We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't just keep getting better and better.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #89 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It doesn't just keep getting better and better.........”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have always stayed at the Nugget when going to Vegas---but after this stay in September, we are going to try some different hotels. We find it much bigger now with the Rush Tower where we stayed, much more crowed, much more nickel and diimed constantly, and much less attention to details, customer interest and care,.
It's all the little things: arrival in the garage, elevator not working, walk down the steps with luggage. Long wait for checking at the R Tower, only two people working. The foul odor in the first room. The bedside light missing a bulb never replaced. Room charges: $10 if you want to make coffee; $7 per bottle of water; $12.99 PER DEVICE for wi-Fi, and no $5 black Jack tables, and bumping up the 3 card poker tables to $10 ( which means $20 to play and $30 if you want to bet it!
We at least thought we could get good meal value there. Not any more. Gone is the Carson Cafe for a good breakfast at reasonable price. Sunday at the buffet is $28 person. We just went to Starbuck's. The Grotto, a pizza restaurant had a very minute menu. The potatoes that came with the eggs tasted like they were basted in pizza sauce. The steak house and chart house dinners started out at $30-$40
The final straw was what sealed the deal. At 8:30 on Sunday morning, someone was using their card to get into our room. Twice she tried, the third time she got in. The maid. Said she was sorry and my husband said I bet you are. She just wanted us to get up so she could clean the room.

Room Tip: Don 't stay on the Fremont side. Ask for a room on 20 + floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,652
    3,916
    1,606
    802
    579
See reviews for
1,862
4,598
525
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed here for 3 nites in april as part of our west coast tour, fantastic shopping outlet about 10 mins away from hotel never knew it was there until our last day could actually see it from my hotel window. you can catch a bus their but it takes you all the way around town & you can prob walk it 10 mins away!!! so gutted i didnt find it earlier loads of shops & much cheaper than down town vegas!!! this hotel was so central for everything fantastic light show every nite & good stage acts so much going on. our water was cut of for a few hours so was given complimentary use of spa and shower also complimentary buffet in evening & breakfast which was great didnt get to use swimming pool as looked quite busy alot of the time but it looked really nice. overall i would recomend this hotel & wouldnt hesitate to stay here again, fantastic holiday

Room Tip: ask for a room on high floor you might be lucky enough to get a view "we did" without payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the golden nugget August 25 and 26th. We checked in around 5pm and were dropped off at the Carson tower doors. The desk here was closed (as it was our entire stay) and we walked down to the gold tower check in. The check in line was short and checking in was very quick.
We stayed in the Carson tower and had no issues with it. Our room was clean and quiet, decent view, the bed was very comfortable and bathroom was a nice size. The carpet was very worn in the room and could use replacing but everything else was nice.
My husband was able to get the free wifi from the street in the room, I wasn't able to. I had some issues even with the hotel wifi that I paid for. The front desk took my Internet charge off our bill after I got frustrated trying to book tickets for close to an hour and the wifi wasn't working well.
We were also able to get late checkout for $25 until 5pm on our last day with no problems at all.
Our only problem besides Internet issues, was the safe. On our first day we checked in, set up the safe, showered, changed and were ready to hit the casino and the safe wouldn't open, it gave us an error message. We called the front desk and they said they would send up security. Close to two hours later and multiple phone calls, someone came to open the safe. Not enjoyable to be stuck in room on your first night in vegas and had no food to eat in eight hours. it made me cranky, lol. the safe was very small and apparently if something touches the door, you get the error message. We were very careful with the safe from then on but it did the same thing on our last day,that time it was pretty quick for someone to come to the room to fix it.
Loved staying at the nugget and downtown!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed at The Golden Nugget Las Vegas for 30 years and it just keeps getting better and better! We love the fact that so much of the staff has been with the property for many years.
Returning each time to The Nugget is like visiting family.
Grotto is our favorite Italian restaurant anywhere we travel. The food is second to none, DO NOT
miss dessert! Homemade and amazing! Taya, Carol and Blaze take great care of us and keep this restaurant at the top of its game. The casino is spacious and friendly, with excellent music playing.
This is our favorite casino to gamble in. The legendary Buffet was moved a few years ago upstairs and is still the best in Vegas. Rooms are spacious and suites are fabulous! The pool area is very unique with a waterslide designed around and through a massive aquarium of fish and sharks.
Christmas is our favorite time at The Nugget. Gorgeous decorations throughout the hotel and a wonderful festive atmosphere. Do not miss the chocolate shop which has the best cup cakes ever and some very unique chocolate creations.
We would not stay anywhere else and are constantly telling people to do the same.
Thank you to all at The Golden Nugget , you never dissapoint.

Room Tip: Rush tower is the newest tower of rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

well been to this hotel twice 2009 and 2012
its all you need if you just want to sleep have a Starbucks inside and several restaurants stay in the Rush towers or Carsons towers does not really matters
gold diggers sucks but if you are too drunk you will find it OK .
just all the hotel smell like ASH Tray even i am a smoker but still was annoyed

Room Tip: 20$ tricks really works
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherifDerMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Was taking my kiddo for her first Vegas visit. Grandma also came with. Hotel was very pretty inside. Had a lot of very intricate glass chandeliers. Work kinda reminded me of Seattle's Dale Chihuly. Side doors open directly onto Fremont which is great tame fun. The music stages were awesome. Mom gambled while kiddo & I enjoyed the pool. Main pool with the shark tank & slide is definitely the hotel's crown jewel. Slide is so much fun!! Kiddo convinced me to slide, did a couple runs. Then a few ten more after a couple drinks...lol. Chinese restaurant in hotel is delish though they are very anal about grill side reservations even though the two hours we were there half the table was empty. Rooms were nice and roomy. Tub is nice. Room service is very very quick. All in all a great hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griselda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had to come back to the Nugget for a second chance. I have to admit I have loved this place for years. However, my last encounter was disappointing. I then decided to give it another chance. I am very glad I did because they have completely redeemed themselves!

We were cheerfully checked in by the VIP staff and we reached our room. (Spa Tower Suites) I have to say these rooms rival ANY of those on the strip. They are a two-story, beautiful, area of tranquility. The only drawback to the room is there is not much of a view. However, the charm of the suite more than compensates for the lack of a great view. Seriously, if you can make arrangements you have to treat yourself to this opportunity. You will be glad you did.

The food at the Nugget is fantastic and very reasonable. The Buffet was really great food, pleasant staff, and incredibly reasonable on price. There is a steakhouse at the Nugget called Vic and Anthony's and this steakhouse is a great deal, fun staff, and very, very good food. Fantastic place to get a steak!

I had to take another look at the pool. They have spent a lot of money, time, and effort. I realized what was annoying about the pool. It's a very attractive pool it's just somewhat cramped and being head-and-shoulders above all of the other hotel-casino's there are a ton of people in a relatively small space. We were there over the holiday weekend and it was shoulder-to-shoulder people. The Tank is a pretty cool thing to see too.

Overall, I am glad I tried the Golden Nugget again. The place is great. It's a laid-back, fun-filled hotel/casino. The gambling is so much more reasonable downtown and the Fremont experience is really cool to see.

You have to award yourself at least once with a suite in the Spa Tower. These suites are worth every penny in my opinion. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Spa Suites rival ANY suite on the Strip. Award yourself and get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesweintz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,336 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 263 in Las Vegas
990 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing