out late. Also it's so big they have 3 Starbucks!

Room Tip: west wing was quiet when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I took my parents here Nov 10-13. It was my parents first time and we had king petite suites reserved. My husband asked for a room upgrade but we were told nothing was available unless we wanted to pay an extra $25 per room per night. Now I realize we should have paid for the up grade. The Room felt like a dungeon to me, it was very dark and closed in. We ended up close to the end of the hallway on the 5th floor. Our view was of some spotlights pretty much pointed at our window, even with the shade pulled there was a green glow in our room all the time which made it hard to sleep. The bathroom allows NO privacy besides a frosted glass door and if someone comes to the room while you are in the toilet or shower the other person can't answer it unless they want to expose you to the hallway! Our TV in the bathroom mirror didn't work and the shower leaked all over the floor so we had to use towels to soak up the huge puddle/stream that snaked out from the corner of the shower door. I got most of the resort fee comped with Mlife and to the credit of the hotel, they comped the rest of our resort fees and room charges (totaling less than $100) for our inconvenience. I don't mind the walking at all, it's like that for just about every hotel on the strip. It helps burn off the food and alcohol consumption!
I've stayed at TI, Mirage, Aladdin (Planet Hollywood) and Mandalay Bay. All of the other hotel rooms were nicer than the MGM. Would I stay here again? Yes but only if we were in the grand rooms. NOT the petite in the west wing.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade and stay out of the west wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

A huge hotel to loose yourself and others in. Great view down the strip from the room (mesh advertising cover over the window at the time disappointing for photos). Great central location near New York New York (excellent Irish pub), M&M world. A long walk to the Venetian and Paris, a very long walk to Bellagio. Found the monorail a day too late. Excellent highly recommended cabana with resort feel, good service, massages on the spot, circular pool. Casino smelled like perfumed masked cigarettes that was foul. Open 24/7. Room large. Bed fantastic although spent little time in it. Left something in the room after we realised rang and they posted it on - excellent service. Highly recommended but take your walking shoes.

Room Tip: ask for the room facing new york new york and a high floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lnuge318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

First time to Last Vegas from Australia.

MGM is a beautiful hotel with stunning rooms.

The negatives for me were as follows;
No atmosphere in the casino the layout was so spread out that people were scattered which meant the vibe at times was very flat and we felt more inclined to spend time at other hotels.

You're not allowed to open your own mini bar? I found this so bazar having to call front desk to open the fridge in your room and when we made the phone call as we were confused the lady on the phone had quite an attitude about it. Perhaps this is standard in the USA but I have never been to a hotel with a locked fridge. It also meant you couldn't store any of your own things in it as it was all electronic so if you moved anything by accident it would be charged to your room.

Room service was average and expensive but the presentation was excellent.

The location was a big miss as it's right on the edge of the strip and the walk everywhere in the scorching heat was a bit unbearable for me.

The hotel is nice, the rooms are great but it wasn't for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

i stayed at the MGM Grand last week with my parents and my 23 year old sister. the hotel is absolutely amazing, with so much to see and do inside, you need to put some time aside for even this! must eat at the rainforest cafe, and check out the pools, etc as this is all magnificent. also keep an eye out for staff that will be around in the afternoons-night times, to hand out wristbands for specials at their bars/clubs for that night! we had unlimited free vodka drinks for 2 hours one night :)

the staff were great, no complaints and the beds were really comfortable! our view wasn't the best, but it didn't matter as we were out seeing Vegas for most of the trip, and rarely in the room. it's close enough to walk to all the main attractions on the strip, but make sure you have good walking shoes on as "close" is still a fair walk! all in all, would recommend this hotel to anybody :)

Room Tip: we originally booked a basic queen room (with two queens) on hotels.com, and i checked again on thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellew91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
342 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am currently staying for six nights in the MGM Grand. First, this property, which is on the south end of the strip, is very close to the airport--I can see the runways from my window. That makes it a very quick (and cheap--$12) cab ride. The hotel is massive, but when I checked in, a member of the hotel staff directed me to the correct area; another person helped me to find an available check-in agent, who was very friendly, efficient, and helpful. Two people just to greet and help--impressive. The lobby is huge and there's pop music playing fairly loudly, probably to get people into a Vegas atmosphere. My room on the 28th floor is very spacious, immaculately clean, with a large, spotless bathroom. There's a minibar (but don't take anything out that you don't want--it immediately charges your room), but no coffee service in the room. Another great amenity is the double window shade, power-operated from the wall. The rear shade creates total black-out--not one bit of light gets in. The room has a couch and coffee table, nice desk/work space, and good closet space. Because of the deal that my convention worked out, I have free Internet service and access to the spa, but check to see if there are charges for those. The hotel has a casino and many other attractions, including major shows. There's also an adjoining mall and a connection to the convention center. Convenience stores, which sell wine and beer, are a few minutes walk and will be cheaper than the stores in the hotel. Right next to the hotel is a monorail that takes you down the strip, and you can buy tickets at easy-to-use vending machines. There are several good restaurants on the property. So far, my experience has been very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,356 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,294 reviews
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#36 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Luxor Las Vegas
#71 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Property: MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing