We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful time at the MGM Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #85 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wife and I stayed here Oct07 thru 11, we had a wonderful stay, and will most definitely not hesitate to stay here again, we were staying on the 16th floor very close to the elevator, that helped so much!, because yes it is a very big place to get around in, we had a side view of the strip, and we could just see a peek of the Bellagio fountains, it was great!, my only fault with this place, is, I had forgotten my phone charger, asked at the front desk if they happened to have an extra one, as when staying at the Mirage, same thing happened with another man, and the concierge pulled out a very large box with ALL sorts of cords, that im assuming people left behind, he did manage to find one compatible, and he got to use it free, but at the MGM, I was told I could buy the kit on top of the mini-bar for $50. so I just went to the business centre and they charged it for me for $6.00!, enough time to get me home, please use the business centre for anything along those lines, MOST helpful, and cheap, located right beside the bellboy, so happy I discovered it, as I know I will prob need it again next time I visit Vegas, other than that, the MGM is a fantastic hotel to stay in, we ate at Fiamma, absolute must, waiters know their job, and food was amazing, went to the pools, the bar there is a pure rip off, wife got a Mojito, turned out to be non-alcoholic, I returned it to the wrong bar, sorry you guys, and they sent the right one, THANKS!, but one mojito( no rum) and one beer $21.00...ouch!,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank us2-4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,716 - 16,722 of 19,434 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is very huge, it is a city with in the hotel, I was tired and wanted to have a massage but the spa was at the other end of the Hotel. So i thought if i have a massage here then by the time i will reach my room I will be tired again:). Staff here is friendly and nice. it is value for money.

Room Tip: My room was on a lower floor and view was not good, so take a room on upper floor and ask them for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjhajharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked through MGM and must say the pictures online do not represent the room at all. When you walk through the door, you are greeted with a makeshift bathroom, if you want to call it that. Its literally a shower stall, and a toilet stall, with a sink. No room to put makeup, or to change unless you're ok with zero privacy. There is also zero question of what the person is doing in the bathroom as the toilette stall has a large gap on the top and along the side, and our door didnt close properly. I might be wrong but I think privacy is a must when someone is using the restroom. On top of that since there is no division of sleeping area and restroom, whenever anyone has to use the toilette,you have to turn on the light to the whole room and it will disturb anyone else trying to sleep. When we tried to upgrade our room, we couldnt, so we left a day early and went to stay at Planet Hollywood. Much better rooms.

Room Tip: do not pick petite king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elyse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had an average stay at the MGM Grand-- it wasn't awful, but it wasn't great either... The construction was happening while I was there, we stayed in a newly renovated room which was very nice, but the whole experience was a little lacking. Also the location on The Strip makes it quite a hike up to the Mirage and other casinos in that area-- definitely invest in the bus pass!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my first time in Vegas and decided to stay at the MGM because of the value for money and overall i was very impressed with my stay. At check in (which was busy, but the lines moved quick), Moises (sp) was wonderful and very helpful

I was lucky enough to get a room on the 28th floor, in the new rooms I think, and they were wonderful. Very roomy and very clean.

The location is down the South end of the strip, which is closer to the airport and the south end outlets. However I found it to be a little bit away from the action (even though you could catch the monorail from there if you liked)

The concierge area was a bit confusing, there needs to be more organization in this instance, people should be in one line, not just standing around wherever. A few times someone who had just recently lined up, walked straight up to the counter, cutting infront of others who had been waiting much longer.

The business centre was very handy for sending stuff home and the staff, especially Mary, were very helpful. The only thing I could suggest is that some discretion be used when sending things internationally. Its probably not the best idea to make a person sit down for over an hour listing each item (6 magnets, 4 keychains, posters etc etc) if there are a lot of different items.

Overall, the service, cleanliness and room would definitely make this a hotel I would visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agirlfromAus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It has been a long time since I've been inside the MGM Grand in Las Vegas - the last time I was in there, New York, New York Hotel and Casino was not yet built.

That said, all of the munchkins are gone, Dorothy has evidently found her way home to Kansas as she is no longer there, and I think they used the gold from the yellow brick road to fund this great enhancement!

The rooms are very spacious and have very comfortable beds/pillows/comforters. The fixtures are all modern looking stainless steel with Toto toilets, Kohler faucets and marble to encompass it all. Amenities in the room include plenty of charging plugs, large TV's and powered shades on the windows which allow you to determine your preferred level of privacy. There is a black-out option if you happened to stay in the casino late and need block out the Las Vegas sun.

The property exceeded my expectations and I would look here for future lodging.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights on a very generous 'renovation' promotion. The newly renovated rooms and hallways are lovely .... neutral tones throughout and cunning auto-lowering privacy and black-out shades. We were on the 6th floor of the main tower - overlooking the food court's exhaust vents, unfortunately - and were treated to a variety of food odors daily. Check-in was quick and efficient, but figuring out how to get full credit for our MLife activity was frustrating. We lined up at MLife desk three times and were given conflicting information each time. If getting comps/points for your gaming and other activity is important, be sure everyone in your room's MLife cards are assigned to the room on check-in. Check-in, BTW, was quick and efficient. Room was quiet, housekeeping efficient. All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: If you want a low floor room, ask for south-facing room in West Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CouvCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
0.4 mi away
Signature at MGM Grand
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 265 in Las Vegas
13,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#52 of 265 in Las Vegas
18,671 reviews
0.5 mi away
ARIA Resort & Casino
ARIA Resort & Casino
#18 of 265 in Las Vegas
25,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
0.9 mi away
Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $106 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Vegas.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing