We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #90 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
A TripAdvisor Member
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
111
Reviewed January 16, 2005

Have stayed at the Golden Nugget a number of times. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Service, Food & Accomodations can't be beat. Can't wait to go back.
Colleen & Walter Popovic

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,883)
There are newer reviews for Golden Nugget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,965 - 9,971 of 10,884 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, OH
116
Reviewed January 14, 2005

They get you walking into the casino, and walking to your elevator. They ask you where your from, and then try to get you to look at their timeshare information. That got old real quick. We stayed January 8th-January 10th, both my husbands and my first visit to Vegas. Stayed in downtown because of the price, I think next time, I'll pay a little more and stay on the Strip. The buffet was not good, there wasn't a selection, and of course the price was steep for what it was. The evening lazer light show right outside the hotel was neat to see. I heard the Golden Nugget's slots were tight, but we found them to be the best, in respect to the other nearby casino's, its also the nicest hotel in downtown, of what we saw. We took a taxi in for about $35 (including tip), thought it was high, considering how close the airport is, but since it was my first visit, I didn't know any better. Found out my instinct was right, when we took a taxi back to the airport for around $20. I would never rent a car though, the traffic on the Strip was nuts, parking expensive. We had dinner at Kokomo's at the Mirage, its not cheap, dinner for two cost $140, the salad was nothing special, but the dinner was great, but my husband and I were yelling at each other from across the table, since we couldn't hear each other with the waterfalls all around, so not intimate. As I'm sure all the other Vegas hotels are, I thought the Golden Nugget was a bit cheesy, the rooms were OK, an updated Ramada Inn, the view was of the parking lot, but the room was cheap, you get what you pay for. Check-in took a little bit, but we were there right at check-in-time. If you want to go sightseeing, stay at the Strip, for the money you pay in taxi fares (think there is a shuttle you can take, but never saw that) it evens out.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Champaign, Il.
111
Reviewed January 9, 2005

it was a great place to stay, my sister and i stayed for 4 nites and had very guick check in and out time, the room was to far from the elavator but it was very nice and clean. the house keeping staff was very nice. it was a good walk to the casino but they had slot machines in the check in area not far from the rooms. the security there is fantastic. you couldnt go up to your room without showing a room key. i felt very safe there. and a couple of times when sitting by the doors to fremont street a couple of pan handlers came in and they were very descreetly asked to leave when they came and started talking to me. i am going back and i will stay there again.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2005

We have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years and have had no complaints - until now. We were booked for a four night stay 12/30/04 - 1/3/05 and have decided that will be the last one for this hotel. First of all, we do not like to be hounded EVERYTIME we try to come out of our room by people at the elevators trying to sell magic beans. The food service was awful and the food wasn't much better. The casino was flat out dirty. Should you really have to ask for someone to come clean up the trash and wipe the machine consoles (sticky) off? And the best part - when we checked out we discovered that they had been nice enough to charge us twice for our stay!! That only took about 25 minutes to clear up. Looking back, the only thing that went well was housekeeping. If you do decide to stay there (and I do not suggest it) put your do not disturb sign on your door. We were still up with the roosters from them banging on the neighbor's door yelling HOUSEKEEPING.

20  Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Poulsbo.WA 98370
116
Reviewed January 3, 2005

1. Checking in took forever.We were third in line and it took 45 minutes to get to the clerk. We were not alone in this respect. People in front of us and behind us were getting angry. The clerk did not allow in-room movies on our card unless we got out of bed and gave her our credit card again. Even an O.K. over the phone
was not acceptable. The same was true regarding charging meals to our room. We had to back to front desk and show them our credit card again.
2. When our in-room movies were finally approved, the TV set was faulty. The two repair men that came to fix it said that nothing could be done-the sets were old and should be replaced. They did get the set to work--for a time--by pounding on the side of the set with their
fists!
3. The Fremont Street Experience. What a ripp-off!
For $35 each we were allowed out of our hotel to
join the other celebrants at New Years. Two years ago while staying at the hotel we joined in the celebrations on Fremont street quite freely!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed January 2, 2005

It was my first visit to Las Vegas and all the reviews pointed towards staying at the Nuggett. Everyone there was very friendly from the desk clerk to bellman and housekeepers. Everyone had smiles on there faces and ready to please. Room service 24 hours a day. Only draw back(if no car) is the taxi to the strip which got a little expensive . From $8- $ 20 a trip. Did take the bus a few days for $ 2.00 . My room were clean and tidy A little smaller that expected but very nice.
and food was great. Most of all,hotel was not crowded and was able to get a lot of individual attention. A great retreat after spending time on the strip. A little smaller that expected but very nice.
Great value for a 4 star hotel would definately go back without a doubt.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Waterford, MI
116
Reviewed January 2, 2005

My Travel Agent warned me but I did'nt listen. The accomodations are acceptable but the staff at the working level was uninterested and uncaring.

I made the mistake of trying to cash some slot returns in at the "Cashiers counter" where six people were standing around with their thumbs up thier butts, I was nastily sent away to the Change counter next to it where there was one person and a long line.

I then made the horrid mistake of inquiring at the buffet at 9:45 if I could still have dinner as the place said it closed at 10 PM. I was told by a lady with a pained expression that I could pay for it but they would take the food away at 10. There were others in line behind me who were in a state of disbelief, we all went down the street to eat and gamble.

These are only two of several stories I can tell about the Golden Nuggets lack of interest in providing customers with a positive experience. And a word of caution, the folks in the main hall from the hotel to the casino who offer you free perks for staying there.... they are shills trying to trick you into visiting one of thier real estate developments. Just keep walking. The Nugget is a two star hotel with a one star staff.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,421 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $79 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vegas.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing