We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting less...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #122 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was expecting less...”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I was expecting less that what I actually got. I stayed from Aug. 23 through Aug. 28 This was my first visit to Las Vegas, so I was referred here by my travel agent. I read all the reviews on here before I went, so I was a little scared of what awaited me. I arrived at 10 pm. There were 3 clerks running the check in counter. Had no wait at all. I did not get a Go room. My room was what I was expecting, a place to sleep. There were huge cracks in my windows, and the Donny and Marie sign made taking pictures out of my windows impossible. Great view thought!! I had wonderful service at all the restaurants and bars. It was a great starting point for all my sightseeing. There was the Tram stop in the back, and the Duece stop in front. Overall, I had a great experience here at the Flamingo and I would definitly stay here again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raider1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,073
    9,890
    7,131
    3,957
    3,132
See reviews for
5,781
10,928
1,555
2,211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed at the Flamingo a couple of other times and was satisfied. This time, because of the room we were assigned was a bummer. Grant you, we arrived early and we were able to go up earlier than check-in time. We were told that the room has been cleaned. Entering the room was a shock. The carpeting was full of stains including blood stains. lLamp shades, dirtier than all heck. Hairs all over the place. Crack glass pictures etc. etc. Asked for another room. a bit better but still disgusting...could not sit in the chair they provided. It was so dirty and dingy looking we were afraid to sit on it. Carpets looked as if they never were cleaned. I talked to other folks who upgraded there room and they were satisfied. However, I didn't need plasma tv etc. etc. All we wanted was clean, even the bottom sheets were stained in the 1st room. We also had problems when checking in. Clerk asked for a credit card, we gave one and it was declined. This happened on 3 different charge cards. We could not figure this out. Only to find out that the clerk overshot our limit on our cards. They put through an amount that we never charged yet. In fact, we never charged anything. I never heard of such a thing, you don't get charged for things you did not purchase. The one good thing I have to say is that the buffet and other restaurant food was excellent. My suggestion to you would be to ask to see the room 1st, although they won't let you do that according to a guest who tried to upgrade their room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedonBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

HOTEL -We stayed in a go suite on the third floor, beautiful. Wall to wall windows overlooked the strip. We could see the Belagio fountians while in bed! 2 sinks in the bathroom with TV's in the mirrors , fridge, nice TV and sound system, comfy bed , couch and coffee table, great housekeeping. Sooo much fun, splurge, go for the go suite. The pool is also fun.

FUN- We used the half priced ticket booth which is right outside to the left at BIlls. Here is how it works. On the first day you have to stand in line for about one hour to get half price tickets. If you go back the next day and bring your stubs from the night before, you get to be in a VIP line, this means you get your tickets for that night right away. We went to a show every night. One night Beatles Tribute, one night Rat pack down town, one night a comedian in the flamingo, all shows were great. Also, for free , go see big elvis at bills, he is great and pitchers of beer for four dollars!

OTHER- If you want a store with snacks and beer, exit the flaming out the back , near the hilton and walk to the curb. If you want a light meal, food court , exit hotel on the strip side and go to the first casino on the right, burger king, sub way etc.... I am always on a diet , eat only salad or veggie burgers, so am no help with where to eat.

OVER ALL- The flamingo is the center of the strip. you can get to anywhere from there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We picked the Flamingo because it was right in the middle of the LV strip and we all had a great time. Our room and bathroom were clean and well taken care of by the maids. The staff at check in , the box office, Bugsys Cabaret ,the buffet ,the casino and the sports book were all friendly and polite. We got there early for check in and had no problems, checked right in and started our vacation on a good note. The only negative I can think of was the carpet in the room and hallway was well worn. The "GO" pool area was very nice, didn't use the pool though, just enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RouletteRed27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This was our first time to vegas and we had a great time of course. The hotel was awesome and we had no problems. My wife and I would definitely stay there again. My aunt and uncle went with us and they have stayed in a different hotel every time they have visited. They were very pleased with their stay and also would stay again. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pizzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va bch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I was short sheeted, there was mold in the bathroom, and the staff was extememly unfriendly. the place summed up...It's a dump!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotoapache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The Flamingo Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas is part of true Vegas history and during this trip; its age really has shown. We LOVE Vegas & everything about it! Center strip, like at the Flamingo, with all the action is the place to be. This was our first stay at this particular Harrah's property and will probably be our last. To be fair here are some pros & cons...

Good Points:
Location - center stage
Go Rooms - clean, updated and comfy
Pool - beautiful landscaping and very cool

Bad Points:
Filthy, filthy & filthy - from the elevators (which don't appear to have been cleaned in forever) to the disgusting pool deck & grounds (that were slimy and littered with cigarette butts) it was a shame to see this once beautiful hotel slip a few notches. (Personally I think there was not enough staff to keep up with the demand.)

Check in fees - be prepared to give a $100 per day hold on your credit card at check in for hotel incidentals (room service, pool bar charges, gift shop / restaurant charges, internet, etc). I know of no other hotel that does this. CRAZY!

Not enough pool chairs - a million hotel rooms and 100 pool chairs? If you are not down at the pool claiming your chair at 8am, then just forget it.

Cliental - times are tough for everyone now-a-days....absolutely....but this is Vegas! A tourist hot spot and it is sad to see that this once glitzy, clean, high end town seems to be more focused on quantity and not quality anymore. What I mean is give free hotel nights to anyone and everyone and not be selective, just to get people in the door. When you do that you attract a less then stellar crowd of riff-raff (super young drunk kids throwing up, passing out and fighting in or around the hotel) which is so not what I want to be around on my vacation.

Side note: We were also a little irritated at check in (which was 11pm on a Wed night by the way) because our room was not ready. Ok - we were told to return in 1 hour. We returned at 1:30am and were given keys to a room that apparently someone had just checked out of and was not cleaned (half eaten apple on the desk, garbage in the bathroom and dirty towels on the floor). Immediately I called the front desk and they sent housekeeping, who promptly took care of the problem....but still!! Are you kidding me? How does this happen?

We don't need to stay at Wynn or Palazzo to enjoy ourselves, but will think twice before staying at The Flamingo or any other Harrah's owned property with our next trip to Vegas. Maybe off the strip or at one of the ends is now "the place to be".

Vegas rocks but this hotel just didn't hold up its end of the bargain.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mal6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#83 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,664 reviews
Harrah's Las Vegas
#91 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#16 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,157 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Property: Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#62 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing