We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location. Showing it's age.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #113 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location. Showing it's age.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've stayed at the flamingo a few times over the years. The location and pool are great. You can leave your room and be on the strip in under 5 minutes which beats the 1/4 mile walk you have at places like MGM or Aria. It is "Old School" which adds to it's charm.

We booked a GO room with strip view but when we checked in they over sold that room so we got an upgrade to a GO suite. This is great news after driving all day. However, when we got to the room it had not been cleaned from the last guests. The room was completely destroyed. I can only imagine what the cleaning crews have to deal with on a day to day basis. I have much more respect for them now. They sent a maid up promptly and we headed out to get some food. When we returned the room was in proper order.

I would stay at the Flamingo again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fylbrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,453
    7,840
    5,553
    3,014
    2,288
See reviews for
4,088
8,399
1,169
1,702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,861)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Las Vegas Trip Report – 05/15 to 05/20 @ Flamingo

We decided to try the Flamingo this trip due to price & location. Previously we had been loyal to Mandalay for the pool & beach. Our group had a variety of rooms, but I opted for a Go-Mini-Suite, which I highly recommend.

Check in was smooth at 10:30 a.m. We hung out at Carlos & Charlies until the keys were ready at 12:30, and hit the pool by 1 p.m. The pool ROCKS !! Getting a spot mid-day was challenging. For the rest of the stay I was up early and in line to secure prime real estate each a.m. The pool bars were having happy hours til noon, where buckets of 5 beers were only $20. Reg price is $35. The pool scene kept on getting hotter and hotter as the weekend approached, and was in full tilt on Saturday, with a Booty contest.

We always hit Ellis Island our first night for the home brews, gambling, and the steak special.
The Absinthe show at Caesar’s courtyard (in a big tent) came HIGHLY recommended, and it did not disappoint. The only way I can describe it is if Lisa Lampanelli put on her own Zumanity show. It was deliciously naughty.

Unfortunately Bill’s was closed for remodel, but we found that Big Elvis is doing shows at Harrah’s. We hit that and the AWESOME Dueling Piano Twins later that night.

I had never been to the CityCenter complex before so we walked thru Aria, VDara, and settled down for some drinks at Cosmo. The blueberry mojitos at the way back bar should not be missed. We did hit MIX at THEHotel one evening for a work event gig. The views are stellar.

As for my suite at Flamingo, I’d go back, but I’d really stress to get strip-view. I had requested, but didn’t get on this trip. The pool view was ok, but on Fri & Sat you can hear music til 3 a.m.

The food court in the hotel had HUGE deli subs, ok Asian, great pizza slices, and a Johnny Rockets burgers.

There was single-cup coffee maker in the room, but it wasn’t Keurig. There was also a mini-fridge. Check out was a breeze, and near the taxi-stand you can have your bags held. We were going to taxi to the airport, but the bell stand guy pointed to the black shuttle that’s only $7/head to get to the airport. Very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DowntownMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I took my nephew to Las Vegas for his birthday and we stayed at the Flamingo. The location is awesome right in the center of it all. The staff was friendly and helpful every step of the way. I would highly recommend breakfast at the Tropical Breeze Cafe but you have got to make dinner plans at the Center Cut Steak House best meal in Vegas. Great service and excellent food and tell Giorgio hello he is the manager and does a fantastic job of making guest feel very welcome

Room Tip: great views from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Flamingo. The location is right in the middle of everything and the price is very good. We had a room on the 17th floor facing the strip. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning was quiet. I have been to Las Vegas 9 times and I get the best deals by booking my own flights and hotels. Keep checking their website as the prices tend to go even lower as the date gets closer. Ours went down about 50% and they will change it for you. We will definately stay their again. Why not save money for the shows!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great base for the strip. Not too big but has all you need. Wifi is very expensive $14 for 24hrs. Room was not as good as last visit, no kettle etc seems that the whole of Vegas wants you to pay for anything and everything they can! Nice pools, very good cocktails but again all quite expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer more updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Souherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I'd like to start off by saying I don't stay at super high-end resorts in Vegas. My preferred hotel is the MGM -- nothing too fancy. I recently went to Vegas and my friend took care of booking the hotel so we stayed at the Flamingo. Never again.

The hotel is dated and badly needs a facelift. Check-in/out times are odd (4pm and 11am, respectively) which is surprising for Vegas as most hotels do 3pm and noon. Anyway, the early check-in fee was something like $30 or $40, which I don't understand -- nobody is using our reserved hotel room anyway, so why do we need to pay extra to enjoy it an hour earlier if it's ready? Unfortunately, the nickel-and-diming didn't end there. When we asked for a third room key they said it would be an extra $30 as well!

The room itself was below average for a Vegas hotel: linoleum floors, rusting bathroom fixtures, no fridge, very few lamps, and a lovely view of the condemned hotel next door.

The service was poor and it was incredibly difficult to get in touch with the front desk, room service, etc. from the room's phone.

The location is good (right across from Caesars), however, it's on the seedier side of the Strip, attracting more derelicts, transients and creepers than Caesars Palace does right across the

In the end you simply don't get what you pay for. Never again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a Strip view, and avoid rooms facing the abandoned hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ibos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were a little concerned by some of the reviews of this hotel before our trip but we needn't have worried - we loved the Flamingo! We have stayed in Vegas many times but this was our first time at this hotel. We booked 3 nights in April about 8 months in advance and upgraded to a Go room at a great rate. The room was spacious, clean and contemporary with a small fridge, coffee maker and tv screen in the bathroom mirror.
We didn't spend time around the pool, which is unusual for us, but it was very busy by the time we got there on our first full day and the music was a little overpowering so we decided to try it early the next morning instead. Unfortunately the next day was rather dull and a little cool so didn't end up round the pool at all!
The location of the hotel is perfect, though there was major building work going on at Bill's Gambling Hall next door which meant we were woken up around 6am each morning because we were on that side of the building. To be honest we didn't mind because we wanted to get the most out of our time there so had planned on getting up early anyway. The great floor to ceiling windows gave us a partial view of the strip and enabled us to sit and drank coffee watching the work going on whilst we came round each morning!
The only disappointment for us wasn't really the hotel's fault - one of the attractions of the place on previous trips had been the Sin City Brewery bar in the shopping area of the hotel at the back of the casino who used to offer 2 jugs of beer for $15 and we were looking forward to enjoying this right on our doorstep before turning in for the night - however all good things come to an end and this offer had morphed into $25 for one jug and 2 shots of whisky - not the same thing at all! Oh well, just a small point which doesn't reflect on the hotel at all really - we would definately recommend this place and in particular the Go rooms.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Go room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Bally's Las Vegas
#75 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 13,289 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#71 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 4,216 reviews
Harrah's Las Vegas
#87 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 12,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#26 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#33 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 15,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Property: Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109-8901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#57 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Vegas.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing