We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, comfy, clean, fun, and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #90 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfy, clean, fun, and great value!”
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I could not have asked for a better hotel, especially for the price. The beds were very comfortable, bathrooms large, rooms large. Many onsite choices for eating. Beautiful pool with waterslide and shark tank. Very close to all the Fremont street attractions. A little far from the main strip, but i'm sure there was a shuttle somewhere that I just didnt bother to look for. The only advice I have is that if you care about the view from your room, request it and pay for the more expensive room. I chose the cheapest room and had a so so view of a few casinos and a roof, but I didnt go to Vegas to look out my hotel window.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourTree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,710
    3,976
    1,649
    825
    592
See reviews for
1,916
4,664
536
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,906)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

As a frequent visitor to Las Vegas I am often torn between the ultra luxury "strip" hotels and those with a more personal touch. Well, that conflict has been resolved. The re-vitalized Golden Nugget is excellent! Yes, it is in "Old Vegas", but I consider that a plus. There is free entertainment on Freemont Street, a number of other casinos within a few feet of the doors, and the excitement of the "Freemont Street Experience". The hotel itself is smaller and more intimate than the Las Vegas Boulevard monsters. The staff are friendly and helpful. The property has been completely rennovated and upgraded in ways that satisfy your Las Vegas dreams. Our room was simply excellent . . . well appointed, clean and extremely comfortable. If you want quality over flash, The Golden Nugget is the place for you. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goosenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

If you want to stay in a nice hotel, stay here. The service is great, the decor is lovely and the smoke level is less than the other hotels. The clothing store on the lobby level is the best! I found some wonderful buys for designer items I would have paid twice as much for elsewhere. Very enjoyable, relaxed atmosphere at the Golden Nugget with good room rates. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Being part of a larger group we had no choice in the hotel selection. Our stay was a total of a week in Las Vegas all of which had been pre-paid prior to arrival. We selected the Rush Tower which had its own check in. Check-in was slow with insufficient numbers of staff on duty. The room itself was nice though a dimly lit and could benefit from more lights. The bed was very large with a corner sofa, there was plenty of storage space for clothes. Bathroom was very clean and towels and products were replenished every day.
The best thing about this hotel is the Spa, though I would recommend that you make an appointment well in advance as it is quiet difficult to obtain an appointment. I managed to snag an appointment for a mini pedicure and I would rate it as one of the best pedi's that i have had.
Location wise it is right in the heart of downtown, personally not for me as I would rather be on the strip where there is more of a choice for food and entertainment.
The only positive thing about the pool is the slide going through the shark tank. Other than that I was not impressed at all. The pool itself is quiet small and is smack in the middle of the hotel leaving you very exposed to people walking by, meaning you cant really relax as you feel you are being watched at all times. The hotel boasts an "adult pool" on the upper levels which is more private but you have to pay to get in which is a rip off.
Another rip off is the $7 bottle of water in your hotel room.
There was 20 people in our group and every person had issues at either check in or check out. Our problems arose at check out when the hotel was trying to charge us again for 3 nights which we had already paid for.
During out stay the fire alarm was activated and the hotel had to be evacuated. During this process the staff werent overly helpfull with noone explaining to customers what was going on.
Carlson Cafe is quiet expensive for what you get and the service can be a bit slow. We tried the buffet in this hotel both for dinner and breakfast. Both were OK, the breakfast being the better value due to the fact that we had a voucher for it.
Adequate hotel but you could get the same value on the strip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoopy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Block Island, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

we recently returned from an 8 day stay at the golden nugget in las vegas..we were very disappointed in everything from the service to the facility. they have the highest resort fees in las vegas $100 per day of your stay which they secure on your credit card when you check in they will refund that to you within 10 to 21 days after you check out if they decide you did not damage anything in your room. we can prepaid and our travel agent assured us they would not charge us this fee because we had all incedentals turned off andthat was the policy between the two companies. they insisted on running our debit card at check in (which is standard for most hotels even if you pay cash). we insisted that they girl who checked us in sign off that there would be no resort fee charged and she agreed. Before we even got to our room they had secured $800 on our card. We had to insist on see a manager and all she could do is wait till morning and call our bank to release the funds. It took they 2 days to do so. which put a dent in our grand vegas plans. After all was said and done they offed to refund 2 nights of our stay(which we still have not received).when we checked out and told they how disatified we were they offered nothing. the clerk who checked us out ask if there was anything they could do to make us feel better we said we would like a free shuttle to the airport, the clerk replied the he couldnt do that. We paid for vip check in that was a joke a complete waste of $30 all they give you is a line jumper pass which not one of there restaurants honored.they sent us to the end of the line any way. all in all they charge for ever thing even bringing your bags to your room and we paid extra for vip service! They are nothing more than a giant hotel machine and all they care about is filling there rooms. no srevice you cant even reach someone at the front desk i waited on hold for 45 minutes to ask a question and still no one answered. we will never stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcknblck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegasCoughlin, Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We apologize your entire stay did not meet your expectations and would like to clear up a few of your concerns. Our resort is actually one of the few in Las Vegas to not charge a resort fee at all. We do however require a credit card authorization for incidentals at check in and as you mention is a fairly standard policy at most resorts. The VIP check in that you purchased expedites the check in process in the VIP Lounge as well as guaranteeing your room requests. We are sorry the restaurants did not honor the line pass and we will be sure to look into this issue. We also assure you there is no fee for baggage handling on individual arrivals. If you still have not received the credit for the 2 nights that were to be adjusted off the bill, please contact the hotel at 1-800-634-3454 dial 0 and ask the operator to transfer you to accounting. As long as there are management notes indicating 2 nights should be adjusted off they will ensure the credit is issued. We hope we are able to rectify your concerns and you consider the Golden Nugget in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

On an 8000 mile drive across country, we wanted to spend a few nights in a hotel (we were camping) and thought that Las Vegas would be fun with th e casinos, etc. We were towing a small camper so we looked for hotels that could accomodate us. The Golden Nugget fit the bill allowing us to park on their garage roof. Our roof had been recently redecorated and was beautiful, spacious and clean. The food at the buffet was wonderful, and we enjoyed being in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at the Golden Nugget 11/4-11/7/10 in Carson Towers. We reserved a king room. Upon arrival we were told that reservations for a particular room are on a first come first serve basis. I said then what is the point of having a reservation in the first place. I was not pleased. They told us that they would move us to a king room in the morning. We were also told that we could leave our packed luggage in the room and the bellman would move it for us. All we had to do in the morning was come to the business center for new room keys. This was not true. We had to move the luggage ourself. I do not mind moving my own luggage however I was not happy that they were not truthful with me. My opinion is that if you are going to promise something then keep your word.
The room was spacious but poorly lit. There is a makeup mirror outside of the bathroom. The shower had good pressure and there was plenty of hot water. There is a hairdryer but it is in the closet. I had to look around for it. There isn't a coffee pot in the room but you can get one by calling the front desk. The bed was comfortable. Housekeeping did a nice job. Shampoo, conditioner and lotion were stocked daily.
The pool and shark tank are a must do. They have a very nice pool area. There are blackjack dealers poolside. There are plenty of chairs and towels. It was still warm enough to swim while we were there.
Overall the Golden Nugget is a good place to say. You can't beat the location. If the hotel would have had my king room available at check-in I probably would not have anything bad to say.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satchel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,387 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#99 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vegas.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing