We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Las Vegas; we were there 10 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #120 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2006

This is about our fifth stay at the Flamingo, and it never fails to please us. Its central location on the strip makes it the easiest to go either north or south (we visit almost all the strip hotels and casinos), and many of their rooms are directly over the casino, with a nice view of Caesar's and the Strip, and a very short walk, once you come down the elevator, to get anywhere in the hotel, or out the front doors (unlike many hotels, which wear you out just getting to and from the room). The rooms are more or less average, but who spends much time in the room when they are in Las Vegas anyhow. The buffet has a lovely view of the fish pond, the flamingos, and other wild life, as well as having a delicious variety, and above all, the room price is not outrageous, even for people like us who are not high rollers (although we do use all the player cards, and that makes prices better).
We only get to Las Vegas every two or three years, and because we are coming from the Midwest, we feel we might as well stay awhile once we have traveled that far (take the train - it is a great ride), but I am sure our future stays will continue to be at the Flamingo.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank softcoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28,800 - 28,806 of 32,764 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2006

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Vegas, and we usually stay at the Flamingo. I've been scanning through many reviews, and find it interesting. I agree with all of the positive reviews - yet I also tend to agree with the negative ones, also.

The Flamingo is what it is - an older resort that offers most of the same amenties as the newer, fancier resorts, only at a more inexpensive price. That being said, what is one to expect? The location is phenomenal - even the most jaded reviewer can't argue that.

The rooms? No, they're not fancy. But they're serviceable, and if you're going to Vegas to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, then why would you select a casino/hotel that you know isn't posh marble and granite?

Vegas history, to me, is important. Although the Flamingo has gone through many owners and many renovations, it still remains a staple in Vegas lore. Here's a caveat, too. The swimming pools and surrounding gardens might be one of the most attractive features Vegas has to offer.

Good, not great, seems to be the best way to describe this casino. That sentence describes the casino, the buffet, the shopping, and the sportsbook. Nevertheless, for me, the whole experience is great, not good. I will always, happily, spend a little bit less for my lodging, the hospitality, and the amenties the Flamingo has to offer in lieu of far more exorbinant rates at neighboring casinos.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank KJTchoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2006

Had a lovely time- was a bit hesitant reading some of the mixed reviews, but my boyfriend and I had a fantatastic time staying here! Nice room with great view, nice central location. Had a very positive experience; check out the photo gallery in the back by the valet parking to see some neat pics of the original hotel. A piece of Las Vegas history, if only in spirit. Quick tip; the hot tubs close later than the pool, so be sure to ask pool vs. hot tub hours; don't think many people realize this little tidbit!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Checked in at the Caesars / Harrahs check in desk at the airport. Fast efficient service, beats queueing at the hotel, so highly recommend using this service.

Asked for a high floor overlooking the strip and got just that. Great view of Caesars Palace directly opposite and the Bellagio, but unfortunately the fountains were just out of view.

Didn't get one of the most recently modernised rooms, so the furnishings in the room did look slightly dated, but considering we only paid $100 per night, no complaints at all. Like most Vegas hotels, there are no Tea/Coffee facilities in-room.

The hotel itself had a pretty good breakfast buffet, and the Italian restaurant on-site was nice with good service. The wildlife habitat at the back is nice, but note the penguins have now been moved to Dallas Zoo. The pool facilities looked great, but being off-season, all but the main upper pool were closed.

The main thing the Flamingo has going for it is the location. Bang in the middle of the Strip. If you are looking for luxury, then I'd suggest you book elsewhere, but for the price I paid it really could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank ballon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

I went with 11 of my closest friends to Las Vegas last week for my bachelor party. We stayed at the Flamingo for 3 nights. Its not easy satisfying 12 men but the flamingo came very close. the rooms were fine, nothing great but no problems at all. The employees were helpful and we never had a problem finding a poker table! the casino had low minimum bets all the time. the buffet was good, not great, but reasonably priced. the hotel is right in the middle of all the action on the strip. I encountered two small problems: the pool was closed the entire time i was there even though it was warm enough to swim. Also, the walk from the elevator to the room was long!
Other then that, the flamingo was fine. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank psu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times, the last two being a weekend in October and last weekend. Last month we had very small room, but with the best view. We were on the 22nd floor facing the Strip with great views of Caesar's and the fountains at the Bellagio. Bed was great, everything was clean, but since we do not spend a great deal of time in the rooms, we don't see a reason to be very picky.

Last weekend, we had a very large room facing the garden. It was very comfortable with a couch, coffee table and two comfortable easy chairs. It was a little on the shabby side and there were a few burn holes in the bedspread (it was a non-smoking room, but we know some people cheat). But since we were in town to attend the Rolling Stones concert, we were not concerned with a little shabby and a burn hole. We are low maintaince anyway. Stones were awesome, by the way. We always find the Flamingo to be a great value. The location cannot be beat, the casino is always fun, and we do not mind the jazzy 80's music as it seems to add to the festive atmosphere. Of course there are not many coffee makers in the room, as they want you up and out. Last month I called room service to order a pot of coffee and the service was honest and told me that it would be an hour as they were very very busy. I appreciated the honesty as I did not want to wait long for my coffee. I sometimes bring my little 4 cupper coffeemaker with me, but at the Flamingo, there are coffee bars conveiently located on the casino floor right next to the elevator banks. You need not trek all the way through the casino to get a cup of coffee, (like at the Nuggett) to take back up to the room. The muffins are good, too. No complaint with any of the restaurants. Had delicious breakfast one morning at Ventuno. We have always found the hotel personnel to be friendly and very helpful. We have never been disappointed here up to now. Already planning next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gallegoschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

We stayed in a "GO" room for a two night getaway 11/12-11/14 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is one of the older ones on the strip but it's really well located and we found it to be a great place to stay. The hotel employees were all polite and efficient, room was great - all-new, very modern, very clean - and it was wonderful to be able to walk to everything we wanted to see. Had nice massages at the Spa, but keep in mind it isn't a luxury property, the Spa and "Health Club" were pretty basic.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnnieC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Harrah's Las Vegas
#92 of 264 in Las Vegas
19,807 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
10,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,210 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $61 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing