We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value, Great Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #91 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Value, Great Fun!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I hadn't been to Las Vegas in over 30 years. My kids wanted to stay at the Golden Nugget because of the shark tank aquarium and water slide in the middle of the pool. When I got a good deal on the room rate, I decided to book there. We had a great time! The rooms in the south tower were very nice and the service was good. They have some very good restaurants in the hotel as well, but the pool and the aquarium were a big hit with my family. People were friendly and we had a great time. It is the only place I would stay in downtown Las Vegas. Fremont Street is the tacky, gaudy place you would expect, but it is fun to have it nearby. We drove the few miles down to "the strip" to see the new mega-hotels and to walk around and see the water show at the Bellagio. It was a great value, nice and clean, lots of fun, and we would definitely book there again.

Room Tip: The south tower was very nice, quiet and away from the hoopla on Fremont Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,674
    3,942
    1,622
    815
    587
See reviews for
1,887
4,623
532
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Golden Nugget because I had heard the pool was one of the top 20 in the world. It did not disappoint. The staff was friendly the hotel was clean the pool was beautiful and a lot of fun. People played the towel save chair game but that's kind of to be expected. The room was very spacious. We usually stay on the strip and after a couple days we switched to a strip hotel as it was pre planned. I would have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone. We saw a different view of Vegas than usual and it was very convenient. Also we took the WAX to the hotel from the airport. Only two dollars a person, plenty of room for our luggage, convenient and super clean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SOAJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haley S, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool and would recommend our hotel to you family and friends! It's also great to read that our staff was friendly and courteous. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed there May 9th and used their valet service for our car. When we got the car back, right away we noticed things were out of place. They got into our snacks leaving a mess and my wife's sun glasses had been taken out of the glove box and obviously worn and stretched out, no longer fitting on her face. They also scratched one lens. We made a complaint with the hotel and one month later they said they are not responsible for anything left inside the car. They say they have a disclaimer on the valet ticket so stating their lack of responsibility.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went here for my birthday with two other couples.Very disappointing place.Seems to be just a big pool party place everyday.Rooms were bad,Air did not work right.Found a Roach in the bathroom.Will not come back!!!!

Room Tip: To many other places to stay other than this place.Will not be coming back !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishviking54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is amazing - lots to do! I love that right outside the door you are on FREMONT ST and get to enjoy all that has to offer. The rooms are very nice and clean. The front service is awesome - everyone is very helpful. The swimming pool was amazing and the restaurants inside were very good. Golden Nugget - def will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN, CA
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Two of us went for a girls week...we could not have picked a better place! The location cannot be beat! We loved being right on Fremont Street...we took a tour bus down to the strip...we could not wait to get back to the Golden Nugget!

We upgraded to the Rush Tower, it was well worth it... no standing in line to check in or out. The Gordie Brown Show was hilarious...the food at the Buffet was decent, the hotel is immaculate and the rooms are nice.

The beds were very comfy, there is a large flat screen TV and a Kuerig Coffee pot in the room. (We brought our own pods). Water is 4.00 a bottle in the room; pick some up on Fremont Street. The shower is a rain-forest type shower head...not a lot of pressure for those of us with long hair....

The pool was beautiful albeit crowded. The bar drinks are very expensive so I would suggest to bring your own bottle as we did.

Breakfast at Claim Jumpers was right around 23.00 for both of us for bacon and eggs...the buffet ran around 11.99 for breakfast (didnt try it) and lunch was a little more.

We ate at Vic and Anthonys and it was horrible. We spent 133.00 for steak and lobster and a filet mignon..no baked potato and the salad was extra. The veggies were burned and over salted and there was too much spice on the food in general.

Go to Tony Roma's on Fremont Street for your steak and lobster..much better price and much better food!

Binions across Fremont Street has a cafe with very reasonable prices.

We will be returning as we decided to make this an annual (if not semi-annual) trip.

Do get on the Big Bus; it was 40.00 each and they take you on a tour of Downtown and The Strip; they stop at several hotels in case you want to get off and go inside...it runs every thirty minutes; this will save you a lot as one cab ride to the Venetian and back was over 40.00....

I was going to only give this property a 4 star because of the Vic and Anthony dining gone wrong experience, but I just cannot...JUST stay away from that restaurant!

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TERRESA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haley S, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
What a fun girl's trip! It sounds like you got to enjoy a lot of what we offer! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and all of its amenities. I agree, Gordie Brown is hilarious and a great show! I would like to apologize for your disappointing dinner at Vic & Anthony's, I have passed your comments along to the manager so the issues can be fixed. Thank you for sharing your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is great very clean very modern. The Fremont street experience is a must. I enjoyed downtown Vegas so much more than the strip. It's simply a must. And the nugget was a great place. Great food the buffet was awesome, the pool is breathtaking. I mean swimming with sharks fantastic. My only complaint was that the room was a touch noisy. Outside noise coming in. But just get the highest level you can....

Room Tip: Higher levels less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,359 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#97 of 262 in Las Vegas
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Vegas.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing